We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark Bass Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bass Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
WorldMark Bass Lake
53134 Road 432, Bass Lake, CA 93604 (Formerly North Shore Estates at Bass Lake)   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This resort is small but the service is not small. Very nice 2 bedroom units in a beautiful setting. Some have view of Bass Lake. Thirty minutes from south gate to Yosemite. This is the primary draw of the resort. We spent 5 days in Yosemite. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Easy drive to Oakhurst, CA for groceries and other things you may need. Two very nice Catholic Churches in the area. Nice quiet area for a peaceful vacation seeing some of God's most wonderful work. Also lots of good restaurants in area.

Room Tip: We had A33 close to the lake which has a nice quiet area around it. Only drawback is bath and a half...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldMark W, Worldmark Social Media Team at WorldMark Bass Lake, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the resort location. It’s always great to hear about positive encounters with our friendly staff. We are always happy to help as best we can. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I spent a week here with my brother. We found this location to be handy to the various places we wanted to visit. The accommodations were really nice. The fireplace was my favorite. The lighting in the condo was inadequate but manageable.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldMark W, Worldmark Social Media Team at WorldMark Bass Lake, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us this feedback. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for the maintenance issue you experienced, but we are glad maintenance was able to resolve this quickly. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Bass Lake resort. We knew we would have a bit of a drive to get right into Yosemite Park so were not worried that the resort was not right in the park.
The resort itself was clean, quiet and tidy. We loved the the pool and spa.

John at reception was really helpful. On our arrival he offered us a king bed/queen bed combo which was great for our adult daughter who was travelling with us.

We loved visiting the park, about 20 minutes to the Giant Sequoias and another hour more to Yosemite Valley.

The drive around Bass Lake is beautiful. We hired a boat one afternoon and had a great cruise around the whole lake, with a picnic on a beach. We also saw our first deer.

We were very happy with our visit to this resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We visited Yosemite, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks in California in late May and early June, 2013. As part of our planning we exchanged into the World Mark's timeshare called Bass Lake. While there are some negatives for this location such as it is about 15 mountain miles from Yosemite and it is not actually located on Bass Lake, there are also a number of excellent things about it as well. For one, because it is a World Mark Timeshare, the property is well maintained. It is also spacious. We had a two bedroom, two bath condo/apartment which provided us a great space to enjoy the beautiful mountains. We only had a party of 4, but this could have easily accommodated 6! The kitchen facilities were excellent as well and we enjoyed the outside grill quite a bit. Last but not least was the outstandingly friendly staff which responded to our needs excellently. So while it was a short walk from the property to the lake and it was a 30 minute drive into the park, we would choose this property again when visiting Yosemite National Park as our headquarters. It is a good thing that we visited when we did, as this summer after we returned the area has been hard hit with wildfires including the rim fire which is exactly where we hiked one day at Hetch Hetchy, where we saw a mother bear and her two cubs on the trail to the waterfall.

Room Tip: All are about the same, no particular one is better than another
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long island, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Made an exchange through RCI and used this as our home base while visiting Yosemite. I will fill you in on all the things we didnt know when we got here:
While this is on bass lake, bear in mind there are no chairs, boats, docks or any amenities at the lake. you must supply your own and you cannot see the lake from most units. There is a Von's supermarket in nearby Oakhurst (10 min away) where you can do your food shopping and a smaller, more expensive market in The pines just up the road. There a few places to eat in Oakhurst. El CID was inexpensive, authentic Mexican food where food is smothered in sauce and cheese. The chips and salsa are homemade and yummy. The ice tea and margaritas were very good. As were the fajitas and shrimp special. There is a small place called Todd's that looks like a hole in the wall but don't be deceived, this was some of the best pulled pork and cole slaw I have ever had. Crab cakes is another place where the food was good, service was friendly and desserts were amazing but I'm not so sure it was worth the price. Maybe it was what we ordered but it was the most expensive meal for this trip.

It took us about 20 minutes to get to the southgate of Yosemite, where we made a right to visit Mariposa grove of giant sequoias. A beautiful 2 hr hike(there are shorter trails) I would suggest going early as it gets fairly crowded. That left us the afternoon to relax on bass lake and enjoy a boat rental from bass lake watersports. Make sure you get a discount coupon from the front desk. Bass lake rentals charge a $500 deposit that takes 3 days to fall off credit cards so if you plan on renting over a few days make sure you tell them so they do not tie up additional credit on your cc (like they did to us.) for additional rentals of jetskis etc. The staff at the watersports weren't very friendly or helpful but since there are no lake amenities at the resort this is the closest place. The boats are nice and have a grill on board so you can bring lunch and rent a tube or wakeboard etc.. There is a fairly good restaurant called Duceys right next to watersports where we had a nice meal with a beautiful view. Back to Yosemite, make a left to head to the valley floor. It is about 1/1.5 hours from south entrance depending on who you get behind on the winding roads. We saw a bear up the mountain, coyote and many deer along the way. Make the time to visit glacier point, you won't be disappointed; the view is amazing. There are a few places to purchase food in the park, but I would suggest packing your own as it is the blah fast food type stuff.
There is a nice trail just outside of Yosemite called Lewis trail which has 2 beautiful water falls and you walk along a creek. I would highly suggest you check it out..

All and all the staff here was very nice, the unit was roomy for 6 people and the beds were pretty comfy, even the Murphy bed in living room. There is no housekeeping but you can exchange linens and towels at the main office whenever you like. There is a washer/ dryer in the unit And the kitchen was well stocked. There are 2 pools with hot tubs but not everyone has access to both. There is a grill and small table on each patio. They rent dvds at the office and they have wifi for $15 per week. Otherwise there really aren't many amenities or organized activities at the resort. I would stay here again but not for a full week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here at the end of June 2013, great resort, super staff and very well maintained, super quality and very clean. We were RCI timeshare exchangers and swapped into a 2 bed semi detached 'house', with 2 bedrooms (king and twin), lounge pull down bed, main bathroom and a downstairs wc and sink. The kitchen was fully equipped with large American fridge freezer. There was also a washer and dryer. I understand that some of the units have an ensuite rather than the huge ( and useless to us) walk in closet that we had. If there are more than 2 of you I would recommend requesting a unit with 2.5 baths rather than 1.5 baths for more privacy. For 2 adults we had lots of space, for 4 adults it would be fine, for 6 then I think it could be a bit too snug.

We wanted to use this as a base for Yosemite to keep costs down as accommodation is the park is very expensive and we drove in most days to go hiking. However for those folk wishing to do the same then be aware that whilst the south gate at Mariposa is about 13 miles away, they are very long miles as the road is very winding with lots of twists, as is the road down to Wawona and Yosemite village. So as a rule of thumb it took us 35 minutes to get to the south gate and about 1 hour and 10 minutes to get to the valley floor or to Glacier Point. Areas further north like Tioga and Tuolumne meadows are about 2 and a half hours drive from bass lake.

The staff at the resort are great, really helpful and nothing too much trouble. There is a great pool which you can do laps in and a fantastic huge hot tub which is actually hot- great after a days hiking. Overall we had a great stay, bass lake is a pretty place, seems to be mainly vacation homes and oakhurst is a medium sized town with supermarket etc.

The only slight criticism I would have is as has been mentioned by another reviewer which is that the units have recently been redecorated and they have used very dark colours so the houses are a bit dark, but that is a minor criticism.

In terms of travel then due to flight availability from the UK we flew in and out of Las Vegas- which unless you really want to I would not recommend at all as it is approx 9 hours of solid driving mostly through very hot desert - in June it was 120 degrees - not much fun and Las Vegas is a horribly busy place to drive through. Fresno is the closest airport followed by San Francisco.

One final tip- if you are planning to hike from June to September take bug repellant- we did not and got badly bitten even at 8-10,000 feet, and the mozzies ate through our clothes - did not realise until it was too late. We did some great hikes and would recommend this resort as a base if you can cope with the driving in and out of the park on the winding roads.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The staff is friendly and helpful, the units are clean and include full kitchens. The south entrance to Yosemite with its Mariposa Grove of sequoias is only about 15 miles away, The downside -- the units don't have a lot of windows, and Worldmark has compounded the problem by decorating with dark colors, even to the point of painting some walls nearly black. Our first impression was of a very gloomy unit. As we used it, we learned to like it better, but we still curse the decorator who put fashion over function.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WorldMark Bass Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Bass Lake

Address: 53134 Road 432, Bass Lake, CA 93604 (Formerly North Shore Estates at Bass Lake)
Location: United States > California > Bass Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Bass Lake
Also Known As:
Worldmark Bass Lake Hotel Bass Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WorldMark Bass Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added WorldMark Bass Lake to your Saves list