We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view, peaceful location, good value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Back Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Back Bay Inn to your Saves list
Back Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1391 Second Street, Baywood Park, CA 93402   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Baywood Park B&B and Inns
Tulare, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely view, peaceful location, good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

I booked our reservations at the Back Bay Inn after reading the excellent reviews on this website. We wanted a place to stay for a couple days of rest and relaxation close to Morro Bay. We were not disappointed with the Back Bay Inn. Even though some areas in the room (paint chipped moldings, a bit of rust on the refrigerator door, etc.) could have used some attention, the room was clean and comfortable and I would say that the pluses of this Inn far out-weighed the minuses. We had no real complaints. We stayed in one of the lanai rooms on the ground floor (room 104) and did notice that we could hear the people above us moving about, but it didn't bother us that much. We loved the view from our room, and, if we have the opportunity to stay there again, we will probably request this same room.....just for that view.

I have to mention the gorgeous flowers! There were many varieties blooming on the property, but the daisies were most spectacular! Beautiful white daisies with the blue bay behind them, what a sight to wake up to in the morning!

The Inn keepers were accommodating and went to great lengths to make our stay comfortable. We enjoyed wine and cheese each evening and a nice complimentary breakfast each morning. I think the Back Bay Inn is a very good value for the price.

To sum up this review; if you want excitement, go to Vegas, if you want peace and quiet and a beautiful view, just a few minutes south of Morro Bay, stay at the Back Bay Inn.


  • Liked — The location!
  • Disliked — The room could have used some maintenance.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    36
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
87
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, VA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

We made plans to spend a Sunday night here on our drive from Corona Del Mar to Sonoma. First of all, it was the perfect "in between" distance.

We checked in around 5:30 or 6. It was a Sunday night and we asked and were told the inn was about half full. It was full on Fri & Sat nights. We immediately made reservations at Papillon (the restaurant across the street which is excellent!). We stopped to have a glass of wine at their complimentary reception but we were the only ones there so we didn't stay too long (it was just about winding up for the evening anyway).

We were very pleased checking into our room (#6). The bed was huge (seemed like a Cali King b/c it felt much bigger than a regular kind) and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and not too old, but not brand new or cutting age. The property was lovely with many flowers everywhere.

The view from the bay was beautiful - I took pictures and they look just like the others posted on this site.

We had breakfast at Coffee N Things which is basically on the same property. As guests of the Back Bay Inn, were had an option of 4 breakfasts (oatmeal and fruit, and then maybe 3 diff't types of omelets). We had the oatmeal and it was delicious. You could also get muffins and such a la carte.

As for the bay, it was so soothing. The water really goes out with low tide, and were told that if you don't pay attention to the tides and try to go canoing or sailing you could really get stuck. Some past guests had to be hauled out by the fire department!

We would definitely stay here again if traveling through. It was comfortable, clean, and an excellent price. The rooms were quiet and peaceful, and we didn't hear other noise (or perhaps we just had quiet neighbors).

  • Liked — Location, value, comfortable room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake elsinore, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2007

This was a third time staying there. We rode up on motorcyles. You can't find better accomodations and friendliness. A special thanks to Larry for the extra snacks in our room. We have brought the same people and every time we add new people. They all feel the same. The rooms are beautiful, comforable and reasonable in price.

The area has many great things to do without even getting back on the road.

Hope to be back soon.

Sue Munoz
Lake elsinore, Ca

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

Based solely on pictures found on the web and reviews found on TripAdvisor, my husband and I booked a two-night stay at the Back Bay Inn for mid-January 2007. Everything was so wonderful! We stayed in room #8... upstairs on the end with a balcony. Even though the temperatures were in the low 50's during the day and down in the high 20's at night that didn't hamper our enjoyment one bit.

The reservation process was smooth and easy. We called directly to the hotel to check on rates and availability... then online looked at the pictures of the rooms and made our decision.

Reading how mapquest directions aren't the best, we programmed the address into our car's navigation system and we were on our way. The drive was beautiful up the coast from the Los Angeles area.

We arrived after dark so we couldn't see much of a view or the property really but the check in process with Larry was smooth and easy. After taking care of the billing formalities, Larry showed us to our room and we were MORE than pleased. The room was spacious, nicely appointed and the balcony very large. Everything operated as expected and we settled in for a restful night's sleep.

The next morning we awoke to the most GLORIOUS VIEW from our balcony. To say the Back Bay Inn is right on the bay is absolutely correct!!! The place is gorgeous! The vew is spectacular! We didn't want to leave the room to go out sightseeing it was that peaceful and tranquil.

Other reviews on TA had us worried about the noise. Although the Inn was completely booked during our stay, we never heard any noise or conversation, or footsteps or anything. Only on occasion did we hear automobiles go by.

The wine & cheese reception in the evening was extremely enjoyable and we got a chance to socialize with some of the other guests. Larry was the perfect host... in fact he was more of a concierge!!

The breakfast included in the room rate was quite nice. Very good selection and the food was tasty.

Overall our stay was excellent and we intend to go back!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — nothing - everything was great.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calif
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2007

Stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed the whole experience. Had an upstairs room that was extra large with couch and 3 chairs surrounding the fireplace. The bathroom was also very large with lots of counter space. Great breakfast at the little local coffee shop located at the end of the drive, which is included. The bakery items were beautiful and very tasty, scones, etc. They wil also make sandwiches for you to take out. Perfect location, you can just park your car and forget about it as far as restaurants go. Had dinner (take-out) the first night from the Mexican restaurant adjacent to inn and a lovely dinner in front of the fireplace at Papillion the second night. The evening reception was nice and quaint and I spent quite a lot of time talking to Larry about the history and future of the town. Woke to a beautiful, full bay with ducks - beware tho - at night the tide goes down and you are stuck with mud! We are already planning our next trip back. Great, little known hideaway.

  • Tips/Secrets — check out the rooms on the website before booking
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

When we arrived the town was quaint and the hotel was privately located right on the water - a perfect start to our romantic weekend getaway. The management was very friendly and welcoming, and Larry walked us to our room personally.

Unfortunately, the room stunk of cleaning products and we had to leave the doors open all night long to help air it out. Considering it was cold (as we were directly on the bay in Sept), this presented quite a dilemma.

We ended up leaving our doors open while we went across the street to eat at the French restaurant (great food, but very loud inside). When we returned, the smell had mostly dissipated.

The rooms themselves were pretty basic -- definitely not a "B&B" but more like a quaint mini-hotel (maybe a step up from a Best Western?).

With the smell mostly gone we were able to close the doors (window open though), and go to sleep. We were on the bottom floor so could easily hear people walking around (as another reviewer has mentioned), but thanks to our trusty earplugs didn't have a problem falling asleep.

In the morning, however, my husband's shoulders brutally ached from the bed being too stiff, and not in a good way. In fact, it took 2 days for them to finally go back to normal, and he's never had that problem with beds before.

Each night's stay comes with a free breakfast meal at the cafe that's a hop-skip-and-a-jump away from the room, and the food there was enjoyable as was the staff.

We also did like the patio behind the Back Bay Inn, which had surprisingly comfortable wooden chairs and overlooked the bay just a few yards away.

Unfortunately, due to my husband's aching shoulders and my sensitivity to the cleaning product smell (that would return if the room were closed up too long), we decided that we could not stay another night.

When we went to check out, the manager informed us that we would have to be charged for the second night as it was too late notice to rent it out. That's understandable and fair, as it was spelled out in the terms before we booked the room. Still, losing the night's pay was worth not having to stay in that room again.

They offered to let us try another room, which was very kind of them, but we declined. Eventually, they kindly decided to give us a discounted price on both night's without our asking as their way of apologizing for our inconvenience. They did try their hardest to please us during checkout, but at that point we were ready to head back home.

  • Liked — Office manager and the view.
  • Disliked — Cleaning product smell and uncomfortable beds.
  • Tips/Secrets — Check the room first before settling in. Other rooms may not have the same smell nor beds.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

Once I conquered Mapquest's perverse directions, I was delighted with the Back Bay Inn. Its in a quiet, slightly funky neighborhood studded with artists' studios and populated largely by people who walk their dogs. (Labs, not pit bulls!) The room (101) was not large but as nobody was above, it didn't have any possible noise problems. The view is superb although as one reviewer noted, the bayside is more muddy than sand at low tide. There was a variety of seabirds at all times--not just gulls, but cormorants, pelicans, sandpipers, etc. Halfway between Morro Bay and Montana de Oro State Park, it is perfectly located for an active vacation. . .but don't feel guilty if you just sit on the lawn.
The staff (owners?) were very helpful, such as offering to print out wine country maps etc. and heating up a cup of coffee for me when I arrived late and chilly. It was also pleasant to take breakfast at a "locals' hangout" across the parking lot. I hope to be back next year.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Back Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Bay Inn

Address: 1391 Second Street, Baywood Park, CA 93402
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Baywood Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baywood Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Back Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back Bay Inn located in Los Osos, CA is waterfront hotel with lodging on Morro Bay in the nature preserve community of Baywood Park. Los Osos Surrounded by Montana de Oro State Park, Sweet Springs Bird Sanctuary, Morro Bay State Park, Morro Bay Golf Course and Bird Sanctuary, Los Osos / Baywood Park is the perfect base camp for hiking, bird watching and biking adventures. Enjoy Biking and Hiking trails that follow the rugged Central California Coastline, with views beyond description. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Back Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel Baywood Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.