We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Iranian food and Shalizaar hits the spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shalizaar Restaurant

Shalizaar Restaurant
300 El Camino Real, Belmont, CA 94002-2020
650-596-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 66 Restaurants in Belmont
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Columbia SC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“I love Iranian food and Shalizaar hits the spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Friendly Iranian owners and staff. The food is very predictable (in a good way) Iranian fare. Some Iranian restaurants try for a more creative approach and that is OK. But Shalizaar sticks to the sort of food you would get in Tehran or Shiraz. Their Khoresh Gormeh Sabzi is very good, though I prefer a little more dried lemon.

They bake their own bread. I always ask for sangek bread but alas I have not found any Iranian restaurants that do it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“The best Persian restaurant in the Bay Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We found this restaurant through the Internet 4 years ago while visiting the Bay Area, we were at first skeptical because of the different reviews, the restaurant was quite small, but we were amazed how good the food was, so good that we went there again the next year. 2 years ago, the restaurant moved to a huge place and it now looks absolutely fantastic with lots of parking. Every time we are in the Bay Area, we never miss this restaurant because we love their food, their excellent service and the nice ambiance!

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great ambiance, can get crowded on weekends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

I've been here a handful of times since the entrees are reasonable (about $15-25) both with family and friends. It gets quite noisy and crowded on weekends, so sometimes service is a little slow, but I have found the waiters to be very friendly when you're friendly to them. The restaurant looks to be owned by a family. The restaurant is very nicely decorated and is dimly lit to add to the ambiance.

Dress is generally casual although I've seen parties dress up for their night out. This place is fine to take small children or babies since the music + restaurant din can drown out some of the noise. The waitstaff gets busy, but again, if you're friendly to them, they can be very attentive.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great food but rushed service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

The food here s delicious. Unfortunately, it appears that unless you're persian, who can't get good service at this location. I have eaten here at least 5-6 times (because the food is so good), but I am always disappointed at the service.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Looking for something different, nice to try......once”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

Looking for something different, nice to try......once

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalizaar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shalizaar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shalizaar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.