We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hospitality. Outstanding location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
245 Fairview Avenue, Ben Lomond, CA 95005   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Ben Lomond B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely hospitality. Outstanding location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Fairview Manor (Gael and Jack proprietors) is built in the midst of towering redwoods with a serene path out the back where one may meander after returning from the days activities. The building was built in the 1920's of local redwood. Quaint appointments. It's an easy drive To Felton to take the train through the red woods to Santa Cruz. There are many eateries near by. We had a great dinner at the OakTree in Felton. If you are at all interested in homesteading, the Mountain Feed and Farm Supply is just around the corner. Allow an hour to browse.
The room was ok. The bed was comfortable. The pillows were not. The house was quiet during the night. Breakfast was plentiful. The sausage was weird and the egg casserole was bland. There were guests there who were, in my opinion, overly demanding. Gael met this with grace and patience and compassion.

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairviewmanor, Manager at Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Sarah, we thank you for your kind and generous review. It is difficult to be 100 per cent all the time and we really appreciate your understanding. All the very best, Gael and Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is the best place in the area! I have gone to an annual event near Felton for many years and I have stayed in almost every place on highway nine from Felton to Boulder Creek. I can say that Gael runs the best place around. We stayed there for the second time this year and we were saying "This place is just sooo cute! Can we just live here?"

Room Tip: Ttere are two two bedroom suites near the front door. Great for family travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairviewmanor, Manager at Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
It is always to lovely to have return guests. We are so happy you had a grand time! Hope to see you both again during the civil war games, if not sooner. Gael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Staying at Fairview Manor is like staying with a favorite relative - one who happens to make the most outstanding breakfasts you've ever eaten! We stayed with Gael and Jack for 3 nights, and didn't want to go home when it was time to check out. They were so warm and friendly and incredibly accommodating... Their delicious & unique breakfasts were a new surprise every morning. The Hawaiian Princess room was very clean and cozy, with a comfortable queen bed. Wine was available in the dining room at all times, and a little fridge stocked with water and sodas. The common room was great to lounge and read or just hang out in. We had the most relaxing and enjoyable stay. This is our new favorite B&B and we will happily recommend it to all our friends and family!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We actually stayed with Jack and Gael in July 2008. I can't believe I didn't write a review then! Our family of 5 and our relatives' family of 4 took over the whole place! We ate Jack's fabulous cooking and Gael was the most accommodating and pleasant hostess. She stocked the fridge with juice for the kids, and wine kept the grownups happy too. The rooms were comfortable, nothing fancy. It was like visiting family, without the drama. The grounds are lovely, we played basketball, the kids hiked to the creek, and we sat in the gazebo and watched the daylight fade. Town is just a quick drive away, and anything you want is in the gourmet market.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

We arrived at the Fairview B&B to be greeted by Jack and his dogs Max and Murhpy. He was polishing his motorcycle out side of the 100+ year old livery adjacent to the home. the House was built on the land where the Ben Lomond Hotel used to be loacted. The groundw are just beautiful and a river runs through the back yard. Gael cooks up a surprise every morning. Breakfast to die for!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010 via mobile

We just left Fairview Manor after a two-night stay. Writing this on my BlackBerry. A WONDERFUL B&B! We've found the place to stay when visiting the UC Santa Cruz son. Gael and Jack (and the dogs) made us feel right at home. Beautiful grounds, lovely room, yummy breakfast, wine and cheese in the evening, etc.--all at a great price. The rubber ducky for the tub was a hoot (we did use it!).

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Illinois
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

This is an enchanting place to stay in the small town of Ben Lomond, Ca. We thoroughly loved our time here with Jack and Gael. They are very friendly, helpful and kind. We felt very at home. The breakfasts were filling and delicious. It is close to a great Tyrolean restaurant( we walked ) and just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 245 Fairview Avenue, Ben Lomond, CA 95005
Location: United States > California > Ben Lomond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ben Lomond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please call us directly if the calendar shows full, there still may be a room for you! The House was built in 1923 as a summers home for cousins of the Wilder Family. The Carriage House (now used as a barn) was part of the old Ben Lomond Hotel that was burned down around 1915. Its owner was Fred Cody (cousin of Buffalo Bill Cody). The house was converted to a Bed and Breakfast in 1983. My mother bought the B&B in 1986 and it has been run by the Glasson family ever since. There are five bedrooms, all with private bathrooms. Four of the rooms can be used as two bedroom suites. The River Rock fireplace in the Great Room was made from the rocks found around the San Lorenzo River, which runs through the lower end of the three acre property. The back deck overlooks the river and the great mass of trees. Blackberries line the walkway and in September they are ripe for picking. The redwood grove boasts of a pond leftover from the Hotel and a waterfall has been added. Strolling through the property you will notice many areas available for conversation or merely relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.