We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 Camino Del Rio Court, Bakersfield, CA 93308   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here on a trip from san Fran to Vegas for the night.

Not a bad place at all, rooms Ok but a little dark. A little dated but nothing really to complain about.

Pool area very quiet but really clean and nice. Breakfast Very expensive and far too huge a portion.

Went across the car park to eat, to find some vehicles had been robbed, so this nerved us a little. However it was a nice steak house across the road. Lovely meal.

For a stop over,. not a bad place, but there is really no other reason to stay in Bakersfield - odd place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    135
    78
    58
    38
See reviews for
98
60
23
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Front Desk was polite and the foyer seemed okay. Good cookies. The surprise was when I got to my room. I had to drive around to the back of the hotel and enter through a side door. The carpet in the halls should have been my first clue. I just assumed it may have been a little dated. Then I got to my room and the door jamb had been drilled so many times for the locking mechanism that if I had really thought about it, may have been alarmed. The room was clean...as clean as you're going to get an old hotel. I just tried not to think about the "60 minute" reviews on hotel rooms and what you might find and went to sleep so that I could leave by 6:00 the next morning. It really needs a major update. I do have business in Bakersfield at least once a month and this was the first time I had stayed over. I will definitely be trying the other hotels nearby next month

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Overnight on family travel. Hotel looks older than it is (built in 83). Suite was large with two large flat screens. Room door did not close on its own (possible safety issue) keyed exit door did not close at all. Room had a funny odor that we quickly got used to.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I went out of our way to stay at the Doubletree as we wanted something a little nicer than a motel. The hotel seemed pretty tired and getting to our room involved slugging our luggage up and down a flight of stairs.

The room was very nicely refurbished and the bed very comfortable which is the most important thing to me. The room rate was very attractive.

I am tall and noticed that the shelf in the closet was dirty...covered with construction dust. All in all, it was OK but I would not go out of my way to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side of the hotel away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottdale
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Nice hotel, good location, superb front desk customer service. Rooms are large and well appointed. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

One of better places to stay in Bakersfield. Old hotel, beds still very comfy. Large breakfast buffet. Servers very nice. Bar is +/- but couple of nice places to eat very close by... BBQ place near Hooters rocks. Decent work-out area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeBKFD, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments. we look forward to see you again at the DoubleTree By Hilton Bakersfield. You are absolutely right, we are in a great location and many rstaurants nearby. Our Buffet breakfast and the Lunch and Dinner menue is very nice and offer great value.
Thank you again for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This may be the largest place to stay in Bakersfield. The rooms are average and the facilities are of average quality. I stayed there for 2 nights for business. The breakfast area was very nice and there is free wifi in the lobby

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeBKFD, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our Hotel.

You are correct, this is the largest full service Hilton branded hotel in Bakersfield. We have over 14,800 Sq Ft of flexible meetings rooms and 262 Guest rooms with 14 Suites. Ideal for Conventions. Our resort like setting and the great location is great while attending the convention. Our Ball Room is equiped with high tech capabilities, Banquet department offers great food and service and our Cafe serves delicious Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield

Address: 3100 Camino Del Rio Court, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the Rosedale Highway and Highway 99 - The gateway to the San Joaquin Valley and Central California - The DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield is the ideal location to call your home away from home, be is business or pleasure. We offer many different amenities including oversized guest rooms, complementary wireless access in public areas, wireless access with guest rooms and meeting space, complementary parking, complementary shuttle service to and from the Bakersfield Airport, The Café (open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), Club Odyssey, fitness center, pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Doubletree Bakersfield
Bakersfield Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.