We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonders of The Whitehouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whitehouse

The Whitehouse
Lochaline | Morvern, Lochaline PA34 5XT, Scotland
+44 1967 421777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Lochaline
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $93
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Whitehouse Restaurant in Lochaline makes the most of the West Coast larder on our doorstep. Lochaline langoustines and Sound of Mull dived scallops and crab are regulars, as are Seared Morvern stag's liver, heart and kidney with Tobermory whisky, lamb, mutton, beef and pork from local farmers. Our garden grows most of the herbs, salads and vegetables on the menu. Highland delicacies are foraged from hill and shore. We love celebrating Scottish food and drink - our fabulous local harvest served in a relaxed, informal atmosphere. The Lochaber environment is among the richest in Scotland. Our food puts it on your plate.
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonders of The Whitehouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

A short ferry trip from Fishnish to Lochaline (the CalMac ferry waited for us to park and get aboard - what a brilliant organization) to an early lunch at The Whitehouse. A small restaurant serving excellent food - we had an splendid lunch. Smoked salmon parfait with quail's eggs and herring caviar, then Highland Cotriade ( sort of bouillabaisse), excellent glass of house wine and coffee. The whole experience left us with a warm glow of satisfaction having found a little gem by accident.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamWhitehouse, Co Owner at The Whitehouse, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. The Cal Mac tream on the Lochaline/ Fishnish boat are brilliant and do all they can to help travellers. We think the Lochaline/Fishnish route on or off Mull is the best way to or from the island (well we would I suppose!) and thank you for stoping off with us. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit. Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Simply Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had very high expectations...and these were exceeded. This is lovely little restaurant in the quiet town of Lochaline and we had a simply superb lunch for two here a couple of weeks ago. The service is prompt, courteous and friendly. Great menu making use of the excellent local produce....lamb, venison, fish, seafood...extraordinarily good bread (baked on premises daily)...delicious desserts. Everything we ordered was perfectly prepared and presented....particularly memorable was the monkfish with hand dived scallops...poetry on a plate. My mouth is watering at the thought....

This wonderful restaurant is worth a very considerable detour indeed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,VA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“An excellent time was had by all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stopped at this recommended restaurant on our return from a day touring the Highlands. We were having an early dinner and were the only 2 couples in the small restaurant. We were waited on by the chef and were able to observe him prepare the meal from our table. The seafood was excellently prepared and was delicious. the desserts were also fantastic. It was strange to find such a wonderful place in such a remote location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torridon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great website and the food is every bit as good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Trawling the web for places to eat and things to do in Morven we came across this restaurant's excellent website. Attracted by the reviews, we booked for lunch. Although we were first in the restaurant, we were not the last and it would be wise to book in high season.

The restaurant's menu leans towards fish as you might expect and hope for given its location and is complemented by a daily specials board. We had mussels followed by scallops and a cauliflower risotto. Both were from the starters menu, but made an excellent lunch and both dishes were very good indeed. Having drawn the short straw as designated driver, I could not take advantage of the wine list, but the choices offered looked good and my companions seemed very happy.

All in all a very enjoyable lunch and a restaurant I would happily recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamWhitehouse, Owner at The Whitehouse, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
THank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you like the website too! We are a very small team and really appreciate you taking the time to write. The Whitehouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlandds
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A lunch to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We visited Lochaline on a lovely April day. The Whitehouse came highly recommended and we were not disappointed. We wanted a light lunch and chef was more than happy for us to order 2 starters; the mussels harvested locally were nothing short of delicious. I then had a cauliflower risotto with scallops; superb! It was a pleasure to see a more unusual wine list; our Sicilian white wine was perfect for lunch. Service could not be faulted. I would love to return and enjoy an evening meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whitehouse also viewed

Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 
Dervaig, Isle of Mull
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Whitehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whitehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.