We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base Location for Yosemite National Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark Bass Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bass Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
WorldMark Bass Lake
Save Saved
You added WorldMark Bass Lake to your Saves list
53134 Road 432, Bass Lake, CA 93604 (Formerly North Shore Estates at Bass Lake)   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great Base Location for Yosemite National Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We visited Yosemite, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks in California in late May and early June, 2013. As part of our planning we exchanged into the World Mark's timeshare called Bass Lake. While there are some negatives for this location such as it is about 15 mountain miles from Yosemite and it is not actually located on Bass Lake, there are also a number of excellent things about it as well. For one, because it is a World Mark Timeshare, the property is well maintained. It is also spacious. We had a two bedroom, two bath condo/apartment which provided us a great space to enjoy the beautiful mountains. We only had a party of 4, but this could have easily accommodated 6! The kitchen facilities were excellent as well and we enjoyed the outside grill quite a bit. Last but not least was the outstandingly friendly staff which responded to our needs excellently. So while it was a short walk from the property to the lake and it was a 30 minute drive into the park, we would choose this property again when visiting Yosemite National Park as our headquarters. It is a good thing that we visited when we did, as this summer after we returned the area has been hard hit with wildfires including the rim fire which is exactly where we hiked one day at Hetch Hetchy, where we saw a mother bear and her two cubs on the trail to the waterfall.

Room Tip: All are about the same, no particular one is better than another
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long island, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Made an exchange through RCI and used this as our home base while visiting Yosemite. I will fill you in on all the things we didnt know when we got here:
While this is on bass lake, bear in mind there are no chairs, boats, docks or any amenities at the lake. you must supply your own and you cannot see the lake from most units. There is a Von's supermarket in nearby Oakhurst (10 min away) where you can do your food shopping and a smaller, more expensive market in The pines just up the road. There a few places to eat in Oakhurst. El CID was inexpensive, authentic Mexican food where food is smothered in sauce and cheese. The chips and salsa are homemade and yummy. The ice tea and margaritas were very good. As were the fajitas and shrimp special. There is a small place called Todd's that looks like a hole in the wall but don't be deceived, this was some of the best pulled pork and cole slaw I have ever had. Crab cakes is another place where the food was good, service was friendly and desserts were amazing but I'm not so sure it was worth the price. Maybe it was what we ordered but it was the most expensive meal for this trip.

It took us about 20 minutes to get to the southgate of Yosemite, where we made a right to visit Mariposa grove of giant sequoias. A beautiful 2 hr hike(there are shorter trails) I would suggest going early as it gets fairly crowded. That left us the afternoon to relax on bass lake and enjoy a boat rental from bass lake watersports. Make sure you get a discount coupon from the front desk. Bass lake rentals charge a $500 deposit that takes 3 days to fall off credit cards so if you plan on renting over a few days make sure you tell them so they do not tie up additional credit on your cc (like they did to us.) for additional rentals of jetskis etc. The staff at the watersports weren't very friendly or helpful but since there are no lake amenities at the resort this is the closest place. The boats are nice and have a grill on board so you can bring lunch and rent a tube or wakeboard etc.. There is a fairly good restaurant called Duceys right next to watersports where we had a nice meal with a beautiful view. Back to Yosemite, make a left to head to the valley floor. It is about 1/1.5 hours from south entrance depending on who you get behind on the winding roads. We saw a bear up the mountain, coyote and many deer along the way. Make the time to visit glacier point, you won't be disappointed; the view is amazing. There are a few places to purchase food in the park, but I would suggest packing your own as it is the blah fast food type stuff.
There is a nice trail just outside of Yosemite called Lewis trail which has 2 beautiful water falls and you walk along a creek. I would highly suggest you check it out..

All and all the staff here was very nice, the unit was roomy for 6 people and the beds were pretty comfy, even the Murphy bed in living room. There is no housekeeping but you can exchange linens and towels at the main office whenever you like. There is a washer/ dryer in the unit And the kitchen was well stocked. There are 2 pools with hot tubs but not everyone has access to both. There is a grill and small table on each patio. They rent dvds at the office and they have wifi for $15 per week. Otherwise there really aren't many amenities or organized activities at the resort. I would stay here again but not for a full week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here at the end of June 2013, great resort, super staff and very well maintained, super quality and very clean. We were RCI timeshare exchangers and swapped into a 2 bed semi detached 'house', with 2 bedrooms (king and twin), lounge pull down bed, main bathroom and a downstairs wc and sink. The kitchen was fully equipped with large American fridge freezer. There was also a washer and dryer. I understand that some of the units have an ensuite rather than the huge ( and useless to us) walk in closet that we had. If there are more than 2 of you I would recommend requesting a unit with 2.5 baths rather than 1.5 baths for more privacy. For 2 adults we had lots of space, for 4 adults it would be fine, for 6 then I think it could be a bit too snug.

We wanted to use this as a base for Yosemite to keep costs down as accommodation is the park is very expensive and we drove in most days to go hiking. However for those folk wishing to do the same then be aware that whilst the south gate at Mariposa is about 13 miles away, they are very long miles as the road is very winding with lots of twists, as is the road down to Wawona and Yosemite village. So as a rule of thumb it took us 35 minutes to get to the south gate and about 1 hour and 10 minutes to get to the valley floor or to Glacier Point. Areas further north like Tioga and Tuolumne meadows are about 2 and a half hours drive from bass lake.

The staff at the resort are great, really helpful and nothing too much trouble. There is a great pool which you can do laps in and a fantastic huge hot tub which is actually hot- great after a days hiking. Overall we had a great stay, bass lake is a pretty place, seems to be mainly vacation homes and oakhurst is a medium sized town with supermarket etc.

The only slight criticism I would have is as has been mentioned by another reviewer which is that the units have recently been redecorated and they have used very dark colours so the houses are a bit dark, but that is a minor criticism.

In terms of travel then due to flight availability from the UK we flew in and out of Las Vegas- which unless you really want to I would not recommend at all as it is approx 9 hours of solid driving mostly through very hot desert - in June it was 120 degrees - not much fun and Las Vegas is a horribly busy place to drive through. Fresno is the closest airport followed by San Francisco.

One final tip- if you are planning to hike from June to September take bug repellant- we did not and got badly bitten even at 8-10,000 feet, and the mozzies ate through our clothes - did not realise until it was too late. We did some great hikes and would recommend this resort as a base if you can cope with the driving in and out of the park on the winding roads.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The staff is friendly and helpful, the units are clean and include full kitchens. The south entrance to Yosemite with its Mariposa Grove of sequoias is only about 15 miles away, The downside -- the units don't have a lot of windows, and Worldmark has compounded the problem by decorating with dark colors, even to the point of painting some walls nearly black. Our first impression was of a very gloomy unit. As we used it, we learned to like it better, but we still curse the decorator who put fashion over function.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

After long days of hiking in the Park, we looked forward to some much needed sleep. There was nothing comfortable about the beds nor the "down" pillows in the condos at this WorldMark. I've slept on a padded cot that was much more cozy and my own fluffy pillow to accompany. Eek.

Despite the uncomfortable sleeping arrangements, the condo was very nice. Clean. Roomy for the 4 in our group. Kitchen was adequately stocked with dishes, cooking utensils, large fridge, spacious sing, a small table, and also packets of spices. The washing machine was a touch loud but worked fine, as well as the dryer. TV had plenty of channels to chose from. There was a small patio out back with plastic deck furniture and a full sized BBQ grill.

The front desk staff was always helpful with our questions about the area and also about Yosemite. We used the pool and hot tub a few times. We also borrowed the fire pit for roasting marshmallows one evening.

Our condo was mixed in with a residential area and closed off from the gated area of the rest of the resort, kind of odd. So you had to walk up a short hill to get to an entrance to the resort.

We've stayed at other WorldMark and Wyndham properties that I gave a better than average rating. Although a nice place to stay, and we'd stay here again equipped with plenty of pillows, it wasn't anything out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: Condo seemed quieter, located outside the gated area of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We traded a time-share week for this property to use as a base for visiting Yosemite. It's about a half hour drive to the south gate and a bit more than an hour to the valley floor.

We stayed in a two bedroom unit that was next door to the main resort amid some full-time residence properties. The unit was spotless and comfortable and well maintained.

The staff was very friendly and knowledgable and were always willing to answer our questions about the best places to visit, eat and hike.

We enjoyed it and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room, A21, had a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvin, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We used our timeshare to book this stay. It was a two bedroom townhouse. We had 4 children (4, 3, 2 and 2). The living room was adequate and bedrooms were plenty of space. The playground was nice. The gate connecting the two area was locked most of our stay (Christmas). There was not a midweek cleaning. If you needed something (dishwasher detergent, towels, trash bags, etc... you had to walk to the front desk. They did not deliver anything. This fact made service terrible at best. We have been using our RCI timeshare for 7 years and never had this happen. The resort was close to Bass Lake although it was on the outskirts of "town".

Room Tip: Service is not up to par.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WorldMark Bass Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Bass Lake

Address: 53134 Road 432, Bass Lake, CA 93604 (Formerly North Shore Estates at Bass Lake)
Location: United States > California > Bass Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Bass Lake
Also Known As:
Worldmark Bass Lake Hotel Bass Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WorldMark Bass Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.