We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Comfort at Reasonable Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3232 Riverside Dr, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6346   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Sun Lakes, AZ
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Comfort at Reasonable Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of reasons. One was close to freeway (US 99) and the allow dogs. They also have a great breakfast. The rooms are well acquainted with king bed, microwave, refrigerator, HD TV and free Wi-Fi. The beds are very comfortable and friendly staff made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    60
    33
    21
    17
See reviews for
52
44
21
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Overall, I wasn't totally impressed. The motel is old and it shows by not having many recepticles, old door handles, old faucets and a scary elevator that jumps when it starts and stops. Also the pool heater was broken. I really wasn't impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. It was close to good food. The room was clean and remodeled and had a good breakfast. We had o drive about ten to fifteen minutes to enjoy the Square Dance Festival we drove to Bakersfield for. We will do it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silt, CO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at this La Quinta many times over the years while visiting Bakersfield. It's our choice because they are one of a few very that are pet friendly and centrally located. We won't stay here again. From the moment we got there, it was nothing but problems. Each issue was met with the same response...they aren't responsible because we booked through a third party. There was no refrigerator or microwave in the room, which was extremely inconvenient. During the day, it seems okay but that changes once it gets dark. My husband didn't want me taking our dog out by myself. The only plus is no extra fee for your dog.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in a little motel the night before in LA. By comparison the La Quinta was twice as nice at half the price. We got the seniors discount. . Clean, attractive, good value. Breakfast was adequate, and the rating area was clean. No public computer, but the nice lady st the desk printed our boarding passes for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

All the staff we interacted with or observed seemed friendly and helpful. Though not fancy or very spacious, the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast area was well stocked and offered a good selection. Overall the motel was a good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

First for travelers with pets there is no pet fee! There is a place to walk and play with your dog next door.
We rented two rooms one for ourselves and one for our parents so my review is base on our two rooms.

This is a older hotel with an elevator, very soft mattresses, towels that are almost non existent, so you may want to ask for acouple more at check in. You can hear the freeway noise in your rooms and doors don't have a seal on them so if you are able to shut your door you may still be able to see light in the cracks. There was a cattle truck parked outside which gave you the pleasant aroma of a stock yard as soon as you walked out the door just a nice bonus. Breakfast was okay, lots of fresh fruit, muffins in packages, yogurt, cold cereal, watery coffee, you can make your own Belgium waffle and toast and bagels. The rooms cost around $70 (without tax) sometimes less depending on the rate you are able to get at the time. Two dbl beds or a queen no king beds. Beds were clean and everything else looked as clean as it could be for the age of the hotel. They have upgraded to new Samsung flat screen tv's with a great clear picture and they even had Showtime. The bathroom had mold on the ceiling and around the tub, there was hot water in the morning but when I tried washing my face the night before I was only able to get luke warm water out of the taps. The outlets were iffy as when you went to plug something in they would sink into the wall.
Best of all is probably the location, Costco (which has fuel) is just across on the other side of the freeway and there are plenty of places to eat near by.
Would I stay here again? I think I may be inclined to look for someplace else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South

Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Inn Bakersfield Hotel
La Quinta Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Bakersfield
Bakersfield La Quinta
Address: 3232 Riverside Dr, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6346
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, LaQuinta, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.