We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #5 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Ripon, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Met our Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We just needed a place to stay for one night on our way to Vegas. Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central was right along our route. We found this to be a clean quite place with very comfortable beds. Nice breakfast to get you going for the day, is available from 6AM to 10AM. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank You for your wonderful comments on our Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. We our very pleased you enjoyed your stay and chose our hotel. We strive to make sure every guest is very comfortable and satisfied with their stay. We hope to see you again, we love having you here.
Thanl You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager-Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    62
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
44
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Needed a place just for one night, both coming and going on a longer trip. Hampton Inns are a good choice for one night. Basic and good breakfast bar. I have stayed at 10 or 12 Hampton's over the last three years and haven't hit a bad one yet. Good rates too.

Room Tip: Stay on the side away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are very happy you chose our Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central to stay at. We always appreciate kind words from our valued guests. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright-General Manager
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was traveling through California and had to stop for a night. This hotel offered good value, nothing special otherwise. I found the front desk to examine my passport for a little longer than I would have liked but nothing overly annoying. There was this weird TV show running during breakfast and again the lady at the front desk did not know what it was and who sets the TV either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments on our hotel Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. I'm glad you had a good stay and we hope to see you here again in the near future.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright-General Manager
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

clean ,good value, excellent staff, choice of breakfast could not fault location might not suit everybody but we found it very convenient for us would definitely stay again pool is at back of hotel so does not get sun until late afternoon but we did not use. saw people in it and seemed happy enough. we had a room on ground floor very close to main road and noise was NOT a problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your stay here with us at the Hampton Inn bakersfield Central. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon in the near future. We strive to make every guest comfortable and enjoy a home away from home.
Thank You for your kind words and response to your hotel stay. We appreciate all feedback always.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

After arriving in LAX airport at 2pm on a flight from the uk we wanted to put a bit of distance between us and Los Angeles. Came across this hotel on the way up highway 99. While the area is not that great the hotel is very clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff were also very friendly and welcoming. It is easily accessible from highway 99. There are a couple of reasonable restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time out to give your response. We value all our guests and want them to have the best experience they can possibly have, being away from home. We hope to see you soon again.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Hampton Inn Bakersfield- Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stopped here with my family on our way to Vegas... very friendly staff, clean rooms, good beds, and and breakfast incl the morning after... :) Very good price, all in all, a good stay !!

Room Tip: Close to the freeway, so some noise is to be expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We are so glad you stayed with us here at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield Central. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable, as well as you enjoyed our great breakfast. We thank you for choosing us to stay with and hope to see you here with us again. We love having you here.
Thank You
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I am currently sitting in the bed of our hotel room at the Hampton Inn Bakersfield Central. We have a single room with two queen size beds, and it has exceeded our expectations. A large flat-screen tv, microwave, and a large for its size mini-fridge. The room is very clean, and doesn't smell like a typical hotel room. Our favorite part is that on each bed lays a sticky note which reads "duvet covers and sheets are clean for your arrival". Now, in all hotels, the sheets are clean (or are supposed to be), but this hotel also washes the duvet covers after each room has been used! Most hotels have germ and dust infected nasty spreads, but these are perfectly white and in pristine condition. They smell wonderful and are visibly freshly washed.
The staff so far has been helpful and friendly.
We are only here for one night, but would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again.
Thank you, Hampton Inn Bakersfield!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful response. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Balersfield Central. Our staff strives on great customer service, clean rooms, and a comfortable stay. We love having you here, and hope to see you again in the near future,
Sincerley
Sandie Cartwright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Address: 1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#11 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central is conveniently located in central Bakersfield. We are close to many restaurants, Camelot miniature golf park, Robabank Convention Center, Movie theatres, shopping malls, and so much more. Our staff is fast, friendly and efficient, ready to take care of our guests' every need as best as possible. Our rooms are clean, comfortable, and roomy. With complete fresh linens including our comforters washed daily. Complimentary Deluxe breakfast buffet daily and "On the go breakfast bags" available Monday thru Friday. Complimentary High speed wireless internet. "We love having you here". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.