We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of value, good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4400 Hughes Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93304   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Pine Grove, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lots of value, good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

The Holiday Inn Express (Bakersfield) is nicely appointed with a concerned, attentive staff. Upon checking in, we asked about restaurants in the area and received a detailed map with a list of recommended restaurants including those within walking distance. Our room had all of the expect amenities and met our approval for cleanliness, etc. One detail I noted was that the pillows (there were four) had embroidered on their cuff whether they were firm or soft. Breakfast was hot with many selections and plenty of seating. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellehiex, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield, responded to this review, April 12, 2015
Dear, JoanElaine1947

We at Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your hotel experience with us.Our guests' feedback is very important for us as we strive to provide the best service and accomodations. We are pleased to read that we have met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again for your wonderful review and we look forward to your return visit!!

Sincerely,
Michelle Diaz
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    70
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
46
39
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here en route to Yosemite from las Vegas - great hotel, good plentiful breakfast served in a lovely clean great room, welcoming polite lovely staff, clean good size room... We Ordered local pizza delivery for dinner - rustys I think it was called... Very good! Free parking... Very reasonable .... Did exactly what it said on the tin!!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellehiex, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield, responded to this review, April 12, 2015
Dear, Sara_Dai_Angus

Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield and for providing us with a 4-star review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and our hotel amenites. Also, thank you for you kind comments regarding our staff. We strives to provide a positive, friendly environment where our guests can feel comfortable and relaxed.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you enjoyed your time in the US!

Sincerely,
Michelle Diaz
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Stayed here before and great location. Check in was quick and frond desk very nice. hotel is clean outside as well as in. rooms good size and plenty of electrical outlets. WIFI was great. Breakfast was very good

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellehiex, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Dear Dave95212,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post a wonderful review on your recent stay with us. Most importantly, we would like to thank you for your loyalty. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our hotel amenities, room amenities, and the friendly service of our staff. We will pass on your kind words to our staff.

Thank you again for the GREATTT review and we look forward to having you back with us.

Sincerely,
Michelle Diaz
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Hotel was very clean and comfortable. Great customer service. Hotel is recently renovated and they did a good job to do the renovation. Over all good experience and will stay again. Location is very convenient also. Staff did good to recognize me with my status if IHG Reward member.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellehiex, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thank you KSN001for the sharing your hotel experience with us and for being a loyal member of our IHG Rewards program! We are thrilled to know that we have met your expectations and that you enjoyed our newly renovated property.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to see you back on your next trip to Bakersfield.

Sincerely,
Michelle Diaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, CA
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We had a 3rd floor room on the east side that was very clean. My only 'complaint' about the room was the difficulty getting the TV to respond to the remote somewhat faster (it got rather frustrating!). The breakfast was just fine (It's a serve-yourself set-up) with warm and cold cereal, warm and hard-boiled eggs, differing breakfast meats, a pancake machine, sweet rolls, yogurt, etc. The newspapers were available in the lobby, and outside the elevators. Our only frustration, the pool and spa are being upgraded so neither one was available. Other than that, no problem and we'll be back again next year (It's where we stay when we come to the March Bakersfield Square Dance Fiesta.)
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Top floor on either side (Sun rises or Sun sets!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellehiex, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield, responded to this review, March 31, 2015
Dear Steversjunk,

Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield and we appreciate you taking the time to provide an honest feedback on your recent stay with us. Every year we look forward to hosting your FIESTA SQUARE DANCING event and we are glad to read that you will be returning with us next year. I would also like to extend my sincere apologies for not having the pool and spa available, we are currently working on our last phase of our renovation.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing back next year.

Sincerely,
Michelle Diaz
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

The Front Desk staff were excellent, helpful and delightful from check-in to check-out. The room was well appointed & clean and comfortable. Our breakfast was excellent. This is a property to be proud of! We would stay here again and again. WELL DONE to the management & staff at 4400 Hughes Lane.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellehiex, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield, responded to this review, March 31, 2015
Dear John M,

Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield and for providing us a glowing review. We strive to provide excellent, consistent service, and it brings great joy to know that our hard work is greatly appreciated. Thank you for the kind words about the staff, I will be sure to share the feedback with them.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Bakersfield!

Sincerely,
Michelle Diaz
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I stayed here going and returning to and from Las Vegas. I like the location of this property better than the other two HI Expresses in Bakersfield. The other two are in a busier area and closer to the freeway. The staff at this hotel have been courteous, friendly and helpful. I requested a room on the 4th floor (top floor) and they were able to accommodate my request on both stays. I always like a room on the top floor so I don't have to worry about people above me coming in late and jumping around while I'm trying to sleep. The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. Everything was clean and the bathroom was spotless. I had a nice sleep and awoke refreshed. I enjoyed the free breakfast that had plenty of good choices and awesome cinnamon rolls. I will look forward to staying at this Holiday Inn on my future stopovers in Bakersfield.

Room Tip: 4th floor is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellehiex, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield, responded to this review, March 31, 2015
Dear Woodpecker48,

Thank you for your loyalty and for providing us with such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were accomodating to your needs.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit!

Sincerely,
Michelle Diaz
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield

Address: 4400 Hughes Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Bakersfield provides easy access from Hwy 99 and all Bakersfield attractions. Four floors with interior corridors. Free Deluxe Continental Breakfast Bar. Free Local Phone Calls. Free In-Room, Wireless High Speed Internet. Refrigerators and Microwaves in all rooms. 25' screen Televisions, Work Desk with Data Port, Hair dryers, Ironing Boards and Coffeemakers in all rooms. Jacuzzi Rooms available with Romance Package. Meeting space for up to 30. Free parking in well lit, walled parking lot. Coin laundry. Dry Cleaning Service available. Outdoor Pool & Spa. Restaurants within walking distance. Group and Corporate rates available. Collect points or airline miles on all Hotel charges with our Priority Club frequent stay program. Self-serve business center with high speed internet access.Visit Bakersfield, CA and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bakersfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.