We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That is the Hampton inn......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“That is the Hampton inn......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Hampton Inn for a business purposes for a week. this is a green hotel, clean, and good service. There is a post note on your headboard saying that the duvet cover was clean prior to your arrival. I believed every customer will expect their bed cleaned prior to their arrival. Overall I have a good stay. The housekeeping making sure your supplies are replenish daily. Breakfast to go are enough to give you a good starter in the morning. The location of this hotel is also close to the freeway, this make it easy to go anywhere i need. I will stay again in this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We want to always make sure you our wonderful guests are happy and satisfied during every part of your stay. We do hope to have you here with us again at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield Central.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    75
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
52
56
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rives Junction, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed one night for less than $100 and were pleased with Hampton. The room was quite large, we did not have a reservation but there were rooms available and they didn't beat us up on price for just showing up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice response to our Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you here again with us.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hampton Inn's are a great place to stay. The rooms are always clean and fresh smelling and I never really feel I'm staying in a hotel room. I like the fact that they clean their bedspreads for each guest and clean only the towels as necessary if you're staying more than one night. The breakfast offered in the morning is more than adequate and very fresh and accomodating. Their coffee and tea sellections are outstanding and I've been staying in the Hampton Inn's for the past several years, just because they're living up to their brand and I can count on a pleasant stay each time I visit. The staff was very friendly and helpful and I would recommend Hampton Inn's to anyone. This location was right off the freeway with plenty of eateries and gas stations to serve anyone's needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are so happy you stay with us was a great one. We always appreciate our guests comments on our hotel. Our guests are our #1 priority and to make sure you are comfortable and satisfied always. Thank you for your wonderful words about our hotel. We love having you here and hope to see you here with us again soon.
Thank You
Sandie Carwtright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. We have stayed at several other Hampton Inns, so compared to other properties, the hotel is a bit old, and the rooms need to be remodeled. The room was very clean and comfortable, but the carpet was older, and the room had a popcorn ceiling. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and gave my kids some cookies upon arrival.
We were also, surprised at the great breakfast the next morning. It seemed to have more/better selections that other Hampton Inns. The breakfast had hot items (Sausages and French Toast), Waffles, many pastries and donuts, bagels w/ crema cheese, fresh Oatmeal with almond toppings, and dried fruits, small boxes of cereals, yogurts, small boxes of raisins, mints, hard boiled eggs, croissants, etc. and they kept refilling all the selections constantly.
There is also Free Wi-Fi and Free Parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I am so very pleased you had a wonderful stay here with us. We always appreciate guest feed back, and I thank you so much for all your kind words. Our guests are very important to us, and we want to make sure each stay is enjoyable. Thank you again and we hope to see you here with us again in the future.
Thank You
Sandie Carwtright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went there for one night, to go to Ernst Quarry. Centrally located but nothing really much to do in Bakersfield. Good breakfast, good internet connection, gave us a late check-out, room was clean and the staff friendly. I would suggest it to anyone in need of a night or two in the area. There is also an outdoor pool but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank You so much for your kind words on our hampton Inn bakersfield. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again in the future. Happy New Year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

It's our first stay at the Hampton Inn and we're not disappointed. The receptionist was very friendly although we didn't have any advanced reservation and it was already 10:30 at night. Beds are comfortable. Free parking, internet and breakfast. The room is clean and have an extra place to place our luggage. The only complaint I have is the wall A/C, it is quite noisy. I tried to use low setting but it didn't do anything. Most of wall A/Cs are noisy unfortunately and the setting is just there but didn't make any difference. The room is spacious and they have a charge station for computers and electronics which is really nice. Overall it's a very nice hotel and if we happen to be in the area, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you here with us again. We strive to make sure that every guest is comfortable and satisfied during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel personnel are very friendly and courteous which pushed this review from "good" to "very good". It's just your basic Hampton Inn, but they provide some extras that are very nice : Cookies at check-in, peanut butter or chocolate chip and you can get coffee and some other beverages at any time in the breakfast area. Starting at 6am, you can get a pretty decent breakfast with the usual, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, waffles and small egg omelets. We were there for a Sunday morning and I thought it may be busy but it never got over crowded and the staff kept the breakfast items full and the area clean. The beds were comfortable but I would ask for a room on the highest floor, since the guests above us had very heavy feet. Overall, a clean and comfortable hotel stay, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful words about our Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. We are so happy to have you here with us and that your experience was good. The staff here goes above and beyond and always has a can do attitude, to ensure every guest feels at home. We hope to see you again here with us in the near future.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright-General Manager
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Address: 1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#5 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central is conveniently located in central Bakersfield. We are close to many restaurants, Camelot miniature golf park, Robabank Convention Center, Movie theatres, shopping malls, and so much more. Our staff is fast, friendly and efficient, ready to take care of our guests' every need as best as possible. Our rooms are clean, comfortable, and roomy. With complete fresh linens including our comforters washed daily. Complimentary Deluxe breakfast buffet daily and "On the go breakfast bags" available Monday thru Friday. Complimentary High speed wireless internet. "We love having you here". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.