We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3318 California Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #39 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
“Great place, Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Extended Stay America many times now and I really enjoy it. It is my home away from home. The staff are extremely helpful and always sweet! I didn't try the breakfast but only because the rooms have dishes, pots, pans and a stove, so I made my own breakfast every morning. Which is delightful ! I have to eat out often due to so much traveling so I love when i can cook a home meal !

Room Tip: I was close to the freeway but it didn't bother me, I couldn't really hear it due to thick w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
April - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the service our staff provided, and your room, especially the kitchen where you could make all of your own meals. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    9
    9
    7
See reviews for
9
1
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Slidell, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The staff at this facility were the best in my experience of staying in hotels, which spas over 50 years. I was going to move out, when the desk people told me that they would make a resevation for me, even though there were no available rooms. They found one for me and kept me from spending too much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be one of the best you have ever visited and that our staff took such great care of you. I know that we truly enjoyed having you stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very nice hotel just off Hwy 99. Near everything! Easy in and out. Hotel looks like they just refurbished the whole thing - rooms, grounds, parking. Large rooms with full kitchenettes including full size fridg, 2 burner electric stove, microwave, coffee maker, plates, pans, cups, dishes, silverware. Super clean bathroom. Comfy bed. Flat screen TV. Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Az
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

we have stayed here about 4 to 5 times. each time room has been clean and comfortable, nothing fancy. the staff is very nice. we always requested a room at the front of motel away from freeway and trains, quiet. breakfast is a snack, but they have good coffee. we will be staying there again end of oct. Bakersfield can be hot, the air conditioner has always worked very well. we have family in the area so it is very convienent and reasonable. good value

Room Tip: rooms on the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Robert - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that our staff provided you with such great service and that you like the coffee from the grab-and-go breakfast bar. It is also great to know that your room was comfortable and quiet.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We booked in this hotel for one night and one night was one night too many!!!! Our room was very small, cramped and smelt really bad. The room was facing the freeway and the noise kept us awake all night. The public areas are disgusting with garbage all over the stairways.
The only positive thing I can say is the lady at reception was very pleasant and helpful.
I would highly recommend you go elsewhere.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayucos, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was only there one night. I had a room in front. The speaker from Camelot next door was a bit annoying, but that is not the hotel's fault. My room was clean and met my needs. Free WiFi was appreciated. Other reviewers mentioned the train, but I only heard it once at 9:45pm. Overall, this hotel was fine and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the parking lot will hear the speaker from Camelot.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your clean room and our free WiFi. Still, I sincerely apologize that you were disturbed by noise from a property next door to our hotel.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The only great thing about this place is the price. The overall housekeeping is horrible. I am in a non-smoking room, yet the pillow cases have cigarette burns in them. When I complained, their solution was to give me ONE new pillow case, rather than replace the pillows. Even though the room appears to be reciently remodeled, the carpet has numerous stains throughout. I brought this to their attention after check-in, but after 4 days, nothing has been done to shampoo the carpet. After check-in I discovered that although I had 3 bath towels, I only had 1 hand towel and 1 wash cloth. When I complained I received an additional one of each. In addition to these issues, the stairways and walkways are extremely stained and dirty. If you don't have an issue with dirt, I guess that this place would suite you just fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue

Address: 3318 California Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Bakersfield
Extended Stay Bakersfield
Bakersfield Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.