We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What do you expect for 40 bucks ?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6501 Colony Street, Bakersfield, CA 93307   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Martinez, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What do you expect for 40 bucks ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The old adage you get what you pay for rings true here. I could pick this place apart but I won't bother what you get here is a room that's decent for the price. Sure you could do better but expect to pay twice the price. Here's a tip get a room on the back side of the office where there is less traffic noise.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Director of Sales at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We sincerely appreciate all feedback from our guests. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    69
    29
    18
    16
See reviews for
33
38
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The stay at vagabond was great. My husband and I loved the service we were attended by Lily she was welcoming. Rooms were nice and quiet. We'd come back to stay there again. Thank you Lily for the great service and hospitality made our stay welcoming.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Director of Sales at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We sincerely appreciate your business and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future!

Thank you again,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

My experience was excellent i had Great service from Lilly she was very helpful and was able to get us into a room quick it was perfect size for me & my husband. After driving for so long it was definitely worth the wait. It was very clean. Will be coming back next time I'm in town. Overall I was very satisfied with my visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Director of Sales at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We appreciate your business and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Lily is a great asset to our hotel and we are very happy to hear that she was so helpful. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerest,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and we were really impressed.the room was good sized,the king bed very comfortable.great remodel with a 32 panel on the wall,the staff was friendly and helpful.we arrived at 11am,4 hours before the 3pm check-in was accommodated without question.the free continental breakfast was nice,as was the afternoon cookies.the outside sigh stated and all i can say is job well done give this place a try.

THANKS AGAIN ALMA! you are the hospitality queen!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Director of Sales at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback from our guests. Alma is a wonderful asset to our hotel and we are very happy to hear that she was so helpful. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerest,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I can to Bakersfield from Sacramento do to a family emergency.My mother was taken to Mercy Hospital and I came across Vagabond Inn which was only eight minutes away. I checked at the front desk with the young lady Alma that was really helpful gave me my AAA discount,my room.The location was convenient for me, and their breakfast was quick and good. I had a good stay while my mother was in the hospital.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Director of Sales at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your business and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerest,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were passing by bakersfield we had been driving for a couple of hours we saw the sign for 39.99. When we checked inn Michelle the desk clear was very friendly she informed us about everything the room came with. Rooms were remolded had wood floors I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Director of Sales at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Driving back to L.A from Vegas and we saw the sign that was 39.99 a night me and my husband were very tried decided to stay here. We got good service from Michelle and the rooms were remolded with wood floors as well. It was very clean we will sure be staying here more when we pass through here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagabondinnsouth, Director of Sales at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We sincerely appreciate all feedback from our guests. We are very happy to here that you enjoyed your stay with us. Michelle is a great asset to our property. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerest,
Jackie Mooers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South

Address: 6501 Colony Street, Bakersfield, CA 93307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South hotel is located just off of Highway 99 and I-5 with Downtown Bakersfield just minutes away. Our newly renovated rooms feature a 32" LCD TV's with HBO programming, mini refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot. Guests receive complimentary high speed wi-fi and a hot breakfast buffet including waffles, biscuits and gravy, juice, coffee, and cappuccino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South Hotel Bakersfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.