We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3232 Riverside Dr, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6346   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
A TripAdvisor Member
“One night stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This hotel was both convenient , clean and friendly; I will stay here again when passing though after a long drive and or when I visit family or friends in Bakersfield. I love la Quinta inns!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    69
    42
    30
    25
See reviews for
72
55
23
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln,California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

La Quinta is our hotel of choice. This was very nice as a stopover and of course the breakfast was delightful. The fact that they take dogs without any extra charge is great. Again we would stay here again on our next trip from Arizona to California.

Room Tip: Any room is fine. Don't skip the breakfast. A nice change from other free breakfasts. Lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stopped here on our way to San Francisco. The room on the first floor was small but the bad part was the location. THREE different times we were approached in the parking lot by people asking for money. It was at night, too, so it was a little frightening. In the morning I walked my dog to the back of the property and I was followed by two people, who then did not approach me when they saw the maintenance man. They passed me by but then just stood in the parking lot waiting. I quickly went back to my room. I definitely did not feel safe here! We were happy to leave.

Room Tip: I would not stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Used the hotel for a quick stop on a trip from Northern California on the way to Los Angeles. We arrrived late (near midnight) and were greeted by a friendly employee who quickly processed our registration.
The rooms were clean, the bed was DREAMY and the parking was readily available near the room. The only complaint I can come up with is that the bathtub "traction strips" had recently been removed and parts of it were sticky - like the maintenance folks needed to remove the left over adhesive. But it wasn't dirty, just had a few sticky lines running across it.
The area is industrial, but there are restaurants nearby - I felt safe in the neighborhood as I was traveling alone with my two children. It is a perfect place for a stop-over on the way to the "happiest place on earth." I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the opposite side of the building from the Freeway, we didn't hear any road nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here one night-room was okay, but needs updating. The bathroom is very small and the shower curtain had a sour smell. We have a dog and we had a 1st floor room which was convenient. There is a very strong odor outside-I asked about it and the lady said she didn't know where it was from-maybe horse stables nearby.The staff was fine. Probably will not return here on our trip back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed there in May for a night on the way to Sequoia National Park. It was certainly conveniently located right next to the freeway, and the rooms were reasonably comfortable and clean. The traffic noise was incredibly bad however. The hotel is right next (northeast) to the intersection of two freeways and we had a south facing room. Fortunately I had earplugs with me, or I would not have been able to sleep at all.

If noise bothers you and you have to stay at this place, my advice is to ask for one of the north or east facing rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the north-eastern corner of the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South

Address: 3232 Riverside Dr, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6346
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LaQuinta, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Bakersfield
Bakersfield La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Bakersfield South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.