We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't wait to leave...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn Banning

Country Inn Banning
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn Banning to your Saves list
Country Inn Banning
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   932 E. Ramsey Street, Banning, CA 92220-5922   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Banning
1 review
“can't wait to leave...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010 via mobile

horrible customer service, the couple didn't know how to smile, as if we owe them money!! $150 deposit, xtra charge for one more person. i stayed over nite and couldn't wait to get out, won't go there ever again...

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryinn-manager, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn Banning, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Hello and thank you for choosing Country Inn Banning. It is unfortunate that you could not wait to leave our hotel. We are sorry or any inconvience that arose durning your stay. It is the hotels policy to take a room deposit for any room or hotel incidentals durning a guests stay and there is no exceptions to the deposit policy.

As for your additional person charge, you were charged because the room rate that you booked and paid for was for two people only. The hotel does not have hidden charges. The charges are stated on the receipt you read and signed and which a copy of the same receipt was given to you.

We are sorry that you had a bad experience and do hope that we have the opportunity in the future to make it a better experience for you.

thank you
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    1
    3
    10
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

The couple running this place have no personality at all, plus they look like they just rolled out of bed. Piece of advice, If you are going to wear a T-shirt to work (which i don't recommend), at least make sure it doesn't look like you soaked up an spill with it.....I didn't have any soap and if i did it was to small to find. "No wash cloth", lucky i had my own.....also the county office and liquor store make for a really uncomfortable stay....i did not want to leave my belongings in the room...bottom line, " DON"T STAY HERE"...unless you have some protection...(and i don't mean a condom).....oh one more thing....they charge a deposit to hold your room but they won't apply the deposit to the room charge so be pre-pared to have them hold it for a couple of days....Continental breakfast?? they looked at me like that was a joke when i asked

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix az
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

We had a large group and no one got any sleep. The doors do not close completely so the semi trucks and trains were heard all night. We all had to ask for toilet paper.
The soap was the size of a quarter... The Hampton Inn 4 mi away is slightly more money but you do not hear any noise and they are just off the freeway also but
not blocks from the railroad crossing. The website is totally deceiving. The hotel is across from the welfare dept and next to a liquor store....not a great location by any means. Stay away from this hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

A very unpleasant experience at the Country Inn in Banning, CA....
Other than being in an extremely noisy location, I have no complaints about the accommodations themselves. But...!

I bid for a room in Banning through Priceline. Got a room at the Country Inn.
When I arrived to check in, I was told that I had ordered a smoking room. I said that this was impossible, for two reasons - 1) I am a non-smoker. 2) Priceline does not allow people to choose smoking or non-smoking when they bid. The manager insisted that I had ordered a smoking room, and it would cost me $20 to up-grade to a non-smoking room.
I called Priceline's help line, and they very kindly called the hotel to back me up in the impossibility of my ordering a smoking room through them.
Then the manager changed his tune. I was told that they only release their less-desirable smoking rooms to low bids on Priceline. It would still cost me $20 to get a non-smoking room.

To me, this is classic bait-and-switch. I don't think Priceline, nor the people who use Priceline, would appreciate this sort of rigging the system.
To be blunt, I feel there was lying and cheating going on. I know that I was lied to about ordering a smoking room.

That same evening I called the hotel in Palm Springs where I would be staying the next night. They assured me that a non-smoking room would be available at no extra charge. I paid the same amount for a non-smoking room in Palm Springs, also bid for through Priceline, as I paid for the smoking room at the Country Inn in Banning.

This is a long story, but it was a very upsetting experience. At no time was there any apology for the inconvenience, or possible health consequences of sleeping in a smoking room. I could like it or lump it.
For these reasons - dishonesty, greed, and discourtesy - I would strongly recommend that people avoid the Country Inn in Banning, CA, and avoid bidding for rooms in Banning through Priceline, lest you go through what I did.

  • Liked — Clean room
  • Disliked — Rude management
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryinn-manager, Manager at Country Inn Banning, responded to this review, July 24, 2008
Hello Pilgrim4Art
Thank you for staying at the Country Inn and appreciate that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel room. We apologize for your unpleasant experience at the Country Inn; however we would like to respond to your complaints regarding your stay at the hotel.
As much as we would love to have the freeway moved, the hotel’s website does describe that the hotel is located directly off Interstate 10 and therefore guest may be able to hear the traffic noise. The hotel was completely renovated at the end of 2003 and during renovation; steps were taken to reduce noise heard in the rooms, from the I10 and train.
As for the misunderstanding with the room type, when a guest reserves a room with Priceline, they have 2 options of making their reservation.
Reserve a room that has a pre set rate, this means that the hotel has set a certain rate for a certain room type for a certain number of guests and this rate changes for different room types or changes based on the number of guest in the room. Example a room with a standard king bed smoking for 2 guest may cost $50 plus tax per a night, where as a room with 2 queen beds smoking for 2 guests may cost $70 plus tax per a night (if there were 4 guests in that same room, with 2 queen beds smoking, the price would now be $100 plus tax per a night). This way of reserving a room allows a guest to confirm the type of room he/she may need, based on personal preference such as smoking or non smoking – 1 bed or 2 beds. The hotel will guarantee the guest receives the room type that they reserved
OR 2- name your own price , this means that a guest bids for a room not knowing the type of room that he/she may be reserving. The only thing guaranteed by this way of reserving a room on Priceline is that the room will accommodate up to 2 adults only. The room may be smoking or non smoking – 1 bed or 2 beds (the room type varies by hotel and therefore Priceline advises the guest to call the hotel directly to guarantee personal preference such as smoking or non smoking – 1 bed or 2 beds). All Priceline’s polices are stated clearly on their website for a guest to read before a guest can confirm his/her reservation.
You mentioned in your review that you had bid for a room on Priceline and that you did not have the option of choosing your room type, hotel record show that we did not receive any enquires from you, regarding the room type or any special requests such as smoking or non smoking – 1 bed or 2 beds; had the hotel received any enquires, you would have been informed that the room reserved for you by Priceline, was a smoking room with 2queen beds. A staff member would have also informed you that there was an additional charge for a no smoking room.
At check in, the Priceline associate that spoke to you from Priceline’s help line should not have said that you were guaranteed a non smoking room, as in Priceline’s polices it states that there is no guarantee on the room type also as you stated in your review that Priceline does not give you the option of choosing your desired room type.
Country Inn has different room types like other hotels; the non smoking bedrooms are larger in size than the smoking bedrooms and are marketed at different a price, that is why you were asked to pay an additional fee. Country Inn has more smoking bedrooms and these are released to Priceline’s name your own price program at discounted rates. All the rooms at Country Inn have the same amenities and bedding so there are no such rooms as “less-desirable smoking rooms”
The hotel staff does not use “bait –and- switch “ tactics on guests. Our records show that the front desk staff explained the reason for the fee to you, as well as printed a copy of Priceline’s polices to show you that Priceline did not guarantee room type as well as apologized to you for the misunderstanding with your reservation. Also noted on our records was that, you were offered a non smoking at an additional cost, but you refused to pay the fee for this room.
Again, I apologize if there was a misunderstanding with the explanation with your reservation; however the staff at Country Inn tried to help you as best they could.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

We stayed here for one night on a road trip.Read the reviews,which sounded ok. However the trains seemed to be about every 30 minutes and the freeway sounded like it went right through the room.

The room is very adequate for a one night stay, but I would never stay here again just because of the noise factor

  • Liked — fridge in room
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryinn-manager, Manager at Country Inn Banning, responded to this review, July 8, 2008
Hello jekekVancouverIsand

Thank you for staying at Country Inn and we are happy to hear that you appreciate that all our rooms have microwaves and fridge in them. We would like to apologize for the train and freeway noise.

Our hotel website does state that the hotel is located directly off the freeway and although the hotel has taken precautions to reduce the noise, guests may sometimes hear this noise when the freeway is very busy.

As for the train noise, under the 1994 law of the Federal Railroad Administration, train engineers are required to sound each train’s horn while approaching and entering upon any public highway-rail grade crossing. The sounding of locomotive horns or whistles trains approach highway-rail grade crossings has been used as a safety precaution by railroads since the late 1800’s.

Unfortunately, the silencing of locomotive horns greatly increases the safety
Hazard to vehicles and pedestrians at grade crossings. Therefore, all trains driving
through Banning’s many intersections have been mandated to comply with this
Law. The front desk now provides complimentary earplugs upon request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

We stayed at this hotel because we were going to Morongo Casino and needed a room for one night. The lady at the front desk was nice and accomodated room requests from us and another couple that went with us. The room was a good size, nice, clean, and served our needs. It had one Queen sized bed, a fridge, and microwave. No complaints here about anything. There is a train somewhere near by that you may hear go by now and then, but if you sleep with the TV on you don't even notice.
We called a cab to get to Morongo which was about 5 miles away and cost $15.
The hotel offered a complimentary continental breakfast and is located next to a liquor store. It was interesting to see people riding on horseback to the store. : ) Amusing. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel. Instead we drove a few miles opposite Morongo on Ramsey Street to Gramma's Country Kitchen restaurant. Awesome breakfast! I will go back some day.

  • Liked — Price, Location, Room Size, Microwave, Refrigerator
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryinn-manager, Manager at Country Inn Banning, responded to this review, July 8, 2008
Hello TravelingRN

It was wonderful to hear back from you and thank you for staying at Country Inn.
The hotel now provides free wireless internet and are in the process of renovations. We hope you will like and enjoy our improvements on your next visit, as much as you enjoyed your last stay.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

We arrived a few minutes after 4:00p the check in time given when reservations were made. there was 1 man ahead of us but the woman in the window was on the phone and didn't acknowledge him. He ended up leaving. We waited a good while to check in apparently the credit card machine wasn't working properly. so the entire time we were trying to check in she was on the phone .In the mean time 2 more people were standing in line to check in. this is a tiny little room it's tight with 2 people but 4? I went outside while my husband checked in. When we went to out room there was masking tape on the dead bolt and the door way.peep hole etc were taped off the same. It was as though painting had just been completed. When we looked up and down the row of rooms the majority of them also had masking tape on them. the couple we were traveling with booked a non smoking room but the room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke.
when we asked about the on line coupon they have on their website. which states:
Save 10%
Off Your First Stay
At Country Inn

NOT VALID WITH OTHER DISCOUNTS, SPECIAL EVENT OR HOLIDAYS. PLEASE PRINT COUPON AND PRESENT AT HOTEL AT CHECK IN TO RECEIVE DISCOUNT.

we were told because we'd reserved on line we were already given a discount and they would not honor this coupon.
when we returned in the evening there wasn't enough parking in the lot. some people had parked in areas marked no parking.
this was close to the freeway, outlet malls and casinos if you plan only to sleep this is ok.

  • Liked — close to the freeway
  • Disliked — smell
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryinn-manager, Manager at Country Inn Banning, responded to this review, July 8, 2008
Hello javasante

Thank you for staying with us at the Country Inn. We were sorry to hear that your visit was less than satisfactory, however we would like respond to the problems that you experienced during your stay.

The staff at Country Inn is trained to make sure the guest check in and stay is as problem free as possible. After reading your review, the management evaluated the behavior of this clerk and she was replaced. The management would like to apologize for her behavior at your check in.

As for the tape on the doors, our maintenance staff had just completed painting these doors and was waiting for the drying process to complete before removing the tape. We had a notice at the front office asking guest to understand and forgive the hotel while renovation was ongoing.

Rates booked online are discounted and therefore the 10% off first stay does not apply to these rates. These rules are stated on the coupon.

As we are located so close to Casino Morongo, many of the hotel guest have more than 2 or 3 cars and sometimes the hotel runs out of parking space. Again we apologize for any problems during your stay with us, and we do hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn Banning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Banning

Address: 932 E. Ramsey Street, Banning, CA 92220-5922
Location: United States > California > Banning
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Banning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn Banning 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn Banning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Banning
Banning Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn Banning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.