We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A VIEW....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windy Point Restaurant

Windy Point Restaurant
Belair Road, Belair, Mitcham, South Australia 5052, Australia
(08) 8278 8255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Belair
Price range: $52 - $75
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“WHAT A VIEW....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Reservations are definitely necessary and we knew that obtaining one was not that easy. There can't be a better restaurant with a view like this one in the entire city, or other cities for that matter. Seeing the city lights from this hilltop area was very beautiful and relaxing. The road up is a bit windy, lined with Eucalyptus trees, and warnings to watch out for koalas. Well worth the drive up.

The ambiance felt a bit formal, and I found it very difficult to choose something from this higher-end palate menu. The wine list and service were exceptional. If you are looking for a special evening, this should definitely be on your list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    67
    12
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Anniversary dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Have been many times and love it - but this time just not quite as good.
Lights were too bright on arrival - they did turn them down after a while.
To me the menu is very limited and somehow the atmosphere not quite as it used to be
Service was good though

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A special place well worth a night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Windy Point not only has the best view Adelaide, the menu, wine list, and attentive service was outstanding. I highly recommend those with good food in mind and great views to book early and aim for one of the spectacular window tables. A super memorable dining event awaits, I hope you enjoy it as much as we have.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Windy Point”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

One of the few occaisions when I had to send my food back. I had morrocan eggs and the chef obviously hadn't tasted it as it was incredibly over spiced. Out of a table of 4, 2 people liked their breakfast and 2 didn't. Eggs florentine was reportedly good (even with the unusual addition of olives) but avoid the vietnamese pancake and morrocan eggs.
Not enough staff was on in the mornings, and they bunched everyone up together instread of spreading us out.
The breakfast cocktail was good though!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Spoil Yourself!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I choose Windy Point as the place to go to impress our guests. We take business guests and our family on special occasions. It is always the first choice to celebrate a special birthday. We love the food, the views at night are really lovely.
We think the service is very good. Our waitress remembered us from a previous birthday celebration and brought us a complimentary plate of meringues and chocolates with a piped chocolate message - Happy Birthday. This is an extra special place to dine. So spoil yourselves!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windy Point Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Windy Point Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windy Point Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.