We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel personnel are very friendly and courteous which pushed this review from "good" to "very good". It's just your basic Hampton Inn, but they provide some extras that are very nice : Cookies at check-in, peanut butter or chocolate chip and you can get coffee and some other beverages at any time in the breakfast area. Starting at 6am, you can get a pretty decent breakfast with the usual, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, waffles and small egg omelets. We were there for a Sunday morning and I thought it may be busy but it never got over crowded and the staff kept the breakfast items full and the area clean. The beds were comfortable but I would ask for a room on the highest floor, since the guests above us had very heavy feet. Overall, a clean and comfortable hotel stay, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful words about our Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. We are so happy to have you here with us and that your experience was good. The staff here goes above and beyond and always has a can do attitude, to ensure every guest feels at home. We hope to see you again here with us in the near future.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright-General Manager
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    77
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
54
59
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We just needed a place to stay for one night on our way to Vegas. Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central was right along our route. We found this to be a clean quite place with very comfortable beds. Nice breakfast to get you going for the day, is available from 6AM to 10AM. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank You for your wonderful comments on our Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. We our very pleased you enjoyed your stay and chose our hotel. We strive to make sure every guest is very comfortable and satisfied with their stay. We hope to see you again, we love having you here.
Thanl You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager-Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Needed a place just for one night, both coming and going on a longer trip. Hampton Inns are a good choice for one night. Basic and good breakfast bar. I have stayed at 10 or 12 Hampton's over the last three years and haven't hit a bad one yet. Good rates too.

Room Tip: Stay on the side away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are very happy you chose our Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central to stay at. We always appreciate kind words from our valued guests. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright-General Manager
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was traveling through California and had to stop for a night. This hotel offered good value, nothing special otherwise. I found the front desk to examine my passport for a little longer than I would have liked but nothing overly annoying. There was this weird TV show running during breakfast and again the lady at the front desk did not know what it was and who sets the TV either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments on our hotel Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. I'm glad you had a good stay and we hope to see you here again in the near future.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright-General Manager
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

clean ,good value, excellent staff, choice of breakfast could not fault location might not suit everybody but we found it very convenient for us would definitely stay again pool is at back of hotel so does not get sun until late afternoon but we did not use. saw people in it and seemed happy enough. we had a room on ground floor very close to main road and noise was NOT a problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your stay here with us at the Hampton Inn bakersfield Central. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon in the near future. We strive to make every guest comfortable and enjoy a home away from home.
Thank You for your kind words and response to your hotel stay. We appreciate all feedback always.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

After arriving in LAX airport at 2pm on a flight from the uk we wanted to put a bit of distance between us and Los Angeles. Came across this hotel on the way up highway 99. While the area is not that great the hotel is very clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff were also very friendly and welcoming. It is easily accessible from highway 99. There are a couple of reasonable restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time out to give your response. We value all our guests and want them to have the best experience they can possibly have, being away from home. We hope to see you soon again.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Hampton Inn Bakersfield- Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stopped here with my family on our way to Vegas... very friendly staff, clean rooms, good beds, and and breakfast incl the morning after... :) Very good price, all in all, a good stay !!

Room Tip: Close to the freeway, so some noise is to be expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We are so glad you stayed with us here at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield Central. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable, as well as you enjoyed our great breakfast. We thank you for choosing us to stay with and hope to see you here with us again. We love having you here.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Address: 1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#6 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central is conveniently located in central Bakersfield. We are close to many restaurants, Camelot miniature golf park, Robabank Convention Center, Movie theatres, shopping malls, and so much more. Our staff is fast, friendly and efficient, ready to take care of our guests' every need as best as possible. Our rooms are clean, comfortable, and roomy. With complete fresh linens including our comforters washed daily. Complimentary Deluxe breakfast buffet daily and "On the go breakfast bags" available Monday thru Friday. Complimentary High speed wireless internet. "We love having you here". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.