We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like Mom used to make!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Five Diner

High Five Diner
8572 Highway 5/Bean Road, Little Fort, British Columbia V0E 2C0, Canada
+1 250-677-4400
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: High Five Story:The High Five Diner is based on a very simple concept, “Kerry and her family prepare comfort food from generations of experience.”The High Five Team creates comfort food by roasting, baking, dicing, slicing, and blending of raw ingredients. We keep things simple, just like our grandma did. You will notice we are true to comfort food, not only because of our house made burgers and fresh carved ham we serve for breakfast, but also how comforting simple food really can be. We assure you that if you try us once; you will be visiting our little diner again!High Five Diner Family
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just like Mom used to make!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were travelling to Kamloops and needed a gas stop in Clearwater. While there, we asked if thy could recommend a restaurant. Without hesitation, we were directed to continue down the road to Little Fort to the High Five Diner. The food was very much like homemade with humongous portions. The variety of desserts was fantastic and equally tasty. We will definitely be stopping here again on our next trip. This diner will not disappoint!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great Home Made Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

On our way to Grande Prairie & on our way back my son & I stopped here. Great food lots to eat. I had the seafood chowder & bun; it was very creamy & tastey; also very filing; no room for dessert. My son had a chicken burger with fries & gravy; a big plate full but he enjoyed all of it. When we got to Jasper for supper we were still full from our stop at this filling diner. On the way back my son had the fabulous club house with real turkey in it; not the sandwich meat turkey & a real glass of iced tea. I enjoyed the coffee with a piece of strawberry cheesecake. Wow great tasting cheesecake! Not too sweat! Can't wait to bring a good appetite here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Went up to Clearwater for the day, and we asked people there where to eat on our way back to Kamloops. They unanimously recommended the High Five Diner, and we were not disappointed. What a great diner - almost the quintessential definition of a 'joint'. Portions were huge and delicious. The homemade iced tea was great. Not cheap but the portion size meant we took enough home for another entire meal each. We didn't get a chance to try the clearly very popular desserts, but we will next time, and there is definitely going to be a next time. I'd drive an hour just to go eat here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Old fashioned dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This small diner in the middle of nowhere is absolutely amazing. The portions are so huge,two people could share. Everyone was taking home leftovers and then there is the Pie....unreal, these pies have to be the biggest pies I have ever seen in my life. Again, everyone was stopping by to get take out pie. So good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“You get what you want.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

A quint little place with relaxing odies music. Pricing was decent for what you get. Puts most restarants to shame. I wish eating out can be this good every where. They set a good exsample. Prime rib was great rice wasn't ready but they more then made up for it. Tiger prawns excelent. Meal couldn't be better. Highly recamended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Five Diner also viewed

Little Fort, British Columbia
Clearwater, British Columbia
 
Little Fort, British Columbia

Been to High Five Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Five Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.