We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty ,and disrespect from employees that dont deserve the job .” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North

Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6100 Knudsen Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dirty ,and disrespect from employees that dont deserve the job .”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

OUr family had rented a room for just one night , we found bedbugs roaches dirty blankets nasty smell of cigeretts, thought we could comefront to office about situation in which she had spoke way out of line and unprofessional see CO...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about your stay at our location. I can assure you that the proper measures will be taken to prevent this situation in the future and that we will carefully look into the situation. Again, our sincerest apologies.

Thank you,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    12
    8
    11
See reviews for
4
10
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

03/21/13

When we checked in abt, 3pm the girl at the desk was very friendly and helpful, After we got to our room one of the girls that clean the rooms came by and asked if everything was okay and asked if we needed anything. This is something you seldom see, We found our room to be very clean and comfortable. Even tho the motel is near Highway 99 you have to go outside your room to hear the traffic. The next morning we went to the office to have our Continental breakfast where they had cereal, Bisquick and gravy and waffles. The girl at the desk was not very friendly. She just worked at the desk with a frown on her face. It would have been nice if she would have given a few smiles.

Cap and Virginia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. While we are very pleased to hear your stay was great. We can also assure you that we will go through the training procedures once more with our desk staff. We definitely hope to see you again in the future. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.

Sincerest,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've had worse night sleeps but this place is up there. Ok it was cheap and relatively clean but the stench of stale cigarette smoke was disgusting. Tip for the staff, maybe try an odour remover not air freshner to cover it up! It was foul but it was late so we lived with it. It was also hot, too noisy to open a window and the air con only managed to drop the temp a few degrees, the thermostat said it was 80 degrees! The shower didn't work, only got a trickle and then couldn't switch it off. All in all, fun times!?!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I would like to offer you our sincerest apologies. I can assure you that we will take your feedback into consideration with our housekeeping staff as well as have the maintenance staff look over the a/c units. We do hope that we can better serve you in the future. Again, we apologize and thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our first room reeked of smoke. So we moved all our stuff to a second room in another building and the smell was not much better - seems they just use perfume to try and mask the smell. Then after that we get a phone call asking if we took the duvet off the first bed - why would we take a duvet that clearly reeks of smoke and is ugly into the bargain? As for the so called 'high speed internet' - it barely worked and we were right above reception. Check out is at 11am, but the cleaner was knocking so loudly on everyone's doors at 9am that it seemed like something must be wrong.

This is a major truck stop. Maybe it's good for that - breakfast starts at 2am, but for the average traveller, stay somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We appreciate your honesty and hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. We are sincerely sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay. We will definitely look into these things and handle them in the proper order.

Thank you again,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I am frequently in Bakersfield for business, and I always stay at the Vagabond North. I have had nothing but good experiences and the staff is very accommodating, especially Joanne at the front desk. She is always willing to go the extra step, I hope management reads this and gives her the acknowledgment she deserves.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Owner at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your input and we will make sure that our employees and Johanna get see your review. Johanna will be rewarded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great if your a Trucker. Lots of truck parking, all paved. Book in advance ask for the main building. rooms get worse in the other seperate building(I was in 3 rooms during my stay). Old school TV's . Nothing over 19" from the 80's,but do have 4 HBO channels. Continenltal breakfast was below average. Staff were very nice. Make sure if you book in... let them know your not a local !!! Lots of locals live here for months at a time and are not well liked by the staff.
Burger King, Quisnos subs, Taco Bell, Jack in the box all walking distance. Nice Mexican Resturaunt and Cafe also next door. The Best is the Hodel Buffet across the street ! OMG the best Buffet I have ever had. It's always jam packed. Great price 2.There is also a Vons(Safeway) walking distance.
Big Advice.... Do not take your socks off in the room. Your feet will be black ! Burn your your socks at check out

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed for 1 night during our trip to Death Valley. I must say its a traveller friendly hotel and very good for a short stay. The room is spacious and the hotel is very close to freeway. The morning breakfast is decent . This hotel is also located nearby many convenient store and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel for short trips.

Room Tip: Room closer to freeway can be noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Owner at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your comment. We appreciate your input. We are glad we where able to meet your needs and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North

Address: 6100 Knudsen Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Bakersfield North

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.