We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick your room on line” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Back Bay Inn to your Saves list
Back Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1391 Second Street, Baywood Park, CA 93402   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Baywood Park B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pick your room on line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Choose the room you want on line. The view of the bay is great. We had a 2nd floor room that was very clean,had a gas fireplace, and a small refrigerator. The bathroom was large and clean also. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The grounds were well kept. Very quiet and relaxing. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    36
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
87
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Isabella, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We were visiting relatives in Los Osos and stayed here for the night. What a charming piece of paradise! The rooms were very nice. The view was excellant of the bay. Wonderful fireplace in room. The staff was very pleasant and even accomandated me with batteries for my camera, when my were exhausted. Highly recommend a stay here if going to the central coast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We had a group of seven friends that went on a winery tour of mid-coast CA, and we stayed at the Back Bay Inn for three nights, using that as our jumping off point. Four of us stayed in the Inn's cottage, and the others were in the main inn complex. We had a wonderful time and the hospitality and offerings were perfect for us: complimentary wine and cheese at night, breakfast at the neighboring coffee shop which was EXCELLENT, and views of the bay that were outstanding. The area is very walkable and members of our group were able to get in morning walks along the roads and the beach. There is a nearby bird sanctuary and also views of Morro Rock. It was very peaceful, quiet, and exactly what we were looking for. The cottage has room for four people to sleep (two beds, two futons) and a small kitchen. There is one bathroom so that needs to be worked around, which we did just fine. The inn truly fit the bill for our group.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

If you stay at Back Bay Inn understand this - it is PEACEFUL and EASY (sonds like an Eagles song). Peaceful: The only sounds we hear from our 2nd floor balcony (room 209 - very nice), is the ocean in the distance, birds, and the occasional conversations of people walking by. Easy: you can stroll in any direction and find well prepared dining (Mexican, American & Thai) no more than 30 yards away. The grounds are beautiful, staff very pleasant, and the pace is SLOW. A great place to re-charge!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariège
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Surrounded by gardens full of flowers, little paths in the grass leading to the marina and beach just in front of hotel. Rooms are large, each individually decorated, some with fireplaces, extremely comfortable king size beds, big bathrooms, ground floor rooms open on garden with some chairs to sun in, beautiful views from upstairs rooms, free cheese and wine tasting evenings, quiet location, lovely reception, prices unbelievably low; we just wish we could have stayed longer, but we will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Room 212 is really big with couch and fireplace, window on the ocean. rooms on the ground floor have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We're glad we found the Back Bay Inn after many visits to the Los Osos/Morro Bay area. The rooms in the main building all have very pretty bay views, with lots of good birds to see. Rooms 104 and 115 were both very nice; if you don't want people over you, room 115 (dog-friendly, too) is better. We also stayed in room 102, a suite with a good view if you want more room. The garden view rooms are nicely decorated, but their location is not nearly as nice and only have a view of the parking lot. The free breakfasts at the cafe next door were good (frittatas, eggs and ham or bacon, oatmeal, yogurt, or French toast on the weekend), and the 5-7 P.M. wine and cheese and crackers freebies were a welcome addition (enjoy them from the chairs on your porch or on the property's chairs for a really pleasant sunset). We really enjoyed the 10th Street Grill in Los Osos for an excellent steak and mashed potato dinner; it was by far the best restaurant we've found in the area. You can also get pretty good Thai food right across the street and good Mexican food right next door at the Maya Restaurant.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building (rooms in the 100's and 200'sP) are much nicer than the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is one of the Central Coast's best hotel values. Lovely setting on the bay. Friendly staff. Comfortable rooms. Reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room 1 to 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Back Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Bay Inn

Address: 1391 Second Street, Baywood Park, CA 93402
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Baywood Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baywood Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Back Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back Bay Inn located in Los Osos, CA is waterfront hotel with lodging on Morro Bay in the nature preserve community of Baywood Park. Los Osos Surrounded by Montana de Oro State Park, Sweet Springs Bird Sanctuary, Morro Bay State Park, Morro Bay Golf Course and Bird Sanctuary, Los Osos / Baywood Park is the perfect base camp for hiking, bird watching and biking adventures. Enjoy Biking and Hiking trails that follow the rugged Central California Coastline, with views beyond description. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Back Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Hotel Baywood Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.