We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you want to stay in a nice hotel?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #5 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Whittier, United States
1 review
“you want to stay in a nice hotel?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you do? STAY AWAY FROM THIS ONE!!! Horrible service, dirty, room smelled and the location is horrible. The staff is the same way as the hotel. Sandie Cartwright the so called general manager has no people skills, no wonder the lack of customer service with her employees. I travel a lot and my stay at this hotel has been the worst experience I've had ever had.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I do appologize that you feel our Hotel was not a good experience for you. We do take well care of our guests and I have an awesome team that strives to be their very best. They all have great customer service skills, sorry if you felt otherwise.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    57
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
43
14
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were in Bakersfield because of a Hot Rod Show at the Kern County Fairgrounds. Turned out that several cars in the parking lot were there for the same reason and we had a mini car show in the parking lot. Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We appreciate your review on our Hotel. So glad you enjoyed your selves and your stay. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed one night. We asked for a handi-cap room. It was very nice and clean on the 3rd floor. The was staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet was very good. Excellent location one block off the freeway. Many restaurants to choose from. I would stay here again. Carlos

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on our Hotel, Hampton Inn Bakersfield Central. I am so happy that your stay with us was satisfactory and comfortable. We strive to make sure all our guests are pleased and satisfied 100% with their stay. We are very happy you stayed with us as your choice hotel. Hope to see you in the future again.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel and staff were outstanding. The complimentary breakfast was just what I needed to get the day going. The room was quiet and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again when passing through Bakersfield.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are so pleased you were satified and enjoyed your stay here with us at The Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. We strive to make sure all our guests are comfortable and accomadated. We look forward to having you here with us again in the future.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

On route from Vegas to Yosemite, I spend one night in the Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. The hotel is a very good place for a stopover close by the freeway and a number of restaurants within walking distance. At a little over $100 (tax included) a night there are cheaper hotels in the area, but this is one with comfort. Although the freeway is very near, I didn't hear any traffic. The staff at the hotel is pleasant, the rooms large enough and there is a swimming pool. Check-inn and check-out were very efficient. I can certainly reccommend this hotel to anyone passing by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank You so much for your kind words on our property. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do hope to see you again with us soon. We love having you here,
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I wasn't expecting the level of service or the comfort provided by this hotel, a very pleasant surprise. I would definitely stay here again when in Bakersfield. Very convenient location, feels safe, could use more lighting in the parking lot. Thank you for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank You so much for your great review on our Hotel. We appreciate any and all feedback from our valued guests. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again in the future. We love having you here.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager-Hampton Inn Bakersfield Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed 4 nights and received exceptional service each day. Great breakfast buffet, accommodating staff, and excellent housekeeping service for an extended stay. Really enjoyed heated pool - great on cool evenings. Will defiantly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank You so very much for all your wonderful comments on our Hotel and our staff. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the service you recived as well. We look foward to having you here with us again.
Thank You
Sandie Carwtright
General Manager-Hampton Inn Bakersfield Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Address: 1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#9 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central is conveniently located in central Bakersfield. We are close to many restaurants, Camelot miniature golf park, Robabank Convention Center, Movie theatres, shopping malls, and so much more. Our staff is fast, friendly and efficient, ready to take care of our guests' every need as best as possible. Our rooms are clean, comfortable, and roomy. With complete fresh linens including our comforters washed daily. Complimentary Deluxe breakfast buffet daily and "On the go breakfast bags" available Monday thru Friday. Complimentary High speed wireless internet. "We love having you here". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.