We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SugarMill B&B Your home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugarmill B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sugarmill B&B to your Saves list
Sugarmill B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   442 Lambert Avenue | Montego Bay, Ironshore, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Ironshore B&B and Inns
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“SugarMill B&B Your home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

1st let me say that when I was planning my vacation for my family I was a little hesitant in choosing a B&B considering that I have never stayed in one before. (we usually stay in upper end hotels or all inclusives) But when Contacting Elizabeth the owner I felt comfortable immediately. We communicated back and forth for a while and she patiently answered all my questions and concerns. When I brought up my decision to stay here with my family (I traveled with 5 adults and 4 children) they too were a little hesitant but they trusted my judgement and went with the flow :) Once we arrived, we were very impressed with the beauty of it. (this is when my family felt even more comfortable lol) We were greeted by sugar mills amazing staff. Saudah the manager and Tameka our attendant, were very warm and welcoming. We immediately felt settled in. We were very pleased with our rooms they were very clean and appeared just like in the pictures if not even better in person. The bathrooms that were in each room were also clean and functional. My kids ages 9 and 11 even patted my back and said "Good Job Mom, you picked a nice place" The kids loved the staff and loved swimming in the sparkling, clean pool. The views at the bed and breakfast are gorgeous especially when you are on the patio. We opted for Jamaican breakfast in the morning and it was delicious! my kids wanted to stick with a regular american breakfast and the staff was okay with accommodating that for them. They also enjoyed the breakfast. We also chose to have dinner here for 2 nights which was also good.Thank you Chef Clyde! The only down fall is that they don't have house keeping services over the weekend, but that didn't bother us at all we didn't mind making up our own bed in the morning. You truly feel safe here. If you want to have a vacation where u want a secluded intimate feel without all the crowds of the hotels and like to have more 1 on 1 attention while feeling like you're at home, I would definitely recommend the Sugar Mill Bed and Breakfast. After spending time with the staff and mingling with the other guests staying there you begin to feel like you are all one big happy family. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Thank you to Elizabeth, Clyde, Saudah, Tameka, Alrick & Dorothy for making our first experience a wonderful one. We will be back!
-Francesca D
Orlando, Florida

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
12
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I almost didn't want to leave a review because I don't want too many people to start staying here. (I need it to be available when I return.)

More seriously, I am just finishing an 11 day - 10 night stay at the Sugarmill B &B. As someone who has really high standards for quality accommodations and service, I can say that the cleanliness and quality of service from the staff were excellent. My living quarters were not only immaculate, but so was the rest of the house and the grounds.

Another plus is the location/view. I love the Ironshore area. Though it is not located on the beach, this house has a beautiful view of the beach and has easy access to downtown Montego Bay; however, you have the quiet and solace of a home away from home...away from the hustle and bustle and noise.

I can't say enough about the staff, the great food (breakfast and dinner options - Jamaican and American cuisine), and the wonderful people you meet.

I highly recommend staying here, and as I said earlier, I will be returning soon.

Karen S
Washington, DC

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place was very exotic, modern, clean, and had a great view from their balcony! It has huge rooms, huge beds, 2 bathrooms(in one room), etc! Very nice decor......had a huge swimming pool that had a light that turned the pool different colors. They had subscribed to almost all the TV channels available.

Room Tip: Room 4 is mostly bigger than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stumbled upon this place while searching for a venue for my august wedding and I am so glad I did, I planned the wedding from here in the UK and Elizabeth who own the place helped me out with every request including the flowers.

When I arrived the place was more beautiful that in the photos, The rooms are large and the beds are comfortable, it is really cool, dont even need to turn on the AC. I stayed there with my husband and some of my family members and they all loved the place.

The location is a quiet area but very close to montego bay (about 10 mins) They offer airport transfer.

My wedding day went smoothlyand my guest also loved the place.

I will definately be going back.

The staff are also lovely especially Tameka and Wendy and the chef.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, ask for a room with cable TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Where do we even start about this amazing Bed & Breakfast that is a short 10 minute drive from the Montego Bay Airport. The staff are all outstanding & go above & beyond to make you feel like you are at home. The only difference is that we have 4 feet of snow back home lol. The pictures do no justice to what Sugarmill actually looks like, you will think that you have died & gone to heaven. Sahoota,Alrick, Clyde & the housekeeper(sorry forgot her name) are awesome hosts. Elizabeth(the owner) should be so proud of them. We hope to meet her the next time we come to Jamaica. Please check Sugarmill out, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask us about it, as we will definately go back. All 6 rooms are beautiful. You will love the balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We've just got back from our stay here. This is exceptional value for money with big, clean, comfortable rooms which are fitted to a high standard with international cable TV. The beds are very comfortable and the bed linen is of good quality. The food is great, the chef is passionate about what he produces and the prices are more than reasonable. The pool and communal areas are a pleasant with lovely sea views.

The owner 'Elizabeth' is a lovely lady and gave us a real welcome. I would definitely recommend this place. We've paid much more elsewhere in Jamaica and got a great deal less. Book with confidence!

Room Tip: Book direct for best deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The house is as nice as it looks in the pictures! Big and clean and comfortable. Clyde and Dorothy were very friendly and their breakfasts were great. The pool was fantasitc and we had a very nice poolside room. It was easy to walk down the street and find a taxi (no daily shuttle in the offseason) and you can be on the hip strip for $10 each way which makes for easy access. Overall a great value.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugarmill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarmill B&B

Address: 442 Lambert Avenue | Montego Bay, Ironshore, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Ironshore
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ironshore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugarmill B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugarmill B&B is a boutique hotel property located on 1/2 acre of lush landscaping close to the Ironshore Golf Course. We offer a tranquil and intimate environment for your "home away from home". We are fully walled and gated for our guest's security and peace of mind. Our on-site executive chef will prepare you a sumptuous breakfast of your choice of either Jamaican or American cuisine each day. Each of our 6 deluxe air-conditioned guests rooms are furnished in hand-carved Jamaican furniture and has an en-suite bath with tub/shower combinations. We offer a selection of queen or king beds in our seaview rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sugarmill B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarmill B&B Ironshore, Jamaica - Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugarmill B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.