We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay - Just Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3232 Riverside Dr, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6346   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
U.S.A.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One Night Stay - Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed for one night while traveling. When we entered the lobby, 2-3 housekeeping personnel
by the door, we said hello to them and received blank stares. The desk clerk was matter of fact not overly friendly. See bluntly pointed to a printed sign taped to the front desk and told us we need to read it. It was informing guests that water to the hotel would be shut off at 8am the next morning. No "sorry for the inconvenience" from the clerk, almost like "stay somewhere else if that's a problem" kind of attitude. Neighborhood is sketchy, a few "earthy" looking people around but no one bothered us. Room was moderately clean, lots of stray hair in the bathroom like most lower end motels. Fine for a night just remember you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    69
    42
    29
    25
See reviews for
71
55
23
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

For the price-point it is one of the best. It is convenient to the freeway and has a great staff. They are always polite and recognize repeat customers. The breakfast is decent and the rooms are comfortable. There are many restaurants nearby and a famous local breakfast diner and country music dinner house.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

It's not the worst place to stay, but certainly not the best either. Beds are comfortable, but that's about all. One elevator for each building and there r three. We stayed three nights and part of the coffee maker was missing, we never got coffee all three days. Breakfast was a joke all carbs. They had cream cheese but nothing to put it on. Creamer was powder, one flavor if yogurt. Very poor breakfast. Next year we will be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I am a professional woman and I worked in Bakersfield for sixty days and I stayed at this hotel, so I know it well. Earwigs and roaches, homeless people sleeping in the elevators, sagging beds and sad boring breakfast every morning. However, I good naturedly put up with it all. There is a security guard on the grounds, so I never felt in danger.
Still, this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at and will never stay at a La Quinta again. But this is the LAST STRAW!

In my entire life, I have NEVER received a stealth credit card charge from ANY business six months after the fact, which is exactly what this hotel has done to me. SIX MONTHS after my stay, I got a $295 charge on my credit card bill from this hotel. They said they undercharged my company for my stay by mistake. Now, they wish to extract what their mistake has cost them from me. Needless to say, I have had no problem in getting this unscrupulous charge reversed by my credit card company.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I did not like how they took care of their problem once it was reported. Once I reported their error it continued through the next day of my stay. There is nothing more motifying then someone walking into your room in the morning with a key that the hotel staff issued to them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stay away from this place!! From the dirty unkempt grounds to the loitering "guests" smoking and blocking passage on the stairs to the band of roving unsupervised children running wild on the stairs making it difficult to unpack the car it went from bad to worse. The room itself was a nightmare! Outdated is only the beginning...We turned on the air conditioning unit only to be hit with the worst musty moldy smell that filled the already stinky room. The bathroom was scarey to say the least. I barely slept as the room was so creepy! I did not even use the coffee pot in the morning ! I took a quick shower and we left as quick as we could!! As for the free breakfast - I could not eat at this facility!!!Based on the condition and care of rest of the "hotel" I would not trust the cleanliness of the breakfast area! Cleanliness is not a strong point with this facility. I hope I never have the misfortune of making the mistake of booking this "hotel"ever again!!!.!!!! I booked based on other reviews! Did you stay at the same place I did??? Really? Trust me folks STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here two nights, first night was after long drive through death valley .
On the third floor but has a lift, room clean and has all the amenities including fridge & large tv.
Drove Upto sequoia park then back down to stay for the second night, just short drive into town centre with all the eateries you may require, nice hotel would stay again.
One note: no really relevant to this hotel nut maybe location, here seem to be a lot of down and out or homeless people about ! Just an observation

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South

Address: 3232 Riverside Dr, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6346
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Bakersfield
Bakersfield La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.