We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WEDDING/VACATION” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Montego Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Montego Bay to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   | Mahoe Bay, Ironshore, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SPRING DEALS
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ironshore
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WEDDING/VACATION”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My review is of the RUI Mahoe Bay I was just recently there from Nov 7/12 to Nov 14/12. I was under the impression that this was going to be the best vacation/wedding for me since it was 6 years ago I was in Jamaica. Me checking in was wonderful there was a lovely lady name Diandrea Campbell that checked me in (not sure of the spelling of her first name sorry) she should be commended for all her help there was a group of us (12 people) that she checked in that did not take hours. It was done in a timely manner since there were young babies with us this was the most painless part.
The parts of the vacation that was not pleasing was the wedding planner that was very impatient with the bride. The fact that the rooms were not pleasing to the eye and photo that the resort show there were no swans on the bed or flowers some of the rooms had no ice buckets. My mini bar was only stocked 1 time in the 7 days that I was there no mention that I had to request the mini bar stocked.
Also there is no mention that if you put the red tag “DO NOT DISTURBE” on your door that the mini bar service will not come to your room even if you call and request it as I did. Sometimes the housekeeping staffs don’t clean the rooms properly or was out the tub.
The other big part for me is that I am a foodie so I wanted to try out all the restaurant and the food there was no good only the breakfast was good sometime namely the omelette station was good sometime they did not have onions or mushrooms. The only restaurant that was good was KALAU the others were not that great. I give this resort overall a poor score there are areas for improvement.
For all future guest make sure that you leave you alcohol shopping for the airport cause unless you plan to put it in your suitcase you will not be allowed to take the liquor on the plane unless it is purchased at the DUTY FREE @ the airport. There is also a souviners shop across the street called “RAINBOW” and there prices are too high go into town better deals there. The drivers are nice especially a guy called NEVILLE he was so cool I would recommend him.

Room Tip: If you have young kids they should give rooms closer to the lobby building 4 & 5 are too far. Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    1,388
    859
    384
    225
See reviews for
1,013
1,618
80
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (976)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My mother, best friend and I stayed at the Riu Montego Bay for 7 days this November. I have to say it is alot of fun. There are many negative reviews regarding bugs, I stayed in building 5 and I did not see any bugs. The room is clean and restocked (mini-bar) every two days.

The entertainment staff goes above and beyond to make sure you are participating in activities and even if you don't want to participate you have alot of fun watching the events take place.

The shows are so-so but the bartending staff is so friendly and eager to please. Ceddrick and Christopher are hilarious I suggest seeking them out when you are there.

The food is typical for Riu Resorts although they have a variety of Jamaican specialties (the patties and Jerk chicken are delicious) be sure to go to the Jerk Chicken hut at lunch time.

Overall we had a very good time, the grounds are beautiful and the staff is so friendly and funny, they make your day.

If you are interested in any activities off the resort please do the Dreamers Snorkeling Tour and Booze Cruise, I was terrified of snorkeling but they made me feel so comfortable and even took me around in the water so I felt safe (they would also bring up different sea creatures for you to see up close and touch) After the snorkeling they usually take you to Margaritaville but due to the damage by Hurricane Sandy we weren't able to do this portion, it was still a great experience with lots of dancing, music and fun. I highly suggest it.

Thanks Jamaica and Riu Montego Bay for showing us a great time! Until next time!

Room Tip: We stayed in 6326 - Beautiful View during the day and night. Ocean is soothing at night. Very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Well I was a little worried before we went from reading all the negative reviews but we had a blast for the week. There were 13 of us the went down for a wedding and I would go back for sure

Food was great and the staff was friendly. Beach was good but a little seaweed a few feet out. Entertainment was also good. One thing we liked was there was no time share people wondering around bugging us all the time. When we arrived the check in process was efficient and fast.

We took the snorkel tour right from the water shack on the sand and other than the beat up boat it was one of the best snorkel tours I have been on in the Caribbean and it was only $30 a person.

Only negative things I can think of but aren't really a big deal are ..... When we arrived the fridge in the room was off and had towels in it. I guess they were defrosting it and forgot to come back to finnish up. The pool was great but you can tell the weather has played a toll on it as there were cracks and tiles missing. But I saw them check the PH levels and test the water often.

I would recommend this to anyone and I would go back tomorrow if I had the time off of work

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Riu Montego Bay from 29th Oct to 12th November. Two glorious weeks in paradise. Amazing place, would defo go back, can we go tomorrow please?

Rooms -
Bed - huge but as mentioned before on here, hard! The ONLY thing drawing me home (besides our two doggies) was our lovely soft bed.
Bar - fabby! No whisky, but rum, brandy, gin and vodka optics and a fridge full of beer, soft drinks, water and mixers. Topped up every two days.
Bathroom - his and hers sinks, loo, bath with great shower - job's a good 'un.

We were in block 5 and we found this super. Next to the beach and close enough to everything - people who say it's a big complex need their heads testing. I'm the laziest lump going (no really, I am!) and even I thought it was a breeze.

We left a $10 tip for the maid on day 1 as we wanted extra pillows and a non-slip bath mat and a few other bits and bobs. All sorted by the time we got back to the room and service faultless rest of stay.

Pools -
Absolutely stunning - not a thing I could complain about. There are two big pools that have kinda 'petals' so lots of different areas to explore.
Swim-up Bar is quite honestly the best one I've ever seen (and I've visited a few, 'hic') it's not just a bar - with the booths and whirlpools it's like a water based 'club'. It's the focal point in the afternoon and it was really easy to spend a few hours in there. Yes the Americans are loud but what of it? You're on holiday! Paul and I felt it 'made' the holiday, and we're not a couple of twenty-something clubbers - just forty something old farts with a sense of fun.
The poolside sun loungers were the most comfortable I've ever used, wanted to stuff one in my case, but apparently they frown on that.

Restaurants -

Rose Hall (breakfast and dinner buffet)
excellent. Anyone who complains about the selection or quality of the food is insane. It was superb. Spoilt for choice every single meal. Comfortable tables and chairs, overhead fans - quite happy to sit their a couple of hours (unlike some AI's where you feel you have to eat and go).

Mahoe Bay (lunch buffet)
facing the ocean and fabulous choice of food (loved the nachos!). I didn't like the chairs and tables in there, but then I am a fussy bugger.

Mahoe Bay (Evening Grill a la carte)
went twice. First time was great, second time we were less impressed. It was busier and the service was a bit off. Not true a la carte as it's a set appetiser, soup and salad course then choice of main and set dessert - lovely food though.

Asian - (dinner - buffet)
Went three times, inc my birthday and our last night - loved it! Even though it was buffet style it doesn't mean you can't enjoy it.

Italian (dinner buffet/a la carte)
went once, didn't like it, no atmosphere. Food ok, buffet with a la carte main.

BARS -
Swim-up Bar - as mentioned earlier, super duper
Sports Bar 24hr - nice and cool with good choice of international spirits. Not self-service as I imagined, as bar is actually tended. We went up there to play cards some nights - the bar man showed us some neat card tricks. Off the bar is a mini-casino with fruit machines and a cool Pontoon machine. Paul won $60 on that one night!
Lobby Bar - ok, but as it's right next to the theatre where the shows happen, its impossible to just sit in the bar and talk or play cards -but there are other places to go.
Coconut Bar - outside and away from the theatre a little so bit quieter, the staff hang around there off duty- in a nice way, and chat to the guests.

Theatre shows -
on the whole excellent. Some of the dance ones got a bit repetitive when you're there for 14 nights but not too much to get bored. Highlights were the comedy night, the African dance show and the steel drums. Nice because it't cabaret seating and you have access to the full bar. Unlike some places where you are isolated and stuck on stone slabs.

Entertainment - daytime
Really really good, these guys work so incredibly hard - have a go at something, like they say, 'This is Jamaica-mon, nobody cares!'

Negatives -
No tea and coffee making facilities in the room
hard beds
not much in the way of in-room toiletries
no table service from bars, in any area inc poolside
no music in any of the restaurants (how much does it cost for a bit of piped music?)

None of the negatives would keep me away but it does seem odd for a 4+ star hotel not to offer such things.

Don't listen to the moaners, I doubt they'd be happy with anything! Just go and R-E-L-A-X in the place that invested the expression laid-back!

Any questions email me xxx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have visted the Riu last year for the first time. This year I brought my family and came with other friends as well. We had a blast!!! Food, Shows, Drinks, Everything was fantastic!!
MOO MOO your the BOMB !! WINSTON you have control of the bar like no other !! Erron you can whip those killer shots too for sure. Next year, I have to write down more names, before I leave. We had a GREAT TIME AGAIN!! Hats off to all the cooks. Jerk Chicken was great!! Entertainment was off the charts!! We had the luck of getting to watching the Micheal Jackson show twice, last year and this year. All I can say is well be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Simply the best vacation I have ever been on. The Resort was beautiful and the service was great.
One complaint was the bed. Bed was so hard I woke up sore all over. Please get new beds so that I can visit again and have a better nights sleep...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just returned back from this resort on Saturday from an 8 day stay. Overall the resort is beautiful. Grounds are maintained nice and pool bar is one of the best designed areas I have been to. Liquor is not top shelf but they are strong drinks. Sports bar is nice and fun to watch football in. Casino is a joke. 15x15 room with just slots. Food is horrible!!!!!
Some edible items but overall they worst I have had. 3 restaurants on site are far worse than the buffet selection. Staff is great!!!! Made stay very nice. Entertainment was fantastic!!!! Day or night the fun was always around. The beds were bad! Very bad! Hard as a rock. Woke up with bed sores every day but barely slept! Rooms are acceptable though. Old style keys are a joke!

I would not stay here again sadly because of the food and the beds. If that was corrected this resort would be a must visit again.

Ps ocean sucked!

Have fun! Because you will if you go but be prepared to not enjoy the food

Btw. The jerk chicken hit on beach is simply the best chicken I have ever had!!
A must do!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Montego Bay

Address: | Mahoe Bay, Ironshore, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Ironshore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ironshore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Montego Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 681
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening September 2008 * Located in Montego Bay, on Jamaica's northwest coast * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 2-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * Surrounded by 40,000 m2 / 47,840 sq. yards of lush gardens * 4.5 km / 2.8 miles from Montego Bay * 350 m / 114.8 ft from various shops * 2,7 km / 1.7 miles from Montego Bay airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Montego Bay Resort
Riu Hotel Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay Ironshore, Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.