We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price Gouge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Rebs' Southern Roadhouse

Johnny Rebs' Southern Roadhouse
16639 Bellflower Blvd, Bellflower, CA 90706-5418
562-866-6455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 115 restaurants in Bellflower
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Cajun & Creole, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Wine Bar, Fish & Chips, Chicken Wings, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Description: Homemade cookin' and southern hospitality! At Johnny Rebs' we strive to give you an authentic homemade meal and make you feel at home. In business since 1984, we have been fillin' bellies and painting smiles in Southern California and look forward to pleasing more folks like y'all with each new day!! Come visit us and see what all of our current friends and family are buzzing about!"Put Some South in Your Mouth!"
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Price Gouge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Johnny Reb's has good food and courteous service, but whopper of a price. I went with a friend and we split a hamburger. We each had a soda, nothing else. The bill was $25!! It was probably the best burger I ever had, but I won't pay over ten bucks for half a burger ever again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sesshole, Guest Relations Manager at Johnny Rebs' Southern Roadhouse, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
LGB-Local

Thank you for your continued feedback. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your experience overall, but sorry to hear you felt the price was too high. Our half-pound burgers range between $11.25 and $12.25 and include two side dishes. Again, we do our best to provide the right value. We're glad to hear it was the "best burger you've ever had" and hopefully your feelings of high cost don't outweigh the experience of your best burger ever.


Thank you again for your feedback,

Success "Sess" Wendell
Johnny Rebs' Southern Roadhouse
sess@johnnyrebs.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    8
    3
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good Quality Q at a Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

This down south BBQ joint has the atmosphere and the food, but it doesn't have good-ol' boy prices. We had southern fried chicken, which was good. Baby back and St. Louis ribs were okay, but outer layer was tough and stringy. My wife had BBQ Sliders (one chicken, one beef) and she left the beef uneaten due to toughness. Those are critical comments and generally the food was worth coming back for. The prices, on the other hand, might keep me away. $20 for a plate of ribs is pretty steep.

My biggest complaint about the restaurant was the ambiance. Not the decor, but the decorum...employee noise. If the place was crowded, maybe it wouldn't have been as annoying. The problem is that they have a back storeroom and there was constant traffic from the kitchen to the storeroom with employees walking right by the tables. Worse than walking by (which was seriously continuous), every time they went in or out the storeroom door it slammed! It almost seemed like they were trying to get the door to slam as loudly as they possibly could.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sesshole, Guest Relations Manager at Johnny Rebs' Southern Roadhouse, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
LGB-Local

First I would like to thank you for visiting us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the fried chicken and sorry to hear the St. Louis ribs were not to your liking. We are also sorry that you feel the pricing is high. We do our best to make a regular analysis of our costs so that we can provide the fairest price. We are actually right in line with our friends in the business. Lucielle's BBQ prices their St Louis at $26 a rack and Naples/Newport Rib company prices theirs at $22. I don't bring this up to say that you might not still feel the price to be a bit steep, but we do our best to keep it as fair and affordable as possible.
We are very sorry to hear you experienced more noise than you would have liked. There could be any number of reasons why there was so much going on during your visit; nonetheless, you should not have had to experience it. I'd like to apologize for the excess noise and will inform the staff that they might take extra precaution during high traffic times in and out of the store room doors.

Thank you again for your feedback,

Success "Sess" Wendell
Johnny Rebs' Southern Roadhouse
sess@johnnyrebs.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Southern Food In the 562”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Johnny Rebs has the best southern food in the 562. Go on a Birthday or special event ..B-day Anniversary and let them know.. Will bring you good luck for 2 years and your belly will be full.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sesshole, Guest Relations Manager at Johnny Rebs' Southern Roadhouse, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Planshow143,

Thank you so much for your review and your kind words. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.


Success "Sess" Wendell
Johnny Rebs' Southern Roadhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I have eaten here for years. This restaurant is sometimes hit and miss on the service; however, the food is consistent...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

I have eaten here for years. This restaurant is sometimes hit and miss on the service; however, the food is consistent. Not a place to calorie count.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious, best Southern...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Delicious, best Southern cooking ever!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Rebs' Southern Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Johnny Rebs' Southern Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Rebs' Southern Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.