We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark Bass Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added WorldMark Bass Lake to your Saves list
WorldMark Bass Lake
53134 Road 432, Bass Lake, CA 93604 (Formerly North Shore Estates at Bass Lake)   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here at the end of June 2013, great resort, super staff and very well maintained, super quality and very clean. We were RCI timeshare exchangers and swapped into a 2 bed semi detached 'house', with 2 bedrooms (king and twin), lounge pull down bed, main bathroom and a downstairs wc and sink. The kitchen was fully equipped with large American fridge freezer. There was also a washer and dryer. I understand that some of the units have an ensuite rather than the huge ( and useless to us) walk in closet that we had. If there are more than 2 of you I would recommend requesting a unit with 2.5 baths rather than 1.5 baths for more privacy. For 2 adults we had lots of space, for 4 adults it would be fine, for 6 then I think it could be a bit too snug.

We wanted to use this as a base for Yosemite to keep costs down as accommodation is the park is very expensive and we drove in most days to go hiking. However for those folk wishing to do the same then be aware that whilst the south gate at Mariposa is about 13 miles away, they are very long miles as the road is very winding with lots of twists, as is the road down to Wawona and Yosemite village. So as a rule of thumb it took us 35 minutes to get to the south gate and about 1 hour and 10 minutes to get to the valley floor or to Glacier Point. Areas further north like Tioga and Tuolumne meadows are about 2 and a half hours drive from bass lake.

The staff at the resort are great, really helpful and nothing too much trouble. There is a great pool which you can do laps in and a fantastic huge hot tub which is actually hot- great after a days hiking. Overall we had a great stay, bass lake is a pretty place, seems to be mainly vacation homes and oakhurst is a medium sized town with supermarket etc.

The only slight criticism I would have is as has been mentioned by another reviewer which is that the units have recently been redecorated and they have used very dark colours so the houses are a bit dark, but that is a minor criticism.

In terms of travel then due to flight availability from the UK we flew in and out of Las Vegas- which unless you really want to I would not recommend at all as it is approx 9 hours of solid driving mostly through very hot desert - in June it was 120 degrees - not much fun and Las Vegas is a horribly busy place to drive through. Fresno is the closest airport followed by San Francisco.

One final tip- if you are planning to hike from June to September take bug repellant- we did not and got badly bitten even at 8-10,000 feet, and the mozzies ate through our clothes - did not realise until it was too late. We did some great hikes and would recommend this resort as a base if you can cope with the driving in and out of the park on the winding roads.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The staff is friendly and helpful, the units are clean and include full kitchens. The south entrance to Yosemite with its Mariposa Grove of sequoias is only about 15 miles away, The downside -- the units don't have a lot of windows, and Worldmark has compounded the problem by decorating with dark colors, even to the point of painting some walls nearly black. Our first impression was of a very gloomy unit. As we used it, we learned to like it better, but we still curse the decorator who put fashion over function.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

After long days of hiking in the Park, we looked forward to some much needed sleep. There was nothing comfortable about the beds nor the "down" pillows in the condos at this WorldMark. I've slept on a padded cot that was much more cozy and my own fluffy pillow to accompany. Eek.

Despite the uncomfortable sleeping arrangements, the condo was very nice. Clean. Roomy for the 4 in our group. Kitchen was adequately stocked with dishes, cooking utensils, large fridge, spacious sing, a small table, and also packets of spices. The washing machine was a touch loud but worked fine, as well as the dryer. TV had plenty of channels to chose from. There was a small patio out back with plastic deck furniture and a full sized BBQ grill.

The front desk staff was always helpful with our questions about the area and also about Yosemite. We used the pool and hot tub a few times. We also borrowed the fire pit for roasting marshmallows one evening.

Our condo was mixed in with a residential area and closed off from the gated area of the rest of the resort, kind of odd. So you had to walk up a short hill to get to an entrance to the resort.

We've stayed at other WorldMark and Wyndham properties that I gave a better than average rating. Although a nice place to stay, and we'd stay here again equipped with plenty of pillows, it wasn't anything out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: Condo seemed quieter, located outside the gated area of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We traded a time-share week for this property to use as a base for visiting Yosemite. It's about a half hour drive to the south gate and a bit more than an hour to the valley floor.

We stayed in a two bedroom unit that was next door to the main resort amid some full-time residence properties. The unit was spotless and comfortable and well maintained.

The staff was very friendly and knowledgable and were always willing to answer our questions about the best places to visit, eat and hike.

We enjoyed it and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room, A21, had a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvin, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We used our timeshare to book this stay. It was a two bedroom townhouse. We had 4 children (4, 3, 2 and 2). The living room was adequate and bedrooms were plenty of space. The playground was nice. The gate connecting the two area was locked most of our stay (Christmas). There was not a midweek cleaning. If you needed something (dishwasher detergent, towels, trash bags, etc... you had to walk to the front desk. They did not deliver anything. This fact made service terrible at best. We have been using our RCI timeshare for 7 years and never had this happen. The resort was close to Bass Lake although it was on the outskirts of "town".

Room Tip: Service is not up to par.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We used one of our weeks through an RCI exchange and stayed here for one week. It was in close proximety to Yosemite. We did alot of day trips, that included hiking and taking alot of photos of the beautiful area.

Room Tip: If you do an exchange through RCI at this resort, then you are in the buildings in a different area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpe
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The "resort" is small which is fine. But there is no view to the lake at all and neither is its surrounding very attractive. The house we stayed is very well-maintained and equipped but the location of it which is close to the large garbage bins is bad. There are tons of resort or lodges around the lake. I would not strongly recommend it simply because of the good maintenance. I did not know the rate of the accommodation because my friend paid for us. So I would suggest make some comparisons in terms of views, surroundings, rates before booking here.

Room Tip: Remember not to have a house near the garbage bins
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to WorldMark Bass Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Bass Lake

Address: 53134 Road 432, Bass Lake, CA 93604 (Formerly North Shore Estates at Bass Lake)
Location: United States > California > Bass Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Bass Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your WorldMark Bass Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark Bass Lake Hotel Bass Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WorldMark Bass Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.