We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and perfect evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Corso

Trattoria Corso
1788 Shattuck Avenue, Berkeley, CA 94709
510-704-8004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Corso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 602 Restaurants in Berkeley
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Delaware
Transit: Downtown Berkeley Bart is a 5 minute walk. AC Transit bus service travels the length of Shattuck Ave.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and perfect evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Most amazin food, but what a wine list. Fantastic deals, great wines, anybody serious about food and wine has to know this place!
Make sure to make a reservation, especially Thursday through Sunday; the wait can be rather anguishing as you can see the people on the inside biting into great steaks!!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    16
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Always a wonderfully creative meal can be had at Corso.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Once again, prior to attending a performance at Berkeley Rep, we dined at Corso. The menu changes frequently and I, a lover of variety, really appreciate sampling the new items. Last night we had a delicious salad with beets, frisee and pistachio nuts followed by spaghetti with wild shrimp and garlic. Excellent wines by the glass and Corso is one of the increasing number of restaurants that will pour a half glass of wine.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walnut creek, ca
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“A Truly Memorable Meal- Can't Wait To Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I hosted a meal for a party of six at Corso. Originally I was going to go to the more famous restaurant in Berkeley down the street on Shattuck but settled on Corso at the urging of a friend who lives in the area. Was I glad! My clients are world-class food and wine aficionados and I have to be honest that I was feeling a lot of pressure to deliver a good meal. I called ahead and made arrangements with Corso and they couldn't have been nicer.

The setting is relaxed and comfortable. The hosts and servers were all very friendly. Then the meal began! We had an assortment of their in-house made Salumi with Prosecco Ruggi. It was followed by what everyone at the table said was the "best salad they have ever had" Barbabietola paired with a bottle of Roero Arneis from Piedmont, (I would go back just for this dish alone and the next course), then potato gnnochi with figs, cream, chili and lemon and a Soave Classico, followed by pancetta wrapped halibut paired with Etna Rosso , Panna Cotta paired with Marsala Pellegrini and Grappa, biscotti and espresso.

Everyone in the party raved about the meal that evening and the next day. I got several emails and a letter this past week all talking about the dinner and the extraordinary pairings of wines.

This was easily the best meal we have ever had in the Bay Area. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expensive and not as good as Rivoli”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Corso has a fun, funky vibe, and some really good food. It also has some just ok food, and the prices are really high, especially when you consider that a la carte means that usually all you get is the thing you ordered, such as a piece of unaccompanied fish or chicken. Adding potatoes and a vegetable can easily bring your main course item past 30 dollars. We brought a group of six here and it was sixty dollars a person with wine, and two people did not drink. The service is usually harried but efficient. However, the night we came in with our group the server was efficient, but did not smile once. She seemed impatient as we asked questions about the menu. Most of us liked the food, but Corso does not compare with the service, the food and the value you get at Rivoli, its sister restaurant. The first time we went the prices seemed more reasonable, and they had a wonderful white truffle oil pizza on the menu. Sadly, the pizzas are no more, thus making it harder to eat a more casual, less expensive meal -- which as one of the servers told us, was the point.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Better than ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We dropped in Sunday night without a reservation and were pleased to get a table with only a 10-minute wait. Service was excellent both from our waitress, Rachel, and the others that brought the food out.
The food was great-gnocchi, crostini with 3 spreads. We choose different wines by the half-glass and taste. Few restaurants provide this option which we so like.
The noise level was quite tolerable and the restaurant was nearly full.
Corso gets our top vote.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Corso also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Corso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Corso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.