We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #5 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Comfortable, Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed 4 nights and received exceptional service each day. Great breakfast buffet, accommodating staff, and excellent housekeeping service for an extended stay. Really enjoyed heated pool - great on cool evenings. Will defiantly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank You so very much for all your wonderful comments on our Hotel and our staff. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the service you recived as well. We look foward to having you here with us again.
Thank You
Sandie Carwtright
General Manager-Hampton Inn Bakersfield Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    59
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
43
14
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pefferlaw, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have stayed here a few times as feel safe there as a woman travelling alone. It is clean, and the staff are very friendly. I am also a light sleeper and have never found noise to be a problem there.
The breakfast area is a bit small, but everyone is so friendly that you just join in, or grab a comfy couch, to grab a quick bite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank You so much for your great review on our Hotel. We always appreciate all feed back. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are under going some big renovations and we will be enlarging our breakfast area as well. Hope you come back and see all our wonderful changes coming this year. We love having you here.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolville, OH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our rooms were clean and spacious. Service was great. Location was convinient. Breakfast was good. We stayed with a group and had 4 rooms and they were able to keep our rooms together. Overall a good value for business travel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank You so much for staying with us at the hampton Inn bakersfield-Central. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

They actually have food a person on a gluten free diet can eat! A welcome sight for those of us who can't eat muffins, toast, etc. The rooms were clean and I loved the lightweight comforter with the clean duvet cover. A great idea for making the rooms fresh and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. We strive to ensure all guests are satisfied during their stay and hope to see you here with us again soon.
Thank You
Sandie Carwtright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

For two reasons I gave it a 4 overall and not a 5. First, they do not have guest laundry. There are very few Hampton's out there that don't. And second. This is the first Hampton that I have found that has a fitness center, but no treadmill. I do commend them for making an effort, as there are still a few that have nothing. The staff is great. The rooms are super clean. Very good breakfast. My rate was $89 which I think was very reasonable. I don't think anyone should be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback on our property here in Bakersfield. We are undergoing major renovations this year and we will have a great new fitness center " with treadmill" , a new lobby, new breakfast area and so much more. I am very pleased however that your stay was satisfying. We hope you come back and see us as well as all our wonderful changes. As well thank you for the compliments of our staff too. They are a great staff and work hard to make all guests feel comfortable.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This Hampton is a little tired around the edges. Nice staff and all. Just hasn't been given a thorough refurbishing in awhile. It's in a drab area, but conveniently freeway close. Not far from the Grapevine. I wouldn't stay here on a vacation, but for business travel, it was merely acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel Yes we are a bit dated although, we are starting major renovations from the inside to the outside of our Hotel. We have a wonderful staff here and glad they took care of you. We hope to see you here again and you can see all our fabulous and wonderful changes to the Hotel. I am excited to see the changes as well as excited for all our wonderful guests to see it and experience our Hamptonality.

Thank You
Sandie Carwtright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stopped here overnight based on the Trip Advisor reviews which gave it good ratings so there were pretty much no surprises. This inn is located right off Hwy 99 and has several reasonable restaurants very nearby. The hotel sits perpendicular to the highway so no rooms are blasted by the noise. Our room was near the entrance and was quiet. The post-it on the bed says the duvet cover and sheets have been washed between guests. I like that! The complimentary breakfast good ,.. even a little better than other comparable hotels. It had hot oatmeal, string cheese, and was kept stocked and clean. The wi-fi worked in the room. The room was a reasonable size and everything worked, even the refrigerator and microwave. Only one problem ... we had room 113 near the front entrance on the main floor. When we turned out the lights a bit after 11 PM, we discovered there was a very large floodlight directly below our window. The black-out curtains did absolutely nothing to prevent bright light from seeping in all around the curtains and lighting up the room for the whole night. It was a bit late to ask to change rooms so --- great rooms except for this one if you want a dark room to sleep in.

Room Tip: Avoid room 113 and the floodlight below the window. Ask for a second floor room or one not on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments on our property. We are going through some major renovations and the lighting will be a definite change we will be doing. We are so happy you were satisfied with your stay and we hope to see you in the near furture again. We strive to satisfy each and every guest and make your stay as comfortable as can be.

Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
Free internet...
Show More
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#2 of 57 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 57 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
#11 of 57 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Address: 1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#11 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central is conveniently located in central Bakersfield. We are close to many restaurants, Camelot miniature golf park, Robabank Convention Center, Movie theatres, shopping malls, and so much more. Our staff is fast, friendly and efficient, ready to take care of our guests' every need as best as possible. Our rooms are clean, comfortable, and roomy. With complete fresh linens including our comforters washed daily. Complimentary Deluxe breakfast buffet daily and "On the go breakfast bags" available Monday thru Friday. Complimentary High speed wireless internet. "We love having you here". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.