We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Montego Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Montego Bay to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   | Mahoe Bay, Ironshore, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ironshore
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Really enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Me and my cousin went to the Riu on Boxing day 2012 and stayed til Jan 2nd 2013. We had a great time! I had booked the holiday with my now ex boyfriend and was worried that it may be mainly coupes and families which it was but everyone was really friendly and we met lots of people and made many friends. The hotel was very clean and the staff couldn't be more helpful (they really appreciate a $ tip though). The drinks were lovely - they do some amazing alcoholic slush puppies which are just what you need in the heat. The food was fine - what you expect in an all inclusive. The Jerk chicken on the beach was fab! The rooms are a good size and clean - don't listen to what other people have said!
All in all I had a really good time and would recommend Jamaica and the Riu Montego Bay to anyone. I'm going back for my mums 50th in Jan '14 and cannot wait :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    1,491
    918
    405
    238
See reviews for
1,077
1,722
84
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,065)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just got back. Had a great time!! The only thing I would improve is another bar at the far end of beach. Other than that the place and food was awesome. The staff was friendly. The weather was a little windy. The pool was fantastic. If you go you have to see the Michael Jackson show. The restaurants were very good and the people were friendly. The Beach party was also a great time.

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our 8th time in Jamaica and we went with a quick booking for $1450 each. The Resort is clean and the service is great!..Love the Jamaician vibe...however...
Rooms are unusually musty...we dumped three cans of spray to get some relief.
The Beach was packed and the pool was worse. We didn't even put our foot in the pool. The pool bar was packed with people that never seemed to leave to use a bathroom..you figure it out. I like to call it the pee-pool.

If you love to walk on the beach and swim in the Ocean pick another resort. You need water shoes because of the weeds. The Beach walk takes less than 5mins as it's man-made. We preferred the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites well worth the extra $$. Negril is well worth the extra money..safe up and hit the beach is the Best part of Jamaica. I would even take the Riu in Ocho Rios over this resort.

We did the Martha Brae rafting for $69.00..Great way to get off the resort. It was a fun morning.

Love Jamaica but would not say this the J.A that I love. We would not return to this resort. We will definately pay the extra and return to Negril.

Room Tip: Take some spray for your room. Most rooms in the carribean are musty, but these rooms are extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just got back yesterday from RIU and it was a great hotel, we stayed for 10 days, didn't want to come home! Don't listen to the negative reviews. I will give you a list of my view of this resort.


FOOD:
Rose Hall- open for breakfast and dinner (buffet), both of them good quality food. Get the smoothies at breakfast they are AMAZING! At dinner please ask for the waitress Shalada. She is very friendly and helpful.

Mahoe Bay- this is the steakhouse and the buffet for lunch. I usually just got the jerk chicken hut at the beach for lunch, but sometimes got the food here. It was probably as good as the food as rose hall. We didn't get into the steakhouse for reservation, but it looked good!

Jerk chicken - This was probably the best food at the resort. Ate it almost every day! It is AMAZING! It is located at the hut on the beach and opens @ noon. I definitely recommend this!

Asian and Italian - They are both buffet style and are fairly good, at the italian you have to get something off a menu too though.

ROOMS: You always get a towel shaped like a swan or a rose. The rooms are well cleaned and have a great mini bar.

DAY ENTERTAINMENT: They have an entertainment shack where you can rent volleyballs, ping pong paddles and a ball for the ping pong tables, books, board games, etc. They sometimes do a mini contest in the afternoon between the 2 swimming pools.

NIGHT ENTERTAINMENT: Great shows like Mamma Mia, Michael Jackson, Reggae, Beach Party, etc.

POOL AND BEACH:

Beach- Not a very good ocean to swim in since there is A TON of seaweed. Great place to lie on a sun chair. Water sports like kayaking, sailing, paddle boating are completely free!

Pool- Great for swimming as you might have guessed since it is a pool, but a little dirty in some spots.

The service was great, and did an awesome job.

If you have any more questions just click the "ask tck9 about this hotel" button.

Well hats off to the staff for an awesome vacay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

*First time travelers (internationally or otherwise), so we chose an all-inclusive and pretty much pointed to a resort that was middle of the road in price.

The gamble paid off. This resort is a $20 taxi ride to/from the airport for 3 people, if you get a taxi when you get there and not prepay for transportation fees per person through Expedia.

From the welcome drinks, Nichole offers you at check-in to the moment you walk in to the pool once your settled this place is pretty nice.

Being on vacation, I wasn't trying to find faults with the place but just enjoy what they offered. I had to think of nothing while there. My phone stayed in the room safe the whole time.

Everyone wants to hear the down sides, so here we go:
1) Repetitive food options every day.
2) Live entertainment at night is ok, but the singing is all lip sync'ed, though still fun to watch
3) Beach Vendors - The have them, their there all day mostly and depending on your personality can/will annoy you.
4) Ladies.... Towel service is slow. Make sure you request additional towels up front for your hair and you'll need to ask daily.
5) Drinks - Not top notch, you have to find what flavor you like and stick with it. The bottle selections seem to be lower shelf stuff.
6) Sports Bar - Stays to cold and the food selection was non-existent. They had a popcorn machine that wasn't being used.
Had to pay to play pool? Coin operated table.
7) Staff - guys are all friendly and nice, the ladies that work their are much more umm... bitter, unhappy or just hate their job, you pick (though there are a few ladies who are the exception, like Nichole at the front desk and the lady that books your trips, loved them!)


The Good News:
1) Breakfast Rocks - The best meal of the day in my opinion.
2) Booking your daily trips at the hotel is easy and the lady is soooo friendly.
3) SIGN UP FOR THE RIU CARD!!! Do this at the little window next to the check-in desk on the left. You'll save $$$ on RIU events. We got a discount on the $50 booze cruise/snorkel/Margaritaville tour! ** Hint, when you go shopping, feel free to roam the more than 2-3 stores they say to stay at next to Margaritaville. Better deals and the guides tend to make you feel like it's dangerous. It's not. The people their just like to haggle prices. The stores that the tour guides want you to go to are giving a percentage back to the tour guides for bringing in people. Just make sure your back in time to get on the boat or spend the $20 to ride back to the hotel in a taxi.
4) The Pool is fantastic! Swim up bar is awesome!
5) The beach is nice. Hop on the free paddle boats and hit the water!
6) RIU allows a handful of trinket sellers into the hotel in the evening to sell items, though at times a little more than street price, you might feel safer buying from them.
7) There is a market just up the street we walked too. Easy walk. Prices, ehhhh.... It's kinda a trap, if your going to be taken for your money do it on a day trip at least you travel some first.

Here's another tip: if you want items usually bought in a grocery store, buy them at the grocery store. We bought honey, my fiance likes to try it from everywhere, from a store in the little mall area. Supposedly, they had 1 jar in the back... 5 minutes later, bam! there it was for $7. So we bought it. Then curious, i noticed about 4 doors down was a grocery... $3.75 for the exact jar. Did they run, buy it and mark up the price.... you tell me ;) P.S. not the greatest honey in the world.

We witnessed a wedding on the beach which seemed really nice. There was a few weddings happening when we went. Actually, it's in the little wedding shack on the beach where I proposed to my fiance. We are heading back to get married. Maybe to Montego Bay or another RIU in Negril or Ocho Rios (we are unsure :)

Go all-inclusive where ever you go! so much nicer to relax and not worry about how much each meal costs.

OH... tipping.... though not required, it is appreciated, not asked for or expected (except for the bellboy). We'd tip $1 or $2 for dinner and each time we went for a round of drinks. Yes, you can tip at the swim up bar as well. They accept wet money as apparently it spends just as easy once it is dried, haha.

The water in all pictures you see online are exactly the way it looks... light blue! At first I thought some of the images were photoshop'd.... now I don't.

Hit the zip line and tubing at chukka falls, worth it in my opinion.

P.S. Margaritaville has a $24 dollar 2# burger with fries and a pickle. Eat the whole meal in 15 minutes and it's free! My time.. 11 minutes then took a trip down the water slide (sounded fun at the time)... maybe wait 30 - 120 minutes before hitting the water after that meal lol

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Firstly I will start by saying don't listen to all the bad reviews, a holiday is what you make it and this hotel is fantastic!

Arriving - The transfer is about 7mins which is firstly one of the best things about this hotel. checked in within 5mins of entering hotel, porter told us he would bring our bags and met us in our room just 5 mins later.

Room - we stayed in a suite 5325 it was huge, massive whirlpool bath, walk in shower, 10 towels, huge bed and comfy (people have there own preference on how comfy a bed is) walk in wardrobe, walk in shower, air-con was amazing, room looked right over the beach the view was to die for! Fully stocked fridge with drinks and optics! It is quite expensive for this room but definitely worth the extra! Pictures don't do this room justice.
There was a couple of ants in the bathroom but they never bothered us at all (not going to let ants spoil our holiday) and we only seen a couple of them. No other roaches or anything like other people have seen??
Room was cleaned every day, spotless and new towels every single day.

Beach - wasn't great, lots of seaweed in water, sand was ok but got the sun all day long! There is guys in boats trying to sell stuff but don't push you at all and go away if you say no! We didn't try the jerk chicken off BBQ but heard it was amazing! Sunbeds free most of the day.

Pool - people do reserve sunbeds which is annoying (but not hotels fault) but if you get to pool around 8am you will get a seat, if not the beach will have some free. Pool bar great, lots of cocktails, tables in water to sit by bar were great. Pool massive and extremely clean. You get towel cards which is great too.

Restaurants - buffet restaurant was fantastic, lots of different foods, they try to change it but yes things do get a little repetitive but they can only cook so much different types of food.
We only went to the Steak House (as we dont really like italian and asian food) and it was AMAZING, service to table and was nice to be waited on for a change.

Service - everyone who worked at this hotel were so kind and helpful.
We were delayed by 10hours on our return journey (again not hotels fault) so we didn't have a room all afternoon after checking out but there is a shower room with plenty of towels to get freshened up and change. We could of kept our room but was a $300 charge so we just used the showers in reception and lounged on the chairs.

Free wifi for 90mins a day and loads of chairs in reception to sit and chill while using it!

Trips - we did the rafting and waterfall trip "double combo" this was absolutely fantastic, rafting was so romantic and the water falls is out of this world.

Planes - yes the airport is right next to hotel and yes there are planes flying over a few times a day but are you really going to let a plane spoil your holiday??? We certainly didn't bother about them, infact you forget they are there when your having fun!!

All in all this hotel was amazing, everything we were looking for in a romantic honeymoon! We didn't want to leave and will defiantly be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Room 5325 is a suite, amazing room. Defiantly worth the upgrade to a suite. Fantastic view onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went in November 2012 for our honeymoon and could not fault the service we got from all the management and staff team. Check in was quick, the room was the best clean and spacious. The food, entertainment was excellent. A big thanks to Christopher and all the bar staff who always had a happy smiling face for us and always remembered what we were drinking and kept us entertained. We will always have fond memories of our stay and cannot wait to win the lottery so we can go again for longer. The myth of you not being safe in down town MB is that, a myth. I found the locals very friendly and helpful and the taxi's made me chuckle so much when they would just stop if they have a spare seat and there's a passenger waiting at the side of the road

Room Tip: I would say our room that was above reception and looked over the pool and over the sea to Sandals w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Montego Bay

Address: | Mahoe Bay, Ironshore, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Ironshore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ironshore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Montego Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 681
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening September 2008 * Located in Montego Bay, on Jamaica's northwest coast * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 2-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * Surrounded by 40,000 m2 / 47,840 sq. yards of lush gardens * 4.5 km / 2.8 miles from Montego Bay * 350 m / 114.8 ft from various shops * 2,7 km / 1.7 miles from Montego Bay airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riu Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Montego Bay Resort
Riu Hotel Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay Ironshore, Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.