We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3318 California Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Decent Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We arrived to find a very friendly staff in the office and check in was a breeze. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Because this hotel is designed for long stays you get a kitchenette with utensils, pans and a full size refrigerator with ice trays. I thought that was a nice touch. The beds were decent and we were on the first floor. We were surprised at how quiet the room was. Considering the hotel backs up to the rail yard and it was fully booked, we were really surprised.

The only negatives were that there is no daily maid service. Not a big deal, but it would have been nice if they would have told us when we checked in. The internet is awfully slow. However, if you want to pay you can get it faster. The more you pay, the faster it gets. If I was staying there for a week, I would pay, but since we were there for the weekend it wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement14, Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Extended Stay America Bakersfield - California Avenue. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. We were among the first in the industry to identify a need for a fully functional hotel suite, complete with range top and full refrigerator. We know that this offering is compelling because of the continued compliments we receive from guests like you. I noticed that your comments included the housekeeping service and I apologize for the staff not mentioning that we do have a "buy up" service for this.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
8
Couples
0
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have been staying here off and on for the last two years. I have always had great service here. The office staff overall is friendly and helpful. Jessica is extremely professional and efficient in performing her duties and works very hard to meet any requests that I have. Whenever I ask for something from anyone, it's always available or within a short period of time. The housekeepers are friendly and keep my room clean and well stocked with towels, soap, and toilet paper. If I need extra, I just go to the office and it's provided. The new upgraded rooms are a plus. The new daily continental breakfast has been a great addition. I've had no problems during my stays here.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the front parking lot are quieter than those that face either the freeway or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement14, Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad to hear that you are enjoying the newly upgraded hotel and that you have been a loyal guest at our hotel for such a long time. Its also nice to hear that you enjoy the service. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have been staying here for two years as a home away from home and I have had excellent service here. I like the fact I can cook in the room and it has a full fridge for food. The rooms st year were old and dated, but the rooms now are beautiful with the new upgrades in beds and chairs and other decor upgrades. The staff have been more than friendly and accommodating-every person in the staff. They have gone above and beyond to be helpful and fix anything out of the ordinary or meet my requests, which have been few. Jessica is a very hands on manager and that is someone you don't always see at a hotel. When my puppy died while I was staying here, it felt like family mourning with me. I would recommend this to anyone who needs a long stay motel with reasonable prices. The addition of continental type breakfast was a nice addition.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the front parking lot. Unfortunately there is no pool or bbq area here, ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement14, Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a great review. We truly appreciate your being a loyal guest of ours. I was also glad to learn that you are enjoying the upgrades we completed recently. Our goal is to keep guests like yourself completely satisfied and to keep hearing about great guest experiences. After reading your review, I can see where we were able to achieve this. Thank you so much once again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Do not stay here. The rooms by themselves are ok. Not anything to get excited about. But between the hookers...oh wait I am sorry..."call girls" and the staff that can't do anything except tell you to wait and talk to a manager. I stayed there 2 weeks on business and will never go back. After I had checked out, I was billed for an entire week. They said it was a mistake and refunded my money. That was ok except it happened 3 MORE TIMES!! All of which was a mistake and they will refund my money...that takes 4+ days to go back in account. So in the meantime, I have over $900 floating out there for 4+ days waiting for there mistake to get fixed. I was lucky and had cash on me or I was in big trouble. Not a great place, and the location send staff have earned them this poor review.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement14, Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The experience you described is not acceptable, and I sincerely apologize for this. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am making sure the staff are made aware of their commitment to great guest service while working for a Company that prides themselves on their customer satisfaction. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at bak@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue

Address: 3318 California Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Bakersfield
Extended Stay Bakersfield
Bakersfield Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.