We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Just what the doctor ordered...."” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murex Bangka Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Murex Bangka Resort to your Saves list
Murex Bangka Resort
Bangka Island, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Fairview
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"Just what the doctor ordered...."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Have you ever wanted to spend undisturbed, quiet holiday time at a remote island dive resort with white sand beaches and the sea just steps from your cottage door, a super-friendly staff that looks after your every need, and great diving at uncrowded, beautiful dive sites led by excellent, experienced dive guides? Then, Murex Bangka Resort is the place for you. I spent a wonderful week at Murex Bangka Resort in April 2014. The individual air-conditioned cottages were basic, yet clean, and quite lovely in their simplicity. The food was very good, and the fresh fruit shakes were delightful. The mosquitoes were a challenge at dusk and at dawn, but that is to be expected on an island of this type. The bed in my room had mosquito netting, and every night one of the staff volunteered to spray my room for me if I wished. I thoroughly enjoyed being "away from it all" in this idyllic setting, together with the warmth and personal care of the staff, and the spectacular diving. I plan on returning to this resort as soon as I can.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PimvanSchendel, Manager at Murex Bangka Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi Patricia,

Greetings from Murex Dive Resorts. Thank you very much for writing this review about our resort on Bangka Island. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We know mosquitoes can be annoying but we try to minimize this by having mosquito nets and spraying the rooms. Every afternoon our housekeeping staff lights up an anti mosquito coil on each porch so mosquitoes will stay away from your cottage. It's great that you have thoroughly enjoyed all the aspects of you stay and hopefully we can welcome you back very soon at Murex Bangka Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
18
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were the only guests at the resort since it was low-season and Bangka isn't as visited as Bunaken or Lembeh but it felt rather lonely especially since the staff didn't really try to talk much with us neither did the local manager who came and went after only an hour and didn't speak to us at all. We had really been wanting to find out more about the situation in Bangka with the Chinese mining corporation and what would happen to the local people once they start taking over the island, and then what would happen to the resorts. Unfortunately we didn't get much information on this. It is quite sad that Bangka isn't part of the marine park as it offers stunning diving and a mix between Bunaken and Lembeh with even more different things like insanely colourful soft coral. We saw so many frogfish and Sauhang is definitely an incredible dive site despite the bombings there is still so much there I can only imagine what it would have been like before. It is truly sad that these amazing reefs are not getting the protection, attention and management they deserve.
With regards to the resort, it is quite basic and clean, the shower wasn't working properly but sufficiently for us (we are not difficult). The food was nothing special which was surprising for North Sulawesi, the breakfast was good though. The dive guide did his job ok, I would encourage not to touch or disturb the critters but that is my view on diving when we come as a visitor it is only to see at a distance. However we did have one problem with leakage in one of the regulators. Most of all I would say it is not a cheap resort for what we got and I was disappointed with the service that simply lacked warmth and a "home" feel that we got at the other places we stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PimvanSchendel, Manager at Murex Bangka Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Travels200,

Thank you very much for reviewing our resort at Bangka Island. We appreciate a lot that you have taken the time to write these comments.

First of all my personal apologies for not taking more time to talk to you. I met you briefly when you came off the boat after diving and we had a short talk. When you said all was ok I assumed everything was fine and that’s why I left as scheduled.

The mining case on Bangka is still not clear, not for us and not for anybody.
We are very happy to hear that you like the diving around Bangka, it is truly a magnificent place and we all should fight to keep these beautiful reefs healthy. What’s important is to promote tourism - wether people choose to stay with us or not, we just want tourists visiting Bangka area and North Sulawesi. At the end of the day, it’s about financial contribution. We hope tourism can make a stronger contribution to the economy than fly by night mining operations.

We are in process of renovations (so that not only all showers work properly but many other improvements) and staff training. The process is taking longer than anticipated. We now do have a certified regulator technician and equipment is being serviced regularly. We also have some new staff and are moving other staff to our different locations for training and experience. I believe within a few months your type of complaints will be a thing of the past.

Once again, thank you very much and happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

On a whim I decided to go to this resort for a week of diving after going to Lembeh Resort. The diving was incredible and I will be back. You must keep in mind it is a very remote location, a bit basic conditions and limited food selection. Putting all that aside, I was there to dive and I have never seen so many frogfish! The reefs they take you to are in perfect shape and for the price to stay and dive you will be amazed. The only complaint I have is for a few days we were 8 divers to a guide, way to many. Next time I go, I will be sure to stress this is not acceptable for macro photography. Electricity is from around 6 pm until around 5 am. So keeping your batteries charged is a challenge, but I found a system that worked for me. You must bring bug spray or you will be covered with bites from mosquitoes. Don't let any of the negative things I have said stop you from going if you are looking for amazing diving.

Room Tip: The rooms have cracks in the walls so at night bugs get in if you have the lights on. All have ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PimvanSchendel, Manager at Murex Bangka Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Greetings from Murex Dive Resorts and thank you very much for taking the time to review our resort. We really appreciate all positive and negative comments because this way we can keep on improving our business. We are very happy to hear that the diving was incredible and that you are planning to visit us again.

At the moment we are in process of implementing several changes in the resort. Part of this, is a small renovation that will increase the comfort of our guests. A new F&B manager is already hired and he will start changing the menus, so food selection will be better and a wider choice of dishes will be available.

We are really sorry that you had to dive in group of 8. We understand that a group of 8 is too big for macro photography. This happened because of a combination of circumstances. Our ratio is usually 1:6 and, if possible, we plan even smaller groups, especially when there are several photographers in 1 group. This way everybody can enjoy all the critters and take photographs. We will make sure that a big group like this will not happen again anymore.

Electricity has been and always will be a challenge in such remote locations and it is great to hear that you found a system to keep all your batteries charged. Recently we have installed a new, silent generator and the restaurant has more hours of electricity now, which makes it possible to charge batteries at different times of the day.

We do our best to control mosquitoes by having mosquito nets in all cottages and providing burning coils which repel the mosquitoes but it is of course recommendable to bring your own personal repellant to keep you clear from mosquito bites.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at Murex and we will make sure your experience will be enhanced and you will notice the improvements made in the resort and the diving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

You ahve to be there to experience the tranquility of this beautiful resort in Bangka Island, North Sulawesi, Indonesia.

It's worth every cents, good value. They provide healthy breakfast, lunch & dinner with a combination of freshly catch fish & fruits from the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have always picture myself on an isolated island with nothing but the sea, sand, sun and the basic necessity to lived. Murex Bangka Island was the answer! Though the resort provided more than the basics such as a surreal individual cottages, simple meals, serenity, great (and I must mentioned GREAT!) diving, the best part of it, we were so disconnected from the world of technology - yup, no internet services, poor mobile reception, no TV nor radio - it was so perfect!
For those who needs these on a daily basis, forget about coming to Bangka!

From the airport, it was an hour by car to the transfer boat. Amazing volcanic sand beach! Another 30 mins by boat to the island and you are welcome by a small stretch of white sand beach which is private to Murex Bangka.

It was totally back to the basic - everything was done manually from check-in to check-out. Cash! Electric supply is run on a generator and starts only from 5pm to 7am. This means no power in the day time and honestly, who needs it! We were out diving the day and chilling out in the late afternoon on the beach and watching the sunsets.

In summary, Bangka IS the place if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of a stressful city life! It has rejuvenated us so much that we are planning for a return visit and this time for a much longer period!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Murex Bangka Resort is a "branch" of the main Murex resort in Manado. This visit was our second and although it was a short visit (4 nights and 3 days of diving), we enjoyed ourselves a great deal. The staff is very accommodating, from arranging transfers from the airport to making sure our room was to our liking. We also found that the food service improved quite a bit from two years ago. As other reviewers have said, three dives a day is quite easy to do, with two dives in the morning (leaving around 8 am) and then an afternoon dive at 3 pm. Don't expect fancy rooms or finishing touches, and the electricity is only on from about 5 pm to about 7am (means a/c in the night when it's quite warm). We liked the outdoor shower and the great front porch (as well as hammocks) to relax in. The other guests were quite friendly and we enjoyed talking with them throughout the day

Room Tip: pick one of the rooms away from the dive shop if you want to be close to the beach and an outdoor sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed about one week at Murex Bangka Dive Resort and we were happy with our stay. Place is relaxed, no stress, and good diving. Stuff is friendly and they try to make your stay enjoyable. Diving wasn’t difficult here we took three dives a day and it was pleasant. Lot of macro stuff and even muck dives (similar to Lembeh). Bungalows are simple but it was ok for us. Beach is small but size is enough for all guests. Stuff cleaned bungalows and beach every day in the morning. Food was also ok better Indonesian standard to compare it with some Bunaken resorts. If you look for quite place outside Bunaken or Lembeh try to come to Bangka.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murex Bangka Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murex Bangka Resort

Address: Bangka Island, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bangka Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Bangka Island
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Murex Bangka Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murex Bangka Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.