We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden get-away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pines Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Pines Resort to your Saves list
The Pines Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   54432 Road 432, Bass Lake, CA 93604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hidden get-away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Pines Resort at Bass Lake was great! I would go again anytime of year!!!
My boyfriend and I found a great deal on LivingSocial and went for it. It was a great get away. The resort was way better than we expected. The appliances were a little dated but the size of the cabin, views and setting made up for it. The room we had came w/ a full kitchen. The resort is 19 miles south of the Yosemite park entrance. About a 45 min drive due to some mountain switch backs. This was not a scary drive.
Pros:
Versatile- great for couples, groups of friends and quaint for families.
Rooms are mostly 2 story cabins with a loft (great for kids to explore) can sleep up to 6 if you get the loft beds. Larger cabins are available and a hotel style building with more room.
Food- Ducey's on the Lake has tasty food. But if you are on a budget like me I cant afford to eat there every night. BUT worth a visit and the service is so friendly. There is a really good pizza joint next door (Excellent pizza) and a local general store. Bring your own liquor if you plan to drink (There is also a small bar. I did not visit though because I was too tired from hiking in Yosemite)
CONS:
The kitchen in the cabin came with dishes and silver wear but no sponge to wash them.
There is wifi but being in the mountains makes the receptions cut in and out. But you aren't there to check emails anyway.
Cell phone reception is bad. But it's bad in the park as well. Blame it on the mountains.
The small town and lake have been hit a little harder with the poor economy and warm weather. Water levels are low and there are not a lot of shops.

I think the PROS out weigh the CONS by far!
If you are looking for a cute, fun, cozy place to stay just outside Yosemite CA I would recommend Pines Resort all the way!

Room Tip: I stayed in cabin 110 Cottontail Lodge towards the back. Great views of the all trees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you took advantage of the Living Social deal, and that you enjoyed your stay so much! We hope to see you again!
Thank you,
Charity Bona,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    60
    48
    31
    32
See reviews for
126
90
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Elsinore, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Thanksgiving at Pines was great stayed 2 nights, resort rooms were nice. The hotel is older but very well kept up. not a lot of activities in the fall, and the town is very tiny. Yosemite is an hours drive and other little towns are very close for exploring. Very very quiet in the Fall so bring a book and just relax.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review of The Pines Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay during the peaceful Fall season, and we hope to see you again soon!
Thank you,
Charity Bona,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My fiancé and I arrived at about 7pm on the night we were staying. When we checked in the lady was a little rude. By the time we had checked in we asked where we could get dinner (we had been at Yosemite all day). They told us that everything the resort offered was closed but there was a mexican place down the road. Unfortunately that had closed early too, so we ended up having to drive to Oakhurst just to get some food! The chalet we stayed in was nice. My fiancé and I definitely liked it but we are not picky at all. The small fire was great as it was snowing, it would have been good to have been provided with the wood but we didn't mind buying it. Overall I did enjoy our stay (Even though it was very short). I would love to see what the place was like in summer and would recommend it to other couples.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your honest review of The Pines Resort. While I am very pleased that you liked your chalet, I do greatly apologize that you felt your check in agent was not polite. Customer service is the most important amenity we can offer, and we are always enforcing this with our staff. Please rest assured that we are working with all of our staff to improve the level of customer service to the absolute highest standard, and I will be researching your stay and speaking with the employee involved. Please feel free to contact me directly should you have any questions.
Thank you,
Charity Bona
559-692-8842
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Pines Resort is a great place to stay and enjoy the surroundings of Bass Lake. Close to Yosemite, it is only about 30 minutes from the southern gate. Food is great at the restaurant (I had the patty melt).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind review of The Pines Resort! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we truly hope to see you again soon!
Charity Bona,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viterbo, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here just one night during ours honeymoon, but we loved the place. Warm, clen and comfortable wood cottage. We liked so much the accomodatione that we choose not to eat at the restaurant, but to order take away food and eat it in the nice living room in front of the wonderful forest overlook outside the balcony window. Very romantic!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Pines Resort! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay during your honeymoon, and we hope that you will return again in the future!
Thank you,
Charity Bona
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our daughter purchased our weekend getaway from Living Social and we had a fabulous time. We stayed the end of October, Sunday through Tuesday. This is their off season and despite everything else being closed around the lake the upside was there were NO crowds which was what made this a wonderful experience.

The hotel staff was very friendly, kind and cheerful and the accomodations were outstanding. The rooms were clean and the view from our balcony, forest view, were so peaceful. We ate in both restaurants while we were there and the food and service were great!

I would definitely return for a weekend getaway in the Fall! Thank you for making our long overdue getaway such a pleasant experience and great memory!

Room Tip: The forest view chalet is private and the view is so peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Our Living Social promotion was quite popular and we are so happy you took advantage of this great deal! We hope to see you again, and thank you for your kind words!
Charity Bona, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We just spent this past Friday night in a suite. The first suite we were assigned had a coke can on the balcony which had been used as an ashtray, crumbs all in the fridge, hair on the hair dryer & sink & toilet tissue in the toilet. My husband complained and they moved us. The next suite was better BUT they really need to change their sofas. They are dark green & really show spots which looked like well I'll just say they were white - we sat on towels over the couch:( It could be very nice - either they need to update or lower their prices!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your honest review of The Pines Resort. We appreciate hearing your feedback regarding the improvements needed in our suites. Please know that we are already in the process of replacing the furniture in the sitting area of each of our suites. I encourage you to return to our beautiful lakeside resort once our upgrades are complete in the suites and I promise you will be greatly pleased.
Thank you,
Charity Bona, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Resort

Address: 54432 Road 432, Bass Lake, CA 93604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bass Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Resort Bass Lake
Pines Hotel Bass Lake
Bass Lake Pine Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.