We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small portions, food just ok.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caprino's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Caprino's Restaurant
1000 6th Avenue, Belmont, CA 94002
6505914156
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 66 Restaurants in Belmont
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ralston
Transit: Cal Train is one block away
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Small portions, food just ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I would like to start by saying the waitress was very nice, and did a very good job.
I ordered a KOBE pesto burger no bun, and told her I do not eat carbs. The meal is served to me with French fries and NO pesto on the Pesto burger. I guess the cook usually puts the presto on the bun and since there was no bun he did put and on the burger. It was lean and cooked properly - average. My family ordered chicken carbonara and it was a very small portion.
It is on the expensive side for what they offer, I would not go here again. The good thing is the tiramisu, it was very light and delicious.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Fun bar, great brunch and awesome appetizers"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I've been to Caprino's many times and love sitting in the bar area, people are always very friendly and inclusive and there is always some new and interesting wine by the glass. The Riblet appetizer is out of this world and very consistent. Their Cioppino is one of the best I've had and one of my favorite "go-to's" to order. Brunch is great, as well! They have Fried Catfish and Grits , Chilaquiles, and Corned Beef Hash....interesting items that you won't find just anywhere...especially in Belmont!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best in Belmont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have eaten at Caprinos many times and have always been happy with the experience.
The food is very good and compared to similar restaurants is very reasonably priced.
If you are solo the bar is a great place to eat. They have two tv's usually with a game playing.
My favorite dish is the linguine chicken carbonara. Great appetizers and wine list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san
1 review
“Not worth going again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went there on New Years Eve....Very disappointing food.

Lobster ravioli was not fresh (maybe frozen from COSTCO?).
The ravioli had no taste. Couldn't tell if it was chicken or lobster or whatever.

Deserts (Apple pie, cheese cake and chocolate cake were just like COSTCO.)

Meat offerings were good. At their prices, they should be

Services was good.

We've been going for years and we both left disappointed.

Things have changed in the kitchen for the worse.

For the amount paid($140), we won't go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I've been here a few times for brunch and love it each and every time. Its not as busy as Town but the food is just as good. Always one of my favorites.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caprino's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Caprino's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caprino's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.