We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lonel Planet - the best cottage if you like it really remote!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enjo Nature Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cederberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Enjo Nature Farm
Save
You added Enjo Nature Farm to your Saves list
Biedouw Valley, Cederberg 8135, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Kapstadt, Südafrika
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lonel Planet - the best cottage if you like it really remote!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed for two nights at their wondeful cottage "lonely planet" -
it was a really hot weekend and so we spent plenty of time in the small "pool" which belongs to the cottage - the pool is really small, just enough to sit back and relax and enjoy the wonderful views. Noone around to disturb the quietness!
The evenings are perfect for a braai and the solid couch in front of the house is a perfect place to watch the stars.
We took our dog - he loved it! (you should just know - their are all kinds of farm animals)
The cottage itself is rustic, but we didnt miss anything, perfect for a couple!

The farm itself is a couple of km away, if you have a rental - make sure that you have good insurance - the road is tricky. They have a lovely dam for swimming - the biggest "pool" you can wish for!
We really enjoyed our stay!

(Its quiete a way to the next shopping opportunity, and takes some time ifyou dont drive a 4x4 - we picked up all our stuff in Clanwilliam)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Very nice location, friendly manageress/staff, great nature dam and swimming basin (however, why without steps?), and nice looking cottages, BUT the cottage was definitely lacking maintenance and was simply very dirty (stove plates never cleaned, mosquito netting dirty and full of holes, glasses/plates not really clean; even a thatched roof can be cleared from bugs and spider nets). We were obviously not expecting 5 star luxury, however, even on a Nature Farm a clean rooms can be expected.
We left after one night rather than staying the booked two nights :-(

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

What an absolute gem! We loved the remote location, the beautiful surroundings and the rustic accommodation. We stayed in the Oak Chalet, which is only a 2 minute walk to the swimming damn but feels secluded. The hosts proved you with everything you need, including bedding, towels and braai facilities. We loved watching the surrounding mountains change colour, the visit from the friendly farm horses and the incredible star gazing. We highly recommend this place for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We knew it was going to be remote, but we didn't quite realise how remote. We stayed in the Lonely Planet cottage, which is a 20 minute walk from the rest of the buildings. There is no electricity in there, but there is a small fridge that runs on gas.

If you really want to get away from it all, the location is incredible. The cottage itself is very basic, but beautiful; a stone 'sofa' outside (with soft cushions) is strategically placed in front of the BBQ and is a wonderful spot for watching the stars.
There are some nice hikes in the area and there is talk of possibly offering horse riding in the future. A huge swimming dam with inflated rubber tubes is the perfect spot to chill out and near the main building there is a common room with billiard table and games.

The couple who manage the farm now were very passionate, really lovely and exactly the sort of people who should run a place like this.

Unfortunately, we went in February so it was at times unbearably hot but we would love to come back when it's a bit cooler.

Room Tip: The Lonely Planet Cottage is more basic than the other cottages (no electricity = no fan and the gas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

When they say this is soul country, it truly is, and the place to stay there is Enjo Nature Farm. We stayed in a beautiful room in the main house. The atmosphere in the building and its surroundings is memorable. To have the excellent dinner by the sunset and watch the mountains turn read and the full moon rise in the blue is really great. There are wonderful hiking trails, but you need to do it early in the morning, because of the heat. The staff is great and very helpful. The last part of the way is long, bumpy and winding gravel road.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Enjo only has 3 campsites and only allows 8 campers at a time. This combined by the fact that the campsites are reasonably private and well shaded made for a truly peaceful weekend.
The ablutions has hot and cold water and a flush toilet. There are only 1 shower and 1 toilet which may require careful scheduling if the campsite is full. However, we found it sufficient.
The campsites are all next to time river. It is not deep enough to swim but the pools are ideal to cool of in.
All campsites has water and electricity.
A big bonus was that we could take our dogs with.

Enjo is a well run and friendly farm to camp at.

Tip
Campsite 2 is the best. No 3 is second best.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Pristine area to see the Namaqualand flowers. Travelling down Hoek-se-Berg Pass was amazing and provided the amazing views of the valley. The welcome was warm and friendly. Unfortunately the weather didn't allow for the flight over the valley. Will definitely go back sometime to explore the rest of the farm.

Tip: The gravel road can be negotiated with a car but if it rains the roads become slippery and the three rivers will be difficult to cross.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enjo Nature Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enjo Nature Farm

Address: Biedouw Valley, Cederberg 8135, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cederberg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Cederberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Clanwilliam and the charming Wupperthal mission station you will find our 200 year old sheep farm. Relax in our romantic chalets, cosy cabins or campsite along the Biedouw river. Enjoy a flip in our airplane, hiking or chill out in our spring fed swimming dam. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enjo Nature Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.