We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Cave Creek, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Right on our way from Phoenix to San Francisco. Very clean and possibly newly renovated bathrooms. We got a large room with a couch bed along with the king size bed, cable, HBO, WiFi, refrig, microwave, coffee maker and hair dryer. Well equipped rooms. The free breakfast was the best in many places we have stayed. Many restaurants within walking distance, a COCO's is behind the hotel. Right off the main road but quiet in the rooms. Shopping is close by and ample parking. I'd come back with no problem.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield- Central. Yes, our bathrooms are currently being remodeled. Our rooms will also start being remodeled starting next month. Thank you for such great reviews on all our amenities we offer. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Thank you.
Jennifer Marchand
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    71
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
49
52
15
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
guinda, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Awesome breakfast!! The room was clean and quiet. The bathroom was very spacious. There are many resturants within close walking distance! Great experience! I would reccomend this hotel to anyone who is needing a place to stay in Bakersfield.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for all your awesome feedback. I love to hear that you will recommend our hotel to others that travel this way. Word of mouth is always the best kind of advertisement any business could ask for.

Thank you again,
Jennifer Marchand
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunica, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Resv made on Expedia end up approx $77 a night for 2 queen beds, comp breakfast, A/C, cool swimming pool, walk to Camelot Park (Scandia), easy access to shopping & a variety of restaurants & fast food. Two days for my almost 10 yr old to spend with one of his best friends that moved to Bakersfield a year ago from Northern CA. Next stop Santa Monica then off to Catalina for a week.
This hotel is simple, clean & accommodating. Thanks!! Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: We chose the 2nd floor, facing the parking lot, quiet, the A/C running the whole time may have block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear you and your families stay was nice and you also enjoyed all the amenities our hotel has to offer. We hope to see you and your family again soon.
We love having you here.

Thank you again,
Jennifer Marchand
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Not a great Hampton property, though they are doing some refurbishing, so that may change. But the construction wasn't really the problem here. I only heard a little of that when we first got to our room.

The service wasn't up to par for me. I had made online reservations about 6 weeks ago for this stay and just happened to check the hotel's site before we checked in and found that their site was $20 less for the same type of room than what I had booked. I mentioned that to the person at the desk when I checked in and she said that was an Internet price and she couldn't match it. I told her that I had booked our stay on the Internet and he continued to deny that she could match it. So I told her if I had to I would cancel our current reservations and rebook at the cheaper price. *crickets* as she typed in her keyboard for a minute and then she pulled out our key cards and mumbled that she had changed our reservation to the less expensive Internet price that she had just told me minutes before she couldn't match. I guess I should be happy that she changed it, but I wouldn't think it should be that hard to get when that is their current going rate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield- Central. I am sorry that you did not have a pleasent experience with our front desk staff when you checked in. I hope you give us another chance to show you the customer service that Hampton Inn is known for.

Thank you,
Jennifer Marchand
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

As a Hilton Honors member I had the opportunity to use reward points for my recent trip into Bakersfield. I chose this hotel because of it's central location.... and I am glad I did!
Located at Oak street and California avenue it is in a very convenient section close to many great restaurants and government offices. The staff and service at the hotel were very accommodating and professional. I was very pleased with the exceptionally clean room and bedding! The complementary breakfast and coffee center was excellent! While not a large full service Hilton, I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I am so glad to hear that your stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield- Central was a great time. Thank you for all your positive feedback in this review. We take great pride in our customer service and amenities that we provide here. Thank you for choosing our hotel out of all the other choices throughout Bakersfield. We look forward to your next visit with us. We love having you here.

Thank you.
Jennifer Marchand
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Jennifer and Shawna are a shining example of Hampton Inn's service. This is one of Hampton's older properties but the staff and cleanliness were excellent! I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Bakersfield.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for all your fantastic comments. It was a great joy to have your group of young all stars stay with us. They were one of the best groups we have had. We look forward to your future business with us. We loved having you here.

Thank You,
Jennifer Marchand
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Our first choice hotel was full, so we ended up here. The best part was breakfast with a great selection of eggs, oatmeal, cereals, fruit, the requisite waffles, and good coffee. The rooms were very clean and quiet. The pool was small and wasn't clean. My kids were in and out in 15 minutes. The staff were friendly and helpful and suggested a great Mexican place down the road 1/2 a mile.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are happy to hear your stay with us at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield- Central was satisfactory. We are also glad that you and your family found our breakfast had a great selection to choose from. Hampton Inn's always have a great variety of breakfast items. We hope you stay with us again soon. We love having you here.

Thank You,
Jennifer Marchand
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Address: 1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#6 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central is conveniently located in central Bakersfield. We are close to many restaurants, Camelot miniature golf park, Robabank Convention Center, Movie theatres, shopping malls, and so much more. Our staff is fast, friendly and efficient, ready to take care of our guests' every need as best as possible. Our rooms are clean, comfortable, and roomy. With complete fresh linens including our comforters washed daily. Complimentary Deluxe breakfast buffet daily and "On the go breakfast bags" available Monday thru Friday. Complimentary High speed wireless internet. "We love having you here". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.