We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy the view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
245 Fairview Avenue, Ben Lomond, CA 95005   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Ben Lomond B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fountain Valley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Beautiful location surrounded by redwood trees. Gael is a marvelous host - very accommodating, yummy breakfast, comfortable bed and right in the middle of nature. What could be better! We can't wait to back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairviewmanor, Manager at Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Just the experience we want all our guests to have! Quiet, relaxing, a good nights rest and an enjoyable breakfast. We are so happy you had a good stay and welcome you back anytime. Thank you for your review. All the very best, Gael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The very interesting thing about Santa Cruz county is that within minutes you can be in an entirely different city that has an entirely different feel to it. I live in Santa Cruz county and recently had a little mini get-away for a weekend and I went from the ocean area of Capitola to the redwoods of Ben Lomond in about fifteen minutes. I felt like I had traveled somewhere far away, it had a real Tahoe feel. I say this because it is often difficult to find a hotel during a busy season here, but often there are little inns like the Fairview Manor not really that far from Santa Cruz' popular main attractions. And if you actually live locally as I do, it is so fun and refreshing to just stay in another city close to home that has such a unique atmosphere.

Ben Lomond is a small mountain community. This B&B is set on property with towering redwoods, and I mean towering! It was raining when I visited, but I would have just wandered for a while outside had it been dry weather. The room I stayed in had a king size bed, with a comfy and warm down comforter, a nice lounging chair, vanity, and a small bathroom with a stall shower. The room had everything you could need in the way of amenities. Quiet, private, relaxing. All the rooms are in the main house, but each room has its own private lock.

There were other rooms that were a little bigger, a little different from each other in decor, and style, so I recommend inquiring when you call as to the differences. The common great room was cozy and comfortable for just sitting and reading, with a nice fireplace. Wine is available in the the afternoon, with a cheese tray for nibbles. Breakfast is served in the area of the great room, next to large windows overlooking the back deck. This deck would be a wonderful place to eat or lounge in the warmer summer months and early fall. I have some dietary restrictions and the Owner of this nice place adjusted her menu to suit my needs. She was gracious about it and the food she prepared was so filling, I didn't need to eat lunch that day!

Once you are checked in, you are left alone, yet you know the Owners are close by if you need anything! Very lovely place, sweet and kind Owners, wonderful location. I will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Ask about the differences in the unique rooms to be sure you get the type of room you like, ie King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairviewmanor, Manager at Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
What an awesome review and delightful description of Fairview Manor B & B! Thank you.
We are very proud supporters of the MCT productions and we are thrilled to host attendees to the fabulous plays they produce. Ever since we took over the B&B from my mother, we have strived to provide our guest with a quiet and restful stay. We take pride in the B&B and are grateful when our guests recognize and appreciate it. Wishing you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Fairview Manor. It is conveniently located near where our daughter lives in Felton. From the moment we arrived, Gael was so warm and hospitable, making sure we were comfortable in our room, introducing us to the other guests, offering wine and snacks for happy hour. She offered much advice on restaurants and things to do in the area and on our drive to Berkeley when we checked out. The breakfasts were delicious--way more food than I could eat. Gael even made a special breakfast for our daughter (who was on a highly restrictive diet), and invited our daughter to stop by anytime. Our room was comfortable and very homey. We really enjoyed our time there and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairviewmanor, Manager at Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Always great to open a warm and wonderful review first thing in the morning. So happy that you enjoyed your visit. It was a delight to meet you and your family. I enjoyed our visit and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This lovely welcoming place breaks the mould of fancy-dancy B&B. The hosts Gael and Jack are excellent and funny giving great local info, history, route finding and brilliant anecdotes!! The room itself and the bed were spacious and comfortable. The best bits for me were the conversation, the tasty home-cooked breakfast, wood stove and the fantastic location on the edge of the majestic forest of the Santa Cruz Mountains. This was a great place to unwind for a night before the long flight home. There's an authentic Austrian restaurant about 2 minutes walk from Fairview's front door too! If I go back to N Calif I will be booking myself in here again!

If you want the city - don't come here. Leave if for those who delight in the fact that you are in the clear air and able to see the stars at night!

Room Tip: All is dark and peaceful!
See more room tips
Green Features: These guys are clearly at the top of their game as a green B&B
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairviewmanor, Manager at Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for the brilliant review. I am still smiling! We look forward to your next visit and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I had two wonderful nights at the Fairview Manor. From the moment we were welcomed by Gael and Jack and the dogs until we reluctantly had to leave, we felt that we were part of the Family. The Bedroom and the Guest lounge were excellent and the breakfasts very tasty. We will certainly return to enjoy the setting, tranquillity and friendship and would recommend the Fairview to all wanting a true Bed and Breakfast experience in the Woods.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairviewmanor, Manager at Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for the brilliant review! We certainly enjoyed your stay and will welcome you both back anytime. We know that we were your "second" choice with Yosemite being closed, but I am glad our redwoods brought you to the beautiful Santa Cruz Mountains. Many thanks again, Gael, Jack, Max and Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We filled three rooms at Fairview Manor for three nights in July 2013. While we are from the Bay Area, we had family visiting from Colorado, and Fairview Manor was the perfect place to be able to visit in a low-key, homey atmosphere. The beds were extremely comfortable, the food delicious and beautifully presented, the environment was exactly what we had hoped for, and our hosts did everything they could to make us feel welcome and nurtured. Situated amongst the trees, we enjoyed the peaceful surroundings from both the deck out back and the common living area. It was a perfect relaxing spot from the busy wedding activities in the area. We would definitely stay with Gael and Jack again and are already planning our return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairviewmanor, Manager at Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
How nice to read this review on Monday morning. We are thrilled that you all enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you return visit. You certainly receive "awesome guest" votes from us. It was so nice to see your smiling faces first thing in the morning. Gael and Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay in Boulder Creek. Ben Lomond is just a few miles down the road and this turned out VERY nice. The place is a residence has has been modified as a B&B. They layout is very nice with a large common room with fireplace, patio and other outdoor sitting areas. The rooms are small and dark, but charming. The bathroom in our room was replete with claw-foot bathtub. Everything was clean. The operators (Gael & Jack) were very friendly. The grounds were enchanting. My wife didn't really want to go anywhere. I can see this would be a fantastic place for a quiet getaway to just enjoy the grounds. They have wine & cheese available all day long. And a home cooked breakfast that was fantastic. My wife has a gluten allergy and Gael baked her some gluten free muffins the day before. Breakfast consisted of an Artichoke Fritata with chicken sausage and a fruit cup. Beautiful presentation and it has taste to match. We WILL come back to this place. It is located off of Hwy-9 so it is quiet, but is still walking distance to Ben Lomond.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Sunflower Retreat and Alcove" room because of the claw-foot tub. I did w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairviewmanor, Manager at Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We thank you for your very kind review and are very happy that you found us! We enjoyed visiting with you and your wife.
As to the darkness of the house, unfortunately being surrounded by Redwoods doesn't help, but during the summer months it is nice to have natural a/c.
The interior of the house was paneled with first growth redwood from the Ben Lomond area, which was a common thing to do in the 1920's.
Thank you again and we look forward to another time when you and your wife can motor on down. All the very best, Gael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 245 Fairview Avenue, Ben Lomond, CA 95005
Location: United States > California > Ben Lomond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ben Lomond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please call us directly if the calendar shows full, there still may be a room for you! The House was built in 1923 as a summers home for cousins of the Wilder Family. The Carriage House (now used as a barn) was part of the old Ben Lomond Hotel that was burned down around 1915. Its owner was Fred Cody (cousin of Buffalo Bill Cody). The house was converted to a Bed and Breakfast in 1983. My mother bought the B&B in 1986 and it has been run by the Glasson family ever since. There are four bedrooms, all with private bathrooms. Some of the rooms can be used as two bedroom suites. The River Rock fireplace in the Great Room was made from the rocks found around the San Lorenzo River, which runs through the lower end of the three acre property. The back deck overlooks the river and the great mass of trees. Blackberries line the walkway and in September they are ripe for picking. The redwood grove boasts of a pond leftover from the Hotel and a waterfall has been added. Strolling through the property you will notice many areas available for conversation or merely relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.