We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #5 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

They actually have food a person on a gluten free diet can eat! A welcome sight for those of us who can't eat muffins, toast, etc. The rooms were clean and I loved the lightweight comforter with the clean duvet cover. A great idea for making the rooms fresh and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. We strive to ensure all guests are satisfied during their stay and hope to see you here with us again soon.
Thank You
Sandie Carwtright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    52
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
34
14
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

For two reasons I gave it a 4 overall and not a 5. First, they do not have guest laundry. There are very few Hampton's out there that don't. And second. This is the first Hampton that I have found that has a fitness center, but no treadmill. I do commend them for making an effort, as there are still a few that have nothing. The staff is great. The rooms are super clean. Very good breakfast. My rate was $89 which I think was very reasonable. I don't think anyone should be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback on our property here in Bakersfield. We are undergoing major renovations this year and we will have a great new fitness center " with treadmill" , a new lobby, new breakfast area and so much more. I am very pleased however that your stay was satisfying. We hope you come back and see us as well as all our wonderful changes. As well thank you for the compliments of our staff too. They are a great staff and work hard to make all guests feel comfortable.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This Hampton is a little tired around the edges. Nice staff and all. Just hasn't been given a thorough refurbishing in awhile. It's in a drab area, but conveniently freeway close. Not far from the Grapevine. I wouldn't stay here on a vacation, but for business travel, it was merely acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel Yes we are a bit dated although, we are starting major renovations from the inside to the outside of our Hotel. We have a wonderful staff here and glad they took care of you. We hope to see you here again and you can see all our fabulous and wonderful changes to the Hotel. I am excited to see the changes as well as excited for all our wonderful guests to see it and experience our Hamptonality.

Thank You
Sandie Carwtright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stopped here overnight based on the Trip Advisor reviews which gave it good ratings so there were pretty much no surprises. This inn is located right off Hwy 99 and has several reasonable restaurants very nearby. The hotel sits perpendicular to the highway so no rooms are blasted by the noise. Our room was near the entrance and was quiet. The post-it on the bed says the duvet cover and sheets have been washed between guests. I like that! The complimentary breakfast good ,.. even a little better than other comparable hotels. It had hot oatmeal, string cheese, and was kept stocked and clean. The wi-fi worked in the room. The room was a reasonable size and everything worked, even the refrigerator and microwave. Only one problem ... we had room 113 near the front entrance on the main floor. When we turned out the lights a bit after 11 PM, we discovered there was a very large floodlight directly below our window. The black-out curtains did absolutely nothing to prevent bright light from seeping in all around the curtains and lighting up the room for the whole night. It was a bit late to ask to change rooms so --- great rooms except for this one if you want a dark room to sleep in.

Room Tip: Avoid room 113 and the floodlight below the window. Ask for a second floor room or one not on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments on our property. We are going through some major renovations and the lighting will be a definite change we will be doing. We are so happy you were satisfied with your stay and we hope to see you in the near furture again. We strive to satisfy each and every guest and make your stay as comfortable as can be.

Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The service and friendliness of it's staff can't be beat ! Love the crisp, clean white linen throughout the beds. The best variety of any continental breakfast ! ON OUR NEXT TRIP TO BAKERSFIELD ,WE WILL DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield Central. We strive to make sure all our guests are comfortable and satisied 100%. Thabk you for your kind review, we appreciate any and all feed back from you our valuable guests. We hope to see you here again in the future.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Hampton Inn for a business purposes for a week. this is a green hotel, clean, and good service. There is a post note on your headboard saying that the duvet cover was clean prior to your arrival. I believed every customer will expect their bed cleaned prior to their arrival. Overall I have a good stay. The housekeeping making sure your supplies are replenish daily. Breakfast to go are enough to give you a good starter in the morning. The location of this hotel is also close to the freeway, this make it easy to go anywhere i need. I will stay again in this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We want to always make sure you our wonderful guests are happy and satisfied during every part of your stay. We do hope to have you here with us again at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield Central.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rives Junction, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed one night for less than $100 and were pleased with Hampton. The room was quite large, we did not have a reservation but there were rooms available and they didn't beat us up on price for just showing up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice response to our Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you here again with us.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central Hotel Bakersfield
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central Hotel
Hampton Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn
Address: 1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#10 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central is conveniently located in central Bakersfield. We are close to many restaurants, Camelot miniature golf park, Robabank Convention Center, Movie theatres, shopping malls, and so much more. Our staff is fast, friendly and efficient, ready to take care of our guests' every need as best as possible. Our rooms are clean, comfortable, and roomy. With complete fresh linens including our comforters washed daily. Complimentary Deluxe breakfast buffet daily and "On the go breakfast bags" available Monday thru Friday. Complimentary High speed wireless internet. "We love having you here". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.