We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Benicia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Benicia to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Benicia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1375 East 5th Street, Benicia, CA 94510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Benicia
San Jose, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I recently attended an all-day training at this facility. I found the property to be very clean, modern, and well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
14
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in this reasonably priced inn. The inn is new so everything is clean and neat. The rooms are comfortable and a standard breakfast is provided. The main street of Benicia is just a short walk. The inn provides covered, monitored parking which is a plus. The only downside was that the walls of the room seemed awfully thin. I could hear snoring coming from the room next to us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEMET
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The hoel was nice. Close by relatives in Benicia. The service was lousy(housekeeping).
Coudn't sleep in late because if you do your room won't be cleaned. If you go to breakfast early, had to wait for room to be cleaned.
The staff coudn't speak english very good. No one was friendly except for the desk clerk on the check in day.
The parking was good. I am handicapped and parked right outside the lobby under cover.
We asked for a first floor room. We were given a second floor room. Nothing to see outside except the patio. There is not a pool at all. The price is outrageous for what you get.

Overall I give this place a 3 not a five as it is listed

Room Tip: Stay someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benicia, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Ralphhemetca,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed here recently and enjoyed the clean, comfortable and nicely appointed room. The location was good and very quiet, near the freeway but not close enough to hear the road noise. They had nice pillows and linens, plush towels & a great TV. Also, good high speed internet access and a very nice complimentary breakfast: pancakes, danish, biscuits & gravy, cereal, good coffee etc. Good staff, good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving, as I have family in Antioch and we wanted easy access to San Francisco. Benicia was the perfect half-way point! Our stay was short (3 nights), but we had an excellent experience with the hotel and staff.

The night we checked in, I left my iPad sitting on top of my car. I had no hopes of recovering it, but knew the garage had surveillance, so if nothing else would be able to file a police report with pictures showing the culprit. I made my way down to the front desk around 11pm and told the night clerk what happened. He left a message for his manager, asking for access to the security footage. While waiting for his manager to call back, he offered to check the lost and found, as well as the cart of the maintenance guy who makes rounds in the evenings. Lo and behold, my iPad was on the maintenance cart and was returned to me.

On to the hotel itself, the rooms were very comfortable. There were 3 adults sharing the room, plus my 18 month old. The crib they provided was sturdy and clean, and fit between the two queen beds. The beds were very comfortable, and I liked having the choice between a soft or firm pillow. The bathroom was spacious. I didn't mind the absence of a tub, as the shower was quite large. Towels were soft and plentiful. The TV was large. The fridge came in handy, having a toddler, and was perfect in size.

The breakfast was just ok, but there was enough variety to make me happy. Plenty of dry cereals, oatmeal, and yogurt. Modest assortment of fresh fruit. I indulged in the biscuits and gravy one morning, which was good in a way that kind of makes you ashamed of yourself for enjoying it. I did like that they had snacks and drinks near the front desk that you could purchase (at very reasonable prices, no gouging here).

Free wifi is always appreciated. The speed was nothing to rave about, but adequate for our needs.

Overall, for the price (especially over a holiday), I think the Holiday Inn Express in Benicia is a great choice for families wanting to stay in the Bay Area without breaking the bank. The city was a 20-30 minute drive, and not at all inconvenient in my mind.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We chose the Holiday Inn Express in Benicia based on the reviews on TripAdvisor for a five-night stay over the Christmas holidays when we were visiting family in the area. The motel is clean, bright, and comfortable. It's right off the highway making it very convenient for travelers whose destination is the larger city of Vallejo (where the hotels choices are pretty dismal).

The staff was great. The young lady working the desk on Christmas morning cheerfully gave us directions to a nearby church along with the schedule of Christmas services. Our room cleaner immediately brought us extra blankets when we requested them.

As others have mentioned here, the complimentary breakfast is just so-so. The coffee was usually lukewarm when we were in the breakfast area (although the tea was always hot) and some fresh fruit choices would have been nice to have.

Also, the heater in our room was a bit noisy and as we were there during the dead of winter, it kept going off all night, but this is a minor complaint.

I will definitely stay here again the next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011 via mobile

This holiday inn express rocks! My brother in law and his family stayed at this hotel the y loved it the hotel was clean and the room was big and decorated very nicely overall it was a very nice hotel highly recomended in Benicia.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Benicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Benicia

Address: 1375 East 5th Street, Benicia, CA 94510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Benicia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Benicia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Benicia 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Benicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Benicia Hotel Benicia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Benicia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.