We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet night by the freeway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3232 Riverside Dr, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6346   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Del Mar
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quiet night by the freeway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Quiet hotel on the side of 99. Okay room, nothing great, but better than staying at a less expensive chain. Pool area small, but attractive. No gym. Free wifi and flat screen tvs in rooms. Standard breakfast with the make yourself waffles and prepackaged muffins. Rooms were clean but nothing special.

We stayed here on our way from Sacramento to San Diego. Not much along 5 on this stretch besides Motel 6's and the like. So we went a little inland and chose this inn alongside the 99. Then you can take the 99 back to the 5. Suited our purpose and we paid a fair price through hotwire.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    64
    39
    27
    23
See reviews for
63
52
23
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of reasons. One was close to freeway (US 99) and the allow dogs. They also have a great breakfast. The rooms are well acquainted with king bed, microwave, refrigerator, HD TV and free Wi-Fi. The beds are very comfortable and friendly staff made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Overall, I wasn't totally impressed. The motel is old and it shows by not having many recepticles, old door handles, old faucets and a scary elevator that jumps when it starts and stops. Also the pool heater was broken. I really wasn't impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. It was close to good food. The room was clean and remodeled and had a good breakfast. We had o drive about ten to fifteen minutes to enjoy the Square Dance Festival we drove to Bakersfield for. We will do it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silt, CO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at this La Quinta many times over the years while visiting Bakersfield. It's our choice because they are one of a few very that are pet friendly and centrally located. We won't stay here again. From the moment we got there, it was nothing but problems. Each issue was met with the same response...they aren't responsible because we booked through a third party. There was no refrigerator or microwave in the room, which was extremely inconvenient. During the day, it seems okay but that changes once it gets dark. My husband didn't want me taking our dog out by myself. The only plus is no extra fee for your dog.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South

Address: 3232 Riverside Dr, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6346
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LaQuinta, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Bakersfield
Bakersfield La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.