We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIU Montego Bay - Solid 3.5 Star Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Montego Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Montego Bay to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   | Mahoe Bay, Ironshore, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ironshore
Connecticut, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“RIU Montego Bay - Solid 3.5 Star Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

Arrived at RIU Montego Bay on December 10.
My previous RIU experience was staying at RIU Palace. I chose RIU Montego Bay this year, because it was brand new, and by my thoughts, the hotel's administration will do everything possible for their guests during the first opening year.

The Hotel itself was very clean. Nice personnel.

Food: Very decent. You will be able to find varieties of sea food, including shrimps, crab legs, cured salmon, smocked marlin, and etc.

Themes Restaurants: Just OK.

Buffet restaurant: This is the best one.

Bars: Local liqueurs were in huge varieties, however, international brands were presented very poorly.

Pool: Very nice and clean.

Beach: Bad, murky beach. Lack of shades. If you are a beach goer, as I am, don't buy a package to RIU Montego Bay.

Entertainment: Local crew trying their best. I would recommend to see The Drums Band Show.

Overall: This is a solid 3.5 Star Resort.

Next time, if I will go to RIU again, I will spend a little bit more for staying at RIU Palace.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    1,491
    918
    405
    238
See reviews for
1,077
1,722
84
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,065)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

I must admit - I was nervous about our stay at Montego Bay after reading all the reviews. We went with an open mind and really enjoyed our stay. We stayed December 19-25.

The resort is a short (10 minute) bus ride from the airport. Yes, you can hear and see the planes go by but it didn't ruin our trip. The hotel was very open and clean. The breeze and weather were wonderful the entire time! The staff could not have been friendlier!!

We ate breakfast early every morning and I enjoyed the gym (nice, but small) while my husband lounged on the balcony with his book. The resort is very spread out - be prepared to walk. I thought it was nice, it gave you a chance to walk off some of your food. We were in building 3 and liked our location.

The beach was pretty but lacked a bar. The jerk hut is awesome! There are lots of vendors selling all kinds of things - just tell them no thank you.

The pool was beautiful!! It got a little loud during the water aerobics and activities. Chairs were a little scarce when looking for 5 together and in the sun. The terrace all around the pool offers lots of shade for those who desire it.

My mother-in-law got up early every morning and stood in line for the specialty restaurants with some luck. We were not able to get a reservation for the Italian. I think the best secret is to eat at the buffet early. We really enjoyed the buffet and found lots of variety. The food was definitely the best as soon as they opened the doors (6:30). The food on Christmas eve was wonderful - the staff did a great job!

I would not recommend going outside of the resort on foot. The vendors are very pushy and you are not protected by the hotel staff and security. There is a grocery and pharmacy across the street in case you forget something that accepts US$. Take the hotel shuttle if you venture out.

Negatives: the beds were very hard and uncomfortable, bathrooms for the beach and pool are far and few between, there isn't room service.

Again, we really enjoyed our stay and the negatives weren't a deal breaker. Take a good book and soak up some sun!!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Riu Montego Bay from December 17th through the 22nd. This was our second trip to a RIU resort, we got married at RIU Ocho Rios in January of this year. You can read a review by looking at my other reviews that I have posted

We chose to take a second trip back to Jamaica this year because of the fantastic promotion that RIU offered for this resort being that it is brand new having opened only a few months ago. We flew out of Philadelphia on Air Jamaica, again we highly recommend Air Jamaica. You can book up to 2 bags at no cost and you are provided with a meal and movie. Because our trip was a week before Christmas, the plane was full of mostly Jamaicans returning home for the holiday.

We booked the trip straight through RIU’s website and didn’t use a travel agent. Therefore we paid $20us for a short cab ride from the airport to the resort. While this seems like a lot, you can fit up to 4 people per cab ($5 each), and you don’t have to wait for a bus like we did when we stayed at Ocho Rios. We simply walked off of the plane and were at the resort in less than 20 mins. To us this was worth it instead of paying for a transfer and waiting till the bus fills. Check in was a breeze. First we were greeted with a cold glass of rum punch. We arrived at the resort at 11:00 and although check in isn’t until 3:00 we were given our room anyway. We stayed on the floor above the restaurant and overlooked the pools and ocean.

Rooms: The room was an upgrade to ocean view. There was an elevator but it didn’t work for the first day. The room was exactly the same as the other RIU that we’ve stayed at. Granite tiles everywhere and double vanity sink. Minibar stocked with a six pack of red stripe, various soda’s and water. There was a liquor dispenser that had a bottle of Appleton, and local brandy, vodka, and gin. The minibar gets stocked every 2 days. The house keeping was fantastic. The room was always clean and beds always made. We tipped the maid about $4 each day as she changes from day to day. There was also a LCD TV with about 30 channels that were via satellite. There was a balcony that overlooked the pool and beach with two chairs and a table.

Food: For the first night we ate at the Rose Hall buffet. This was great food and a wide variety. Some nights there is themed meals, one night was Mexican, another was Jamaican food. Everything delicious. There was always Pizza and French Fries to fall back on. Wine, beer, and soda served in all dining rooms. If you want a cancy drink grab it form the bar before you go to dinner. On the night of Mexican food besure to try “Jiggy Coffee” it is coffee with rum and brandy in it- delicious. There are three speciality restraints- Steak House, Italian, and Chinese. There are two seatings for each 7pm and 9pm. The second night we were there we tried the steak house, we got a 7pm seating. It is buffet for salad, apps, and desery. You have a selection for an entrée and that is served. It was a fancy and intimate setting. The next night we ate at Italian. We didn’t make reservations until later and were only able to get a 9pm seating which was fine as we have eaten that late before. It was the same deal- salad, apps, and desert were buffet and the entre is served. Unfortunatley the service was so slow that our entre didn’t come out until 10:15. This was disappointing because we missed the show and other entertainment that night. After the slow experience at the Italian resteraunt we decided to bag the Chineese resteraunt. Talking to other guests we found out that the chineese was an entire buffet. No different than anything that we can get at home. We ate the remainder of our dinners at the Rose Hall buffet which was delicious. For lunch there are 3 choices, Rose Hall buffet and the other buffet by the beach. The food is the same, but you have to be wearing clothes not bathing suits at Rose Hall. There was also a Jerk Chicken hut on the beach every day with the best Jerk Chicken that we have ever had. One day they had Jerk sausage which was to die for. Breakfast we always had at Rose hall- a huge selection of things to choose from, the omelet station was our favorite. The Italian opens up from 11:00om till 2:00 am serving a variety of things, and there is always some food available at the sports bar which is open 24 hours. One other thing to speak of with the food- the local ketchup is horrible, next time we would bring a bottle from home or at least a bunch of little packets.

Drinks- There are no complaints with the selection and service of the bars. There were about 8 bars total at this resort, the sports bar is open 24 hours. Our favorite was the bar by the pool and beach. There was also a swim up bar in one of the two pools. We drank mostly Appleton but there were name brand liquors like Smirnoff, Jim Beam, and name brand cordials. Try the rum cream after dinner it is fantastic. There is also a lagre bar menu with about 30 different drinks. Again, like many other all-inclusie resorts, slip the bar tender a dollar or two and he will always have your drink ready for you. Bring a large cup from home because the cups there were kind of small. Each night there was a specialty drink set up in the loby. One night it was margaritas, one night it was martinis…

Entertainment- The entertainment was great! The Entertainment staff at RIU literally lives there. They work from about 10am till 11pm everyday. They are always getting games organized, there is a lot of opportunity to win little bottles of rum, all you have to do is participate. One night there was a steel drum band called the silver birds, they were the best that I’ve ever seen. Look them up at you tube. Another night was a Bob Marley cover band, which was also fantastic. There was a beach party one night with a fire show that was neat and a few other nights the staff puts on their own show, which is so-so, but they work so hard that you can appreciate it.

For kids there was a small kids club, which always had a bunch of kids there, and there is also a kids show each night at about 7:30. We don’t have any kids so sorry we can’t be of more info.

Excursions- we wanted to go to the Appleton factory, but it was a 2.5-hour drive and the tour stopped at things that we weren’t interested in so we booked the zip line adventure tour. It was the greatest excursion that I have ever done. A man owns it from New Hampshire who spends 2 weeks at home and 2 weeks at the zip line. There were 5 zips total the first one isn’t more than a trench dug out that you zip through so that you get used to the equipment. You work your way to the 5th, which is the longest in the carribean at 1600 feet long, and in the middle you are about 400 feet above the ground. It is very safe and they have a perfect record with no accidents. This trip cost about $75 each and took about 5 hours to complete. The scariest part was driving to the course through the poor villages outlying Montego Bay. One day we also took a cab ($20 each way) to the “Hip Strip” in Montego Bay. It is where the bars are like the Bob Sled Café and Margaretville. Also the shopping is much cheaper that the resort. If you go- go to Tropical Treasures and ask for Sam. He owns the store and had very fair prices and was full of information. He also lets you make free calls to home if you want, and he will hold your stuff while you go out to the bars. They do have at the resort vendors come and set up about every 3 nights, but they are expensive compared to the stores at the hip strip. Also there are people that walk up and down the resort selling things, most of them have one or two items and make their real money selling drugs, they can get you anything that you would like. They can become annoying, with most of them just take a moment to say hello and then when they ask you if you need something tell them no thanks and they will leave you alone. There were a few who didn’t want to take no for an answer though. There is security at the resort who makes sure that they don’t tress pass or harass vacationers too much. On the last day we were there the police actually come onto the resort and attempted to arrest these people selling things. The people were able to out run the police. As the resort its self it was similar to the other RIU that we stayed at, very large. Beautiful beach. The beach is a bit narrow, and needs more sand. We used the sailboats for free everyday, the first day I gave the Jamaican man $30 for about an hour long lesson and I was a pro after that. They also have paddleboats and kayaks to use all of which are free. There are usually people selling wave runner rentals there too, which have no affiliation with the resort at all. The resort uses ScubaCaribe for all snorkel trips. I wouldn’t get married at this resort. There were two weddings while we were there, both very nice, but not private at all. The security does a nice job of keeping the beach empty behind the wedding, but there is still people swimming right behind the weddings. Also the spot where the weddings were seems like it was just thrown on the beach. I liked using the Riu in Ocho much better for a wedding.

Over all, it is a great resort. I would definitely go back if offered another fantastic deal. I am once again pleased with RIU. Some people complained about the air traffic overhead. It is noticeable but lasts for about 15 seconds each time a plane passes. If you ever lived near a city you would be used to it. We would much rather have to listen to a few planes each day than have a 2 hour ride to Ocho Rios or Negril from the air port. Two things to note- skip the fancy restraints and hit the buffet each night, and BYOK (bring your own ketchup). Otherwise we had an amazing trip!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

While my family are not frequent resort travelers, I have to say that this vacation was one of the best times we have had as a family together. We have done the Disney thing and, well, if you've done that you know it's not a relaxing vacation. This RIU sure was a great place to do some soul searching.

We left Toronto on the brink of a snow storm, 6am, December 19th with Skyservice. No delays or issues other than the plane seemed small compared to other flights we have been on. Our vacation was booked through Sell-off-Vacations, although we booked well in advance. They had the BEST prices at the time by far when compared to other agents.

Upon arrival at the airport, everything went fairly smooth. Once we located our bus to the RIU, as short delay occurred as we waited for all passengers to clear customs and immigration.

When we got to the resort, our agent had our rooms ready with the keys in an envelope and no delays. Some others were not so lucky as their rooms were not ready. Keep in mind the we arrived 3 hours ahead of check in.

Rooms are great with a few minor problems. Yes, some of the fridges don't seem to work properly. We heard this from a # of guests, in fact we had 2 rooms overlooking the Ocean with a great view and 1 of our fridges did not work. Also 1 of the dressers in our room was broken from the previous tenant and the toilet stopped woking on day 3. These were all corrected within a day of calling the front desk. Beds were extremely comfortable and the cleaning staff were impecable. (especially seeing as I tipped them 5 bucks every day). They also love hard candy and offer them a Orange soda, they love it. They left Flowers on our bed each morning and the bar in my room was always stocked. I tipped him too, to make sure that this was the case.

Beach is so, so. If you like crystal clear water, and white sand, this is not the resort for you. It was always very clean, they rake it every morning, but once you get in the water, it gets murky, almost like mud. I'm told that this is due to the fact that this part of the beach is man made. Lots of water sports, paddle boats, kayaks, seadoo's ($60.00 / 1/2 hour), snorkling, deep sea fishing, beach volley ball, ping pong, horseshoes, to name a few.

The pool areas (2) with swim up bar was always rocking. Music playing, kids around, activities going on...all in all alot of fun. My only complaint was on day 4. The pools started to turn cloudy and green started to form on the side walls. We were there over the Christmas break and it was very busy at all times, but there were lots of loungers, we NEVER had a problem finding a spot at either the beach or the pool areas despite the number of people. By the end of day 5 the pool was clear again.

The entertainment needs some work. The stage staff is also your daily entertainment staff. It felt like they were trying to do too much and as such the evening entertainment lacks a little zip. They did practice each day, and it was not bad but could have been better.

The food was fantastic. I've been reading these reviews now for almost 5 months on this resort, and really people get a life!!!! How anyone can complain about the variety, quality, or quantity is out to lunch! Each night there was a different cut of meat off the bone. Full pasta station, fish station and pizza station. Breakfast was unbelievable, the best I've ever had. You name it they had it. Made to order eggs, omlette station, fruit buffet.....and on and on. The Jerk chicken Hut is also fantastic, but if you read the reviews, you know this already.

I do agree with all the other reviewers out there with one thing. Eating at the A-LA-Cart Restaurants is a pain. Until they get the reservations thing fixed. I would avoid them.....Unless you are willing to bribe them....which is what I did. Italian fills up fast...and they will only make reservations the morning of that day. Go in the afternoon before, bribe her with $10.00 and you'll get your reservation. She say she can't or she will loose her job, be persitant with her and she will cave.

Last but not least. DO NOT BOOK AN OUTING THROUGH THE RESORT!!! We took our entire family out for the day to see the crocs and then to Y/S falls. Crocs are a waste of time, but once we got to Y/S falls it was amazing. Here's the scoop. The agent you book with at the resort gets a cut if you book with them. We made this mistake. We paid $395US to go out for the day, no meal included. Take a cab and pay the enterance fee to the excursions on your own. It will save you a bundle.

Taking cabs...be prepared, but not afraid. Ask for the following:

Drivers License, Cabbie License, and if they have a tour license. If you can find one that has all 3 your set. We did, she was fantastic.....for $40.00 she gave us a 3hr tour of Montego Bay. She stopped along the way at the other resorts, tourist shops and even a couple of golf courses. This is the only way to see Jamaica, but you need to find the right cabbie.

Oh Yeah.....if you don't like the sound of planes flying over you head....don't stay here. At least 10 a day....in fact my son counted 43 on Saturday. After a while you forget that they are even there....but they are a bit of a nuisance.

All in all it was a good vacation...is the resort a 5 star? My wife seems to think so, I think they need to work out some kinks, I give it a 4+. Jamaica is alot of fun, so don't be afraid......

BE HAPPY MON.....NO PROBLEM!!

  • Liked — The food and sun were fantastic!!!
  • Disliked — Reservations at the A-LA-Cart restaurants, Planes overhead
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

We left our home at 3:00 am on a snowy Boston morning. Our first leg and the connecting flight were both delayed but we finally landed in Montego Bay at 2:00 pm. After a pricey cab ride ($20 to go 1.7 mies) We arrived at the Riu. Things seemed to be going smoothly until we were told that there seemed to be a problem with our reservation. We had booked 2 rooms for 4 people through Orbitz. I had my confirmation with this information. After standing at the counter for 30 minutes, they gave us one room so we could store our luggage while they sorted out the problem.

On entering the room, it was immediately obvious that air conditioning was not working. We also noticed that the refrigerator wasn't working either. We went to the front desk and asked them to moves us. The management said they would send someone to check it. At this point, we insisted that they move us to a comfortable room so we could settle in and begin enjoying our vacation. He agreed and said to come back after having something to eat and they would try to fix this problem as well as the issue with Orbitz. Finally, 3 hours later, we were moved to our 2 rooms, 3007 and 3008. During our stay, we heard several people complaining that their air conditioning was not working.

It is also worth noting that the 3 story buildings do not have elevators, but the 4 story buildings do. If you have a member of your party that this could be an issue for, ask before you check in.

The food....it does become repetitive and it is not as good as the other Riu we have stayed in. Many repeat Riu customers were commenting on the quality as well. We ate in all 3 specialty restaurants and the quality there was much better. The biggest problem with these restaurants is the line that forms before 8:00 to sign up for a reservation. Every time we ate at theses restaurants, we noticed many empty seats, even though people were turned away. On one morning, the woman taking reservations for the Italian Restaurant told the man who was first in line that they were all booked. He could see that there were no other names on the list and that he had been first in line. How could they be booked? Someone suggested that he offer her money. When he took out a $5 bill, there was suddenly room for his party. The man became enraged and we thought there would be a brawl. When all of this bribery was reported to the assistant general manager, he denied knowing anything about it and would look into it. The best food of the day was the Jerk chicken at the hut on the beach. Delroy makes a great hot sauce!

The people who work at the Resort are all so nice. Everyone smiles and says good morning. The rooms and grounds were very clean and well kept. There were plenty of sun beds at the pool and beach. The far end of the beach is very quiet and not crowded, The loudest area of the beach is by the Jerk hut, The entertainers do aerobics and Reggae dance lessons there and the music is quite loud.

We left the resort on foot to check out the nearby Blue Mountain gift shops. As soon as you leave the gate you are swarmed by people who will offer you anything from cab rides and tours, to any kind of illegal drug available. The people who sell things on the beach will also offer you drugs. If you're willing to pay for it, they're willing to get it. It doesn't matter what your age, it was offered to my husband and to my two teenagers

I recommend carrying some small bills with you. Even though tips are included, I felt that some of the staff truly deserved more. They were willing to go out of their way to make sure we were happy

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

The Riu Montego Bay is horrid. I traveled from Zimbabwe to Miami, and enjoying life is what I do best. However, Riu Mobay is a sad excuse for an all-inclusive resort, and it does not live up to the Riu standard. The food selection is comparable to an episode of Fear Factor. The entertainment is more laughable than exciting; the liquor is cheap and disgusting, and you do not have an option to buy top shelf beverages. I wanted to write a lengthy and creative post outlining why you should not visit this contemptuous resort, but I decided to forget my horrible time at Riu, and plan to stay at a place with better reviews on my next visit to Jamaica. I did enjoy horseback riding in the ocean, the ATV tour, and Water Safari!!

  • Liked — The view from my hotel room
  • Disliked — Poor customer service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Eng
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

well, where do I start!! LOVED IT,
I'm so shocked by the negative reviews, it was the best holiday I've had and I'm gonna be goin back to the RIU Mo Bay.
Having read some of the reviews before I went I was (not suprisingly) nervous but i have nothing negative to say.
Staff- 5* without a doubt, they work so hard but yet they are always smiling and nothing is too much for them, the bar staff were amazing! if you're not a big drinker then stick to the soft drinks! they're not tight with the alcohol, if you wanted smirnoff etc then ask and you get, no problem!!

Food- I was never hungry, ever! you could eat from 7/7;30 till 10 which i think is amazing, always something to eat and so many dishes that I've never eaten before, variety is the spice of life!

Excursions- so they're not that cheap but I think worth every penny, we done the Dunns river and Dolphin swim, got to be done and good for all ages and abilities, it is breathtaking and a good lifetime acheivement. we also went to st.ann, the parish Bob Marley was born and buried, again an amazing day, you really get a feel for everyday jamaica.

Jamaica as a whole was way out of my expectations, ok so there are people trying to sell you something and maybe the beach is'nt the best but if you take a step outside then you realise why jamaicans are always smiling.
we went out with a jamaican guy we met to negril for the day and i can say its got to be done!!

A holiday is what you make it, mine was 5* and that had a lot to do with the hotel and the service i received from everyone that worked there, Thanks guys and see you asap!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Montego Bay

Address: | Mahoe Bay, Ironshore, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Ironshore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ironshore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Montego Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 681
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening September 2008 * Located in Montego Bay, on Jamaica's northwest coast * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 2-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * Surrounded by 40,000 m2 / 47,840 sq. yards of lush gardens * 4.5 km / 2.8 miles from Montego Bay * 350 m / 114.8 ft from various shops * 2,7 km / 1.7 miles from Montego Bay airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riu Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Montego Bay Resort
Riu Hotel Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay Ironshore, Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.