We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, slept very well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9733 Highway 9, Ben Lomond, CA 95005 (Formerly Coast Redwood Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ben Lomond
Gentofte, Denmark
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Nice place, slept very well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Good locations for visiting Big Basin Redwoods State Park. Wi-Fi was fast and free, nice complimentary breakfast, pool was closed but too cold for that anyway when we were there.

No bed bugs in our beds - my husband and daughter looked very carefully 

For a 2 star properly and the price paid we were very happy with our choice to stay here. So beautiful with the huge redwoods, and the smell of the trees outside in the early morning – wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    6
    9
    9
See reviews for
16
23
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
california
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our stay at the Quality Inn Ben Lomond was marred by the TRI-FECTA: Pests (ants in the bathroom); noise (the walls and ceilings are so thin you can hear conversations in the next room and people walking in the upstairs room) and bad smells (apparently they had just shampooed the carpets and the chemical smells reeked). We aired out the room for three hours and it seemed better, but the smell was still there the next morning. The bedding was also worn and torn, and the bed has seen better days. Breakfast was sparse in comparison to other comfort inns and similar hotels. The ice machine was broken and we were given a small bag of about 10 ice cubes instead. There were some good points tho, which is why the rating is not "terrible." The refrigerator was nice; the flat screen TV as fairly large and had lots of channels, and the hot running water was readily available. Wireless interest was also free but a tad slow. Also, unlike other commentators, we thought the check-in and check-out person, a woman, was very nice although she did nothing to address our issues when they were brought to her attention.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STEVENSON
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

At a discount rate this place is OK; My wife liked it so I'm giving it a 4 otherwise 3+ I'd hate to pay their full fare; so reserve on-line. The continental breakfast is decent and you can enjoy it with your coffee next to the creek. The am female clerk was extremely rude and carried on a 1/2 plus conversation with some "local other femalel"?? blocking all other service and access to the front desk. The male evening clerk was very very nice and helpful. The local redwood trees are nice I guess if you can identify 4th 5th 6th growth small trees. Bear in mind lodging choices up this way are limited it seems unless you are R.V. ing!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Seldom disappointed when stopping here. Clean rooms friendly service and nice location. The staff have always been very helpful in providing whatever we need. This last trip the ice machine was broken but the staff delivered ice to the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Don’t stay here if you expect your room to be serviced! We stayed two nights. We were out most of the second day and returned to our room late in the evening to find it a complete mess – unmade bed, no new tiles, trash barrels full, etc. We complained and the clerk said there was nothing she could do. We begged and pleaded to get some clean towels. We spoke to two staff asking for a refund and was told the manager would contact us – never happened. Wrote to the parent company – Choice Hotels and got two form letters saying the hotel would contact us – never happened. Emailed the manager – no response. We travel a lot and have NEVER had a hotel fail to service the room in hundreds of stays. We have never seen such complete lack of response to such a critical problem. We are writing this to spare you from these problems. We will never stay there again and I recommend you don’t either, unless you like no service and totally inept staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The room was clean, spacious and pleasant. What really made this place great was the helpful staff. We had a few requests that were promptly followed up on by different staff members. The breakfast was yummy; fresh waffles, bananas, cereal, and yogurt. While eating we observed staff cleaning and adding to the breakfast bar twice keeping the small area clean and well stocked.
We did see the negative reviews concerning bed bugs after checking in so promptly stripped the bed and inspected - I don't know what the other reviewers saw but I did not see any bugs. If there ever was a problem it was not in my room (201) or had been taken care of by the time we stayed with them (Aug 14,2013) The staff even hunted down a book for me to read when I finished the one I had brought with me. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelseyville, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel fell way below my approval level. Ali (she was so good at keeping people from getting really mad) at the front desk and the pool were the only saving graces. They were very short staffed and had almost zero rooms ready for occupants at the 2:00 check-in time. We all wasted our time by the pool cause there was no where else to sit and wait. When we finally got our room, it had not been vacuumed or had the tile floor washed. Disgusting! The continental breakfast had mushy apples and stale cereal. I don't often give anyone a bad review but I would NOT stay here again. They seriously need extra help and some upgrades! Cudos to Ali for a great job managing a hectic situation.

Room Tip: There are many hotels within 15 miles of this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 9733 Highway 9, Ben Lomond, CA 95005 (Formerly Coast Redwood Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ben Lomond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ben Lomond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains, a relaxing resort Inn located near The Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and coastal beaches located near Santa Cruz, California. Our newly rejuvenated Inn features various room appointments, signature amenities and award- winning hospitality to make your perfect Santa Cruz, CA getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Ben Lomond
Quality Inn Ben Lomond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.