We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordability, Location, & Recently Remodeled + Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Medford, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Affordability, Location, & Recently Remodeled + Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our one-night stay at this hotel. We found the rate to be both reasonable and comparable to similar hotels in the area. Although the hotel was undergoing renovations, we were not impacted. Our room had already been remodeled - the furniture and decor was stylish and simple. The BED was amazing! I always request a clean bedspread and extra pillows, which is exactly what I received - lots of clean, fluffy pillows and a plump duvet with a fresh white cover. So comfy!

The breakfast was exactly what we expected and was the main reason we chose this hotel over other area hotels. It was well stocked, and when I accidentally spilled milk, the staff was right there to clean it. Fresh waffles, real egg omelettes, a selection of hot and cold cereals and muffins, plus fruit and beverages.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We had no trouble accessing wifi during our stay. The hotel is centrally located and easy to find. Our children enjoyed the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west are closer to the freeway and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for for all your positive feedback of our hotel. Renovations can be a little chaotic and messy, but I am happy to hear that this did not effect your stay with us. I hope that if you are ever in the area and need a place to stay you will remember us. Thank you again.

Jennifer Marchand
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    75
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
52
56
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My daughter stayed here recently while driving from Arizona to Oregon. She had a very comfortable and restful night. The staff allowed her to park where they could keep an eye on her truck which was full of all her belongings. Thank you Hampton for providing a safe place for her to stop!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
I am glad to hear that your daughter found our property safe and welcoming during her trip. Safety and security are among our top priorities for our guests here. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate the feedback from our guests.

Jennifer Marchand
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Hampton Inns never let me down and this is now another one that I've enjoyed staying at. The bed was very comfortable including the pillows. Above all the service was great! It was a young woman in the evening that checked us in. She is an asset to the hotel. There is a Chinese restaurant and Taco Bell nearby for convenience. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield- Central. I am also glad to hear that all of our accommodations suited your needs during your stay. Our staff takes pride in what they do every day and I am glad that it does not go unnoticed. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Thank you
Jennifer Marchand
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nice rooms. The pool is quite small but clean. A very good choice of breakfast items and spacious breakfast area.
We did think this motel was quite expensive although we looked at a couple of others and they were very run down .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I am glad to read that you found our accommodations very nice and that you were satisfied with your stay. The rate during this time of year is pretty standard at this hotel. Weekends are usually cheaper than the weekdays because there is a lot of corporate business. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate the review.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Marchand
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is centrally located in the heart of Bakersfield making it easy to access most of what you may be needing. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the hotel itself was extremely clean. The breakfast could use a little help (needs to be warmer) but good none the less to have something more than a muffin. It was also nice to see the security and know that the entire hotel: inside and out (I even saw them on our floor) was being cared for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that your stay was 100% satisfying. Your safety and security are most important to us here at the Hampton Inn and I am glad you felt safe. If you are ever traveling through Bakersfield again please come back and stay with us. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Marchand
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Hospitality and Service is exceptional. It's rare that 'individuals' go out of their way to assist with the littlest of requests and I sincerely appreciate their service. I enjoy the Hampton Inns here in California and out-of-state. I was recently asked to go to Miami and what was my hotel of choice...the Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you again for all your great compliments about our staff and hotel. You have truely become like one of our family members here at the Hampton Inn and we look forward to your visits with us each time. We love having you here and can not wait to see you on your next visit.

Thank you again so much!
Sincerely,
Jennifer Marchand
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

When we travel it's usually one night stops until we get to our destination. So what we are looking for is clean and comfortable. It seemed clean but I think they need to have there carpets stretched. At the front door in the room there were humps of carpet that you can trip on. And whats up with the recliner in the room and not a small couch. I like the small couch so i can spread out and look into the next days planning the recliner won't let me do this. Also not much available for breakfast for those of us who are gluten intolerant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to voice your comments and concerns regarding our Hampton Inn. As you might have seen when you stayed with us recently, we are undergoing a complete renovation. All of our guest rooms will be made over from floor to ceiling, along with new furniture in between. As for our breakfast menu, I will definitely look into more gluten intolerant options to add to our menu. Comments like yours help us to better serve others with the same issues and we really value your opinions. We hope you come back soon and see all of our new upgrades that will be taking place within the next couple of months. We love having you here.

Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Marchand
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Address: 1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#5 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central is conveniently located in central Bakersfield. We are close to many restaurants, Camelot miniature golf park, Robabank Convention Center, Movie theatres, shopping malls, and so much more. Our staff is fast, friendly and efficient, ready to take care of our guests' every need as best as possible. Our rooms are clean, comfortable, and roomy. With complete fresh linens including our comforters washed daily. Complimentary Deluxe breakfast buffet daily and "On the go breakfast bags" available Monday thru Friday. Complimentary High speed wireless internet. "We love having you here". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.