We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like trailmix - a little good, a little not so good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Back Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added Back Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Back Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1391 Second Street, Baywood Park, CA 93402   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Baywood Park B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's like trailmix - a little good, a little not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

When we arrived the town was quaint and the hotel was privately located right on the water - a perfect start to our romantic weekend getaway. The management was very friendly and welcoming, and Larry walked us to our room personally.

Unfortunately, the room stunk of cleaning products and we had to leave the doors open all night long to help air it out. Considering it was cold (as we were directly on the bay in Sept), this presented quite a dilemma.

We ended up leaving our doors open while we went across the street to eat at the French restaurant (great food, but very loud inside). When we returned, the smell had mostly dissipated.

The rooms themselves were pretty basic -- definitely not a "B&B" but more like a quaint mini-hotel (maybe a step up from a Best Western?).

With the smell mostly gone we were able to close the doors (window open though), and go to sleep. We were on the bottom floor so could easily hear people walking around (as another reviewer has mentioned), but thanks to our trusty earplugs didn't have a problem falling asleep.

In the morning, however, my husband's shoulders brutally ached from the bed being too stiff, and not in a good way. In fact, it took 2 days for them to finally go back to normal, and he's never had that problem with beds before.

Each night's stay comes with a free breakfast meal at the cafe that's a hop-skip-and-a-jump away from the room, and the food there was enjoyable as was the staff.

We also did like the patio behind the Back Bay Inn, which had surprisingly comfortable wooden chairs and overlooked the bay just a few yards away.

Unfortunately, due to my husband's aching shoulders and my sensitivity to the cleaning product smell (that would return if the room were closed up too long), we decided that we could not stay another night.

When we went to check out, the manager informed us that we would have to be charged for the second night as it was too late notice to rent it out. That's understandable and fair, as it was spelled out in the terms before we booked the room. Still, losing the night's pay was worth not having to stay in that room again.

They offered to let us try another room, which was very kind of them, but we declined. Eventually, they kindly decided to give us a discounted price on both night's without our asking as their way of apologizing for our inconvenience. They did try their hardest to please us during checkout, but at that point we were ready to head back home.

  • Liked — Office manager and the view.
  • Disliked — Cleaning product smell and uncomfortable beds.
  • Tips/Secrets — Check the room first before settling in. Other rooms may not have the same smell nor beds.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    32
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
77
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

Once I conquered Mapquest's perverse directions, I was delighted with the Back Bay Inn. Its in a quiet, slightly funky neighborhood studded with artists' studios and populated largely by people who walk their dogs. (Labs, not pit bulls!) The room (101) was not large but as nobody was above, it didn't have any possible noise problems. The view is superb although as one reviewer noted, the bayside is more muddy than sand at low tide. There was a variety of seabirds at all times--not just gulls, but cormorants, pelicans, sandpipers, etc. Halfway between Morro Bay and Montana de Oro State Park, it is perfectly located for an active vacation. . .but don't feel guilty if you just sit on the lawn.
The staff (owners?) were very helpful, such as offering to print out wine country maps etc. and heating up a cup of coffee for me when I arrived late and chilly. It was also pleasant to take breakfast at a "locals' hangout" across the parking lot. I hope to be back next year.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2006

We visited Central CA in August of 2006. Of all the places we stayed during our 2 week trip, the BackBay Inn was our favourite. Everything was perfect! The staff were wonderful, very helpful and always prepared to offer suggestions on what to see in the area. The breakfast was a sweet deal and the evening wine & cheese get togethers a great way to meet fellow guests. The rooms are bright and tastefully furnished. The Inn garden smells amazing!
If our daughter's soccer games take us that way again we'll be sure to make the Back Bay Inn a place we spend a few nights at.
BTW Larry, we got to visit "The Ranch" for dinner but unfortunately Mr E wasn't home. Thanks again!

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

The Back Bay Inn is a tranquil piece of heaven on the central California coast. After researching several inns throughout San Luis Obispo County, I chose the Back Bay Inn as the backdrop to propose to my girlfriend on Labor Day weekend.

I chose Room 14, a spacious upstairs room with a fireplace (very nice feature given the cool central coast nights) and two separate windows overlooking Morro Bay. Although the upstairs room are a few dollars more, it's well worth it.... the view was simply stunning!

Being Labor Day weekend, the Inn was operating at full occumpancy. Yet, we thought we were the only couple on premise....amazingly quiet. In fact, all we heard were the birds and gulls chirping on the bay!

Your stay comes with a complimentary breakfast at the Espresso Cafe, a fantastic little cafe just feet from the Inn's entrace. We loved the convenience and the food was great. We enjoyed watching the locals gather every morning for coffee and breakfast, and many folks kayak over for breakfast, too.

The Papillion Restaurant, located directly across the street from the Inn, was fantastic. Although a bit more pricier than most restaurants in Morro Bay, well worth the convenience.

Los Osos and Baywood Park are rare finds on the growing centraol coast. Unlike Morro Bay and Cayucos, the town maintains a peaceful and quiet atmosphere, yet a short drive to other coastal towns.

Overall, I would rate the Back Bay Inn with an A++.

  • Liked — The views of the Bay!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed here 3 nights during our roadtrip up the CA coast in August. If he were writing this review he'd probably give it an above average rating but since I've stayed at a lot of b&b's and inn's I have to admit I had higher expectations. There are a lot of perks to this place such as the very well-kept gardens, beautiful views, healthy portion-sized free breakfasts and free wine and cheese in the evenings. However, we stayed on the first floor in room 107 (I believe) and it was TINY. When we first walked in the room (and every time after that) there was a strange odor in the room.

I had read other reviews about the noise concerns and they are 100% accurate. We could hear everything going on in the room above us. Luckily, our first two nights the people above us didn't get up too early since this was a romantic getaway for us and we wanted to sleep in. But, the morning of our last night sounded like someone was doing acrobatics upstairs. Thanfully we had planned to hit the road early that morning.

The ladies at the front desk were very nice and gave us a great recommendation for dinner in Monterey which was our next destination, although the girl who worked at the desk when we first checked in was not terribly friendly or helpful.

Be prepared for very cool temps. We were determined to eat breakfast in our little lanai every morning but had to put on lots of layers b/c it was cold. I was a little surprised to discover that not only were the lanai's not very private but there's a community boardwalk right in front of the lanais so people walked by all morning and evening with their pets.

This Inn is in a good location if you're planning to tour the Paso wine country or hit the beach. All in all, we had a wonderful time and it was the romantic trip we had hoped to have so I can't complain.

  • Liked — The views and the grounds
  • Disliked — The thin walls and the size of our room
  • Tips/Secrets — Take time to carefully read the reviews of people who stayed here to decide whether it is right for you.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

We found the Back Bay Inn to be very relaxing and comfortable. It is a wonderful place to get away and just relax. The room decor was very nice and kept up. The flower garden along with the bay view was an added bonus. Should have stayed longer and plan on going back.

Minor issues - a bit of a lingering mildew oder after using the shower (Maybe a bathroom air freshner would help) and the blinds on the lanai doors were dirty/smelly.

The ADA room is a plus. Thank you so much for having this room at your Inn and for thinking about people with disabilities.

Back Bay Inn is a must see. Recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2006

We spent two nights for our anniversary this past week. My husband and I both were very pleased with our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The view of the bay and the surrounding area was like a postcard. The room was clean and comfortable. Glad we took a downstairs room with a patio. So nice for watching the water as well as people walking by. This is a place for friendly people. We will return to this place again.

  • Liked — Location and price.
  • Disliked — Nothing negative!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Back Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Bay Inn

Address: 1391 Second Street, Baywood Park, CA 93402
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Baywood Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baywood Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Back Bay Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back Bay Inn located in Los Osos, CA is waterfront hotel with lodging on Morro Bay in the nature preserve community of Baywood Park. Los Osos Surrounded by Montana de Oro State Park, Sweet Springs Bird Sanctuary, Morro Bay State Park, Morro Bay Golf Course and Bird Sanctuary, Los Osos / Baywood Park is the perfect base camp for hiking, bird watching and biking adventures. Enjoy Biking and Hiking trails that follow the rugged Central California Coastline, with views beyond description. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Back Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel Baywood Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.