We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
245 Fairview Avenue, Ben Lomond, CA 95005   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Ben Lomond B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is the best place in the area! I have gone to an annual event near Felton for many years and I have stayed in almost every place on highway nine from Felton to Boulder Creek. I can say that Gael runs the best place around. We stayed there for the second time this year and we were saying "This place is just sooo cute! Can we just live here?"

Room Tip: Ttere are two two bedroom suites near the front door. Great for family travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairviewmanor, Manager at Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
It is always to lovely to have return guests. We are so happy you had a grand time! Hope to see you both again during the civil war games, if not sooner. Gael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma County, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Staying at Fairview Manor is like staying with a favorite relative - one who happens to make the most outstanding breakfasts you've ever eaten! We stayed with Gael and Jack for 3 nights, and didn't want to go home when it was time to check out. They were so warm and friendly and incredibly accommodating... Their delicious & unique breakfasts were a new surprise every morning. The Hawaiian Princess room was very clean and cozy, with a comfortable queen bed. Wine was available in the dining room at all times, and a little fridge stocked with water and sodas. The common room was great to lounge and read or just hang out in. We had the most relaxing and enjoyable stay. This is our new favorite B&B and we will happily recommend it to all our friends and family!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We actually stayed with Jack and Gael in July 2008. I can't believe I didn't write a review then! Our family of 5 and our relatives' family of 4 took over the whole place! We ate Jack's fabulous cooking and Gael was the most accommodating and pleasant hostess. She stocked the fridge with juice for the kids, and wine kept the grownups happy too. The rooms were comfortable, nothing fancy. It was like visiting family, without the drama. The grounds are lovely, we played basketball, the kids hiked to the creek, and we sat in the gazebo and watched the daylight fade. Town is just a quick drive away, and anything you want is in the gourmet market.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

We arrived at the Fairview B&B to be greeted by Jack and his dogs Max and Murhpy. He was polishing his motorcycle out side of the 100+ year old livery adjacent to the home. the House was built on the land where the Ben Lomond Hotel used to be loacted. The groundw are just beautiful and a river runs through the back yard. Gael cooks up a surprise every morning. Breakfast to die for!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We just left Fairview Manor after a two-night stay. Writing this on my BlackBerry. A WONDERFUL B&B! We've found the place to stay when visiting the UC Santa Cruz son. Gael and Jack (and the dogs) made us feel right at home. Beautiful grounds, lovely room, yummy breakfast, wine and cheese in the evening, etc.--all at a great price. The rubber ducky for the tub was a hoot (we did use it!).

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Illinois
Level Contributor
335 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

This is an enchanting place to stay in the small town of Ben Lomond, Ca. We thoroughly loved our time here with Jack and Gael. They are very friendly, helpful and kind. We felt very at home. The breakfasts were filling and delicious. It is close to a great Tyrolean restaurant( we walked ) and just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shuttergal8
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

I’d like to comment on our recent stay at the Fairview Manor in Ben Lomond, Calif. We enjoyed a wonderful weekend away in the mountains of Santa Cruz, Calif at the Fairview Manor. My husband & I are avid amateur photographers and had planned to shoot in the Santa Cruz mountains that weekend. We booked our mini-vacation at the Fairview around that goal. Upon arrival, we immediately fell into relaxation mode. Our room was well appointed and very clean. The Inn sits on a really beautiful piece of land with very tall Redwood trees all around and a pleasant sounding creek running thru it. It was very warm the day we arrived and we spent the first few hours sipping iced tea across the lawn in the a beautiful little gazebo with the inn keepers, Gael & Jack. They were very warm & we immediately felt at home. They had many good suggestions of places & things we might be interested in. The famous “Santa Cruz Beach & Boardwalk” is a mere 15minutes from our “home-away-from-home” and the beaches of Capitola are only a few minutes more. We enjoyed a wonderful seafood dinner on the Wharf one night, a couple of beautiful mountain hikes, a day at the beach in Capitola and found a wonderful pumpkin patch to do some photography of (representative photos attached), as well. Each morning, we had a wonderful home cooked breakfast – my favorite was the German Apple pancake! The town of Ben Lomond, itself, is a very interesting place to spend time in. The air smelled so fresh and clean – not the smog filled air we’re so accustomed to! We created some beautiful shots to bring home and share with others. There is much to do or nothing to do…whichever is one’s choice. We will be making this an annual event for ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 245 Fairview Avenue, Ben Lomond, CA 95005
Location: United States > California > Ben Lomond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ben Lomond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please call us directly if the calendar shows full, there still may be a room for you! The House was built in 1923 as a summers home for cousins of the Wilder Family. The Carriage House (now used as a barn) was part of the old Ben Lomond Hotel that was burned down around 1915. Its owner was Fred Cody (cousin of Buffalo Bill Cody). The house was converted to a Bed and Breakfast in 1983. My mother bought the B&B in 1986 and it has been run by the Glasson family ever since. There are four bedrooms, all with private bathrooms. Some of the rooms can be used as two bedroom suites. The River Rock fireplace in the Great Room was made from the rocks found around the San Lorenzo River, which runs through the lower end of the three acre property. The back deck overlooks the river and the great mass of trees. Blackberries line the walkway and in September they are ripe for picking. The redwood grove boasts of a pond leftover from the Hotel and a waterfall has been added. Strolling through the property you will notice many areas available for conversation or merely relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.