We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best choice in area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Benicia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Benicia to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Benicia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1375 East 5th Street, Benicia, CA 94510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Benicia
San Marcos, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best choice in area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

after reading the scary reviews for Vallejo hotels we chose this hotel. Near new and a good experience. Bathroom fixtures and wallpaper are showing some minor problems but overall everything was fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXBenicia, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benicia, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
We are glad that you chose to stay at our hotel with so many options in the area and glad that you were pleased with your visit. Thank you for pointing out some of the wall paper is in need of attention. We hope that you will chose us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
14
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I usually have good luck with Holiday Inns, but this one is really nice. Very new, well appointed. Holiday Inn free breakfast continues to be Heart Attack central, between fat, sugar and processed stuff. And I hate that they only use disposables, so the amount of needless trash generated is unfortunate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fingerlakes, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My daughter and I and my 9 month old grandson needed to stay near family in Benicia in order to visit a family member in the Hospital nearby. The hotel provided an excellent crib for the baby and staff were very kind . The breakfast was perfectly adequate to get our day started and the room was very clean and comfortable. It is quite close to the highway and also to the pleasant center of a nice little town. We loved going to the pier to watch the boats and birds and fishermen and happened to be in town for their nice Farmer's Market one evening. There's a great little kid's playground a few blocks away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXBenicia, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Benicia, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for staying with us on your trip into Benicia. We are glad you found your stay pleasant and enjoyable, and hope your family member is feeling better. We hope that you will stay with us on your next trip into town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

There is an EXCELLENT free breakfast: there were tasty pancakes, omelettes, bacon, sweeties, muffins, cereals, various types of bread etc. It is more a business hotel but it's good even for vacation if you are heading north or south in a California road trip. The hotel is close to freeways but also to the little town center of Benicia. The room was very big: there was a 24h open fitness center in front of it. The parking has a direct access to the lobby and the rooms and it was free. The bathroom was big and clean. The express check out can save you time.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Clean, comfortable, nicely appointed. Looks almost brand new. Plush towels & plenty of them. Great TV. Very good complimentary breakfast: pancakes, danish, biscuits & gravy, omelettes, bagels, OJ, good coffee etc. Good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

When I stay at a chain hotel, I expect the basics: clean room; comfortable bed and pillows; decent linens; clean, functional bathroom; functioning appliances (TV, heat/AC, etc.); and friendly service. The Holiday Inn Express, for the most part, fit the bill. With its excellent location added, it was a very good value for the price. A few odd quirks and surprising flaws were all that kept me from giving it an excellent rating.

Booking and confirmation online were easy and efficient, with an additional confirmation e-mail a few days before our arrival. Check-in was easy and we found plenty of parking in the convenient underground garage.

The room was a comfortable size for the 2 queen beds, and made to feel very spacious by the tallest ceilings I've ever seen in a hotel. All the usual amenities were provided, and everything was clean and comfortable. In addition to our room, we also enjoyed the small fitness center (elliptical machine, treadmill, recumbent bike) and the outdoor patio on the 2nd floor.

The location is great - right off the freeway (but not so close that the noise is a problem) and minutes away from First Street, the historic areas, and shopping. Nothing could be more convenient.

Now for the quirks and flaws. The high ceilings seemed to create problems for the (rather loud and sputtering) air conditioner. Although we ended up running it almost non-stop, and kept the curtains closed all day, we had a hard time getting the room temp down to 75 degrees. The ceiling fan helped, but that meant sleeping under a pretty strong breeze.

The bathroom had a large walk-in shower that should have been a shower/tub combination, but wasn't. And, as large as it was, it was equipped with only two tiny shelves - barely large enough to hold miniature bottles of shampoo etc. No grab rails or towel racks, either. A soap dish for the sink would have been really nice.

Finally, this being northern California, I was more than a little surprised not to find one of those helpful cards explaining the hotel's policies to save fuel and water -- we gave instructions to the front desk every morning not to have the linens and towels changed, but that didn't help, unfortunately.

Oh - the free continental breakfast was definitely underwhelming.

Overall, a good value for the money - but a little more attention to detail would have made a big difference!

Room Tip: The property is close to the freeway, so ask for a room on the other side . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXBenicia, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Benicia, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad that you chose the Holiday Inn Express Benicia for your recent visit to Benicia. I’m sorry to hear that the air conditioning unit left something to be desired. After reading your review we have added soap dishes to our bathrooms. Again Thank You for taking the time to review our property it gives us a chance to adjust things in order to make every stay more comfortable then the last. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Benicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We were in Benicia Recently to help my dad pack up his 20 year home. My 15 year old son and I are from Maui and have stayed in most of the hotels here on island, so we are a bit picky. We were very happy with the accommodations. The best feature was the pillows! 4 pillows on each bed, 2 soft and 2 firm and pillowcases labeled each. What a nice touch as usually I bring my own pillow.
Front desk associate Aryan was very attentive and allowed us an early check in to accommodate our busy schedule that day. We didn't much see anyone else as we were mostly at the property to shower and sleep.
Liked having the free wireless internet, liked the modern decor. High ceilings give you the feeling of a larger room. Bathrooms were nice, Make-up remover packet was a nice touch.
This Holiday Inn Express was everything we needed while we were there in Benicia. I would recommend it to friends and family. As a matter of fact, I booked my dad to stay there his last two nights after everything was packed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Benicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Benicia

Address: 1375 East 5th Street, Benicia, CA 94510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Benicia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Benicia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Benicia 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Benicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Benicia Hotel Benicia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Benicia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.