We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn on our way to Northern California. The place was beautiful, the rooms were great, and the staff was super friendly! The breakfast was amazing. We would recommend this place to anyone traveling through Bakersfield!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn- Bakersfield. We appreciate your loyalty to Hilton & Hampton Inn- Bakersfield. The employees and I love having you stay here with us. It is guests like you that make it so easy for us to do our jobs with a smile. Please stop by again if you are in need of hotel accommodations in the future while visiting Bakersfield. As always it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Jennifer Marchand
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    64
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
46
14
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We chose the hotel as it is right between Las Vegas and San Francisco. We had also read a lot of the good reviews of this hotel on TA.

The check in/out procedure was very easy, the staff was nice and the room was nice and clean. Complimentary breakfast okay. Only minus was the a/c which was quite noisy, but we could live with that. There is also a small pool although we did not have the time to try that. The room has a fridge which was nice so we could cool down our beverages. There is also an ice machine so we could put ice in our cool box.

There are some restaurants in the area - all in walking distance. We choose Logans Roadhouse (okay food / lousy service!). Right outside the hotel there is also a gas station.

Can really recommend this place.

Please let me know if you find this review helpful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn- Bakersfield. We appreciate your loyalty to Hilton & Hampton Inn- Bakersfield. I am glad to here your stay was good at our hotel. The employees and I love having you stay here with us. It is guests like you that make it so easy for us to do our jobs with a smile.

Jennifer Marchand
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed while in route to northern CA. The room was nice and it was very quiet. Check in was easy. Close to the highway and easy to get to. Pretty typical of Hampton Hotels. The breakfast was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn- Bakersfield. We appreciate your loyalty to Hilton & Hampton Inn- Bakersfield. The employees and I love having you stay here with us. It is guests like you that make it so easy for us to do our jobs with a smile.

Jennifer Marchand
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

There are a few HI's in Bakersfield. I relied solely on the photos when selecting since I am still not familiar with the town. This is a little 'gem', right on the edge...
Unlike some of the other hotels I have stayed during my recent trips here, this hotel is close to the freeway but you don't hear a thing (almost!) They have that nice (free!) breakfast with healthy choices AND a fitness ctr. I rate most of my stays on the fitness aspect thus I was slightly disappointed when I discovered the fitness ctr did not have any free wts.!!! Other HI's do.
Would it keep me from returning? hmmmm....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn- Bakersfield. We appreciate your loyalty to Hilton & Hampton Inn- Bakersfield. The employees and I love having you stay here with us. It is guests like you that make it so easy for us to do our jobs with a smile. We are currently working on getting a weight system in our brand new fitness center. Hopefully they will be in by the next time you decide to stay with us again. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the responses.

Jennifer Marchand
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

During our recent US holiday, our family of 4 (2 x teenage sons) chose to drive from San Francisco to Las Vegas, instead of just flying from City to City the whole time, and in turn robbing ourselves of the experience of seeing the countryside at ground level. As this trip was 800+kms, we decided to do the journey over two days. Upon previewing the trip on Google maps, I soon realised the half way point was Bakersfield, and the obvious choice for the overnight stop. I initially didn't put too much thought into the choice of accommodation, as it was really only going to be a bed and some food for the night, but upon taking a look at some Hotel reviews of the area thanks to my trusty Trip Advisor website, it didn't take long to work out that Hampton Inn Central was highly regarded by previous visitors. What an oasis in the desert this place is, certainly much bigger than I was expecting. Check in was swift and professional and without drama, Rooms were clean, modern and well presented. Beds provided a comfortable nights sleep, and the Breakfast on offer certainly catered for all tastes, ours included. Parking was close and convenient and check out was also smooth and without incident. This place was just the bomb and was exactly what we were looking for to break up the long journey to Vegas from SF, and I would just say to the staff at Hampton Inn Central to just keep doing it exactly the way that you're doing it.... coz you're doing it right!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn- Bakersfield. We appreciate your loyalty to Hilton & Hampton Inn- Bakersfield. The employees and I love having you stay here with us. It is guests like you that make it so easy for us to do our jobs with a smile. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on trip advisor.

Jennifer Marchand
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We decided to check in because we were too tired to drive another 2+ hours home, so we showed up on a Saturday night in the summer without a reservation, and the rate was only $100! I was very impressed. The room was modern and well kept, the building was quiet, and the lobby was a great environment to have a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn- Bakersfield. We appreciate your loyalty to Hilton & Hampton Inn- Bakersfield. The employees and I love having you stay here with us. It is guests like you that make it so easy for us to do our jobs with a smile. Please stop by again if you are in need of hotel accommodations in the future while visiting Bakersfield. As always it was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We love having you here, and hope you stay with us again. Until next time, have a nice day.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Marchand
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My parents were in the process of packing up their house and moving. We unexpectedly needed a place to stay the last 3 nights since the movers came early and we were not scheduled to leave town for 3 more days. So at the last minute we called Hampton Inn on Oak St. My parents, sister, grandmother and I used this great place as our "home for the homeless". It was PERFECT for what we needed! My father is battling cancer, so he could retreat to the hotel during the day when he was getting too tired. My elderly grandmother didn't have to walk too far to have a wonderful and nutritious breakfast. And having a clean, comfortable room each day during this stressful time was a great stress reliever. The hotel is exactly what you would expect from a Hampton Inn - warm & comfortable with a great breakfast to get your day started right!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,
I am so pleased to hear that you felt that our hotel was your home away from home during such a stressful time. Thank you for writing this review. The employees and I love having you stay here with us. It is guests like you that make it so easy for us to do our jobs with a smile. We hope that your move went smoothly and you are safe and comfortable where you are now. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Marchand
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Address: 1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#10 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central is conveniently located in central Bakersfield. We are close to many restaurants, Camelot miniature golf park, Robabank Convention Center, Movie theatres, shopping malls, and so much more. Our staff is fast, friendly and efficient, ready to take care of our guests' every need as best as possible. Our rooms are clean, comfortable, and roomy. With complete fresh linens including our comforters washed daily. Complimentary Deluxe breakfast buffet daily and "On the go breakfast bags" available Monday thru Friday. Complimentary High speed wireless internet. "We love having you here". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.