We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Enjoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pines Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Pines Resort to your Saves list
The Pines Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   54432 Road 432, Bass Lake, CA 93604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
Coarsegold, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Pines Resort is a great place to stay and enjoy the surroundings of Bass Lake. Close to Yosemite, it is only about 30 minutes from the southern gate. Food is great at the restaurant (I had the patty melt).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind review of The Pines Resort! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we truly hope to see you again soon!
Charity Bona,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    71
    55
    32
    36
See reviews for
134
103
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Viterbo, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here just one night during ours honeymoon, but we loved the place. Warm, clen and comfortable wood cottage. We liked so much the accomodatione that we choose not to eat at the restaurant, but to order take away food and eat it in the nice living room in front of the wonderful forest overlook outside the balcony window. Very romantic!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Pines Resort! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay during your honeymoon, and we hope that you will return again in the future!
Thank you,
Charity Bona
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our daughter purchased our weekend getaway from Living Social and we had a fabulous time. We stayed the end of October, Sunday through Tuesday. This is their off season and despite everything else being closed around the lake the upside was there were NO crowds which was what made this a wonderful experience.

The hotel staff was very friendly, kind and cheerful and the accomodations were outstanding. The rooms were clean and the view from our balcony, forest view, were so peaceful. We ate in both restaurants while we were there and the food and service were great!

I would definitely return for a weekend getaway in the Fall! Thank you for making our long overdue getaway such a pleasant experience and great memory!

Room Tip: The forest view chalet is private and the view is so peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Our Living Social promotion was quite popular and we are so happy you took advantage of this great deal! We hope to see you again, and thank you for your kind words!
Charity Bona, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We just spent this past Friday night in a suite. The first suite we were assigned had a coke can on the balcony which had been used as an ashtray, crumbs all in the fridge, hair on the hair dryer & sink & toilet tissue in the toilet. My husband complained and they moved us. The next suite was better BUT they really need to change their sofas. They are dark green & really show spots which looked like well I'll just say they were white - we sat on towels over the couch:( It could be very nice - either they need to update or lower their prices!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your honest review of The Pines Resort. We appreciate hearing your feedback regarding the improvements needed in our suites. Please know that we are already in the process of replacing the furniture in the sitting area of each of our suites. I encourage you to return to our beautiful lakeside resort once our upgrades are complete in the suites and I promise you will be greatly pleased.
Thank you,
Charity Bona, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keithville, Louisiana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We booked a king suite with a jacuzzi. The room was beautifully laid out with a nice balcony view of the lake. However, the unit had the following problems. The air conditioner did not work and we requested a repairman immediately. The maintenance man came and got it running. We continued to have problems with this unit. The phone did not work. The jacuzzi came on and off without using the controls. The ceiling fan came off and on. The lights came off and on throughout the night. We reported the problems to the front desk and were told we would get a refund. The refund was $2.39 for a room that cost $160.00 per night. This room was like an expensive car without the motor.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, go to World Mark instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Response
Thank you for your honest review of The Pines Resort. We are always searching for ways to improve our accommodations and hearing from guests like you is the best place to start. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in one of our Lakefront Spa Suites. Our maintenance men work very hard and I know they must have done everything possible to correct the problem with your AC Unit, I apologize that it sounds like they were unsuccessful. I would love to have a chance to speak with you personally regarding your stay so that I can make it right. Please feel free to contact me at 559-692-8842 or cmonahan@basslake.com. I look forward to hearing from you and I hope that I can resolve this situation to your satisfaction.
Thank you,
Charity Bona,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed one night before heading to Yosemite the night before. Front desk staff were very helpful. We stayed in a chalet which was very dated and the bed was so close to the dresser you could fit through but barely. The carpet was a little sticky (my mistake for not bringing a pair of flip flops to wear around) and old. Saving grace was comfy bed and great water pressure in the shower.

We couldn't eat dinner at Ducey's. We arrived at 7:45P and it was a 30 minute wait and the restaurant closed at 9:00P (really?). However, we did eat breakfast and the food and service was very good.

Don't think we'd stay here again. Not to mention, our chalet was pretty pricey in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of The Pines Resort. We are always looking for ways to improve and the best way to do this is hearing the feedback of our guests. We are in the process of replacing the carpets for the reason you mentioned. The beds have recently been replaced and we are pleased to hear that their comfort exceeded your expectations. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future to see all the improvements we are currently making and plan to make in the future.
Thank you,
Charity Bona,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My daughter was married at The Pines Resort at Bass Lake last weekend. The natural beauty of the lake makes for an unmatched background for a one in a lifetime event. There are suites, as well as, chalets which give guests of all ages and families the flexibility to stay in one location. The accommodations were great. The suites being more upscale, yet still affordable. The chalets being a bit more rustic, sleeping 6-8 people. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Jessica, our wedding coordinator, was not only extremely efficient, but very enjoyable and knowledgable to work with. She bent over backwards to insure that the wedding was exactly what we envisioned. Jessica's organizational skills made our special day run as smoothly as possible. The chef, Jonathan, served a wonderful meal, which all of the guests raved about for days. I highly recommend this location for any type of group event you might be planning.

Room Tip: If you want an upscale room, book a suite. If you have a tighter budget, the chalet will work well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charity B, Guest Relations Manager at The Pines Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at The Pines Resort. It is our goal to make every wedding and special event a wonderful memory to last a lifetime, and it seems we acomplished our goal. We will pass on your kind words to Jessica, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Thank you,
Charity Bona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Resort

Address: 54432 Road 432, Bass Lake, CA 93604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bass Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bass Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Resort Bass Lake
Pines Hotel Bass Lake
Bass Lake Pine Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.