We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Benicia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Benicia to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Benicia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1375 East 5th Street, Benicia, CA 94510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Benicia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I stay here every year for business and have for the last 3 years. The rooms are always clean and have nice beds. The staff is great and they put out a decent spread for breakfast. For your buck the value doesn't get any better compared to the other hotels in the area this one is a ritz!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
14
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Holiday Inn Express is located in central Benicia. The hotel seemed very nice and cozy. The friendly smiles and genuine helpful nature of everyone you encounter is wonderful. Bedrooms are spacious and have everything you want from a luxury hotel. Our room was neat and clean, beds were comfortable, room service and laundry facilities were extremely good. I liked the facilities the hotel provides at rooms. They provide 24 hours cold and hot water, AC, telephone facilities, free internet, 32’’ flat TV, safety deposit box, refrigerator, iron & iron board, coffee maker etc. I also liked the Business Centre and the Fitness Center which is open for 24 hours. Breakfast is excellent, with plenty of choice. I found it very convenient to visit some of the key sights and attractions of Benicia (almost everywhere is a cheap taxi ride away) from the hotel. You will love to visit Waterworld California, Six Flags Discovery Kingdom, Benicia State Capitol and Historical Park, Benicia Historical Museum etc. There is a Japanese restaurant near the hotel named Matsuri Sushi Restaurant. Food Is really great here. If you are a shopping freak and love to collect different pieces from different corners of the world, you will definitely love to visit Shiroco's Fusion Décor. The nearest airport is the Oakland International Airport (OAK) which is easily reached. It takes around 45 minutes by taxi to reach from the hotel. The best part about the hotel is service. We had a wonderful stay in the hotel and will surely stay here whenever we travel to Benicia. :) :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just came back from a business trip to N. California refining area. I use to stay in Concord but they were full. Local person said to try the new Holiday Inn Express right off of I-780.

Got there at 130 am from an East Coast flight. Top garage was full so went to the basement garage. Has lots of lights and I did feel safe. Took elevator to check in. Very friendly receptionist especially at this time of the morning. Asked about wake up calls and then gave me an upgrade.

Breakfast was the usual fair except that this is one of the nicer eating areas. Lots of room to drink coffee, plug in your computer (free WiFi), and get your breakfast.

Upon check out, very cordial staff. Room was quite large with extremely high ceilings (ground floor room). Nice touch with a ceiling fan.

Room Tip: If you park on the ground floor parking lot, use the elevator to the check in area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXBenicia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benicia, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our property. I am very glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for giving us a chance to impress you during your trip to the Northern California Refining Area. We are very pleased that we were able to live up to your expectations and look forward to your possible return to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed two nights for a weekend family trip to Six Flags Discovery Park. Good location with easy freeway access. Staff was friendly and helpful at check in. Room was clean with comfortable beds. We had difficulty with the door not closing or locking properly. Ask front desk staff for maintenance to make the repair next day. Returned late Saturday evening to find door not repaired. This problem was a security and safety issue for us. For a newer Inn, I was disappointed that we could hear every conversation and movement next door in the bedroom and bathroom. Large shower but had difficulty with handle and limited hot water pressure. As a Platinum Priority Club member, I was disappointed with my overall stay compared to other Holiday Inn Expresses that I have stayed in over the last 2 years.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXBenicia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benicia, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, of the hotel. I am very sorry that you experienced a problem at my property, and even more sorry that the issues you experienced were not addressed once they were brought up to the staff. We strive to provide a high level of service to our guests and want every guest to feel at home and welcome here with us. Above all else we want you to feel safe on the property. Thank you for letting us know about the issues that you experienced I will speak with the staff and ensure that all of these issues will be tended to. I do hope that you will give us another chance to impress you and your family. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly and I will make sure you are taken care of to the fullest extent possible upon your return. I hope you and your family enjoyed the rest of your visit to the Six Flags Discovery Kingdom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel was quite a departure from our stay at the Holiday Inn
Express, San Clemente calif. Our room was quiet and the decor
was just lovely, and more roomy than the one in San Clemente.
The complimentqry breakfast was very fresh with a good variety.
Because of this hotel, we will not rule out Holiday Inn Express in
the future>

Room Tip: We were on the second floor but this hotel seemed to have been built with quality materials so mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXBenicia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benicia, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. I am so glad that we were able to live up to your expectations of our hotel and surpass your previous experience at the San Clemente Holiday Inn Express. We would love to have you visit us again in the future if your travels bring you back to the area. Again thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Spent the night here with my children and my friend and her children. We were a larger group, and that didn't phase the employees - they welcomed us with smiles. We arrived later and they helped us find a place to order late night pizza (which isn't easy in Benicia), helped us out with the laundry we had and found us a place to park our big van.

The hotel was very clean and fresh. The room was spacious and the bathroom was in excellent condition - very new! I was so comfortable in the beds and the towels were nice and new too.

The morning breakfast made the children happy, and the staff was so kind to them!

This hotel was a wonderful nights rest and we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXBenicia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benicia, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel. It was nice to meet you and your family in the morning. I am glad the children enjoyed themselves. It was a pleasure listening to them tell us all about their trip, and seeing their excitement with our pancake machine. I hope you and your family will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The lobby of this hotel gives the impression that it will be a very nice place to stay. It's modern and clean, but that's where the good impression ends.
We asked for an early check in, but that didn't happen. After being told, "One more hour," four times we were allowed to check in two hours after standard check in. We were informed there wasn't enough housekeeping staff to get the room ready.
There is only one luggage cart in the entire hotel. You have to search the floors to find it.
The room had no "real" window coverings, instead a mere decorative panel that didn't fully cover the window; the rod supporting it was falling off the wall because it had been pulled so many times. There was no covering at all over an exterior door window. All the windows face a bright street light.
We requested two adjoining rooms. Between to two the following were missing: there was an empty cabinet that used to house a refrigerator; the phone didn't work; there wasn't a closet or even a rack to hang clothes in one room, the lamp didn't work, the coffee maker had missing parts.
We talked to the management about the issues, but were not satisfied, so we checked out a day early and went to a different hotel.
I expected more from a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benicia, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear SandyBiker,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We take comments such as these seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Benicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Benicia

Address: 1375 East 5th Street, Benicia, CA 94510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Benicia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Benicia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Benicia 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Benicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Benicia Hotel Benicia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Benicia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.