We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay for out of town Relatives and Friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #5 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Bakersfield, California
1 review
“Excellent place to stay for out of town Relatives and Friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I am a resident of Bakersfield. I have friends and family that from time to time come visit from out of town. While here, I always book them rooms at this same Hampton Inn. The quality of customer service that I experience starting from when I book the rooms all the way until I check them out is always consistent with a smile. The beds are extremely comfortable, so comfortable that I even stay the night sometimes and I live here. The breakfast is delicious with so many options to choose from, and served with a smile. Just recently they added new carpet and 32 in flat panel television which just made the hotel even better. The Wireless works great. The pool is cozy and relaxing. The price paid is WELL worth it. The hotel is centrally located and is only minutes from anything. Across the street there is Camelot Park- Family fun center with Go Carts, bumper boats, miniature golf, batting cages, a full arcade and snack bar, which is great for when I have family with kids in town, they just walk across the street. The hotel has a very knowledgeable staff that genuinely cares about their customers needs and expectations. For example, a friend of mine was staying in town and she was not familiar with Bakersfield. She asked the front desk clerk Jennifer for a recommendation for a nice scenic spot. She gave her directions to get to Hart Park, and on those directions she included the hotels telephone number in case she got lost. She had a great time and loved the views out there. Luckily the number was listed because what do you know, she did get lost on her way back. She called the hotel in a panic and was given the assurance by Billy that she will be ok and was given turn by turn directions while still on the phone back to the hotel. Now that is going above and beyond. Way To Go. The only downfall I have come across has been that their pool is not heated, which is ok in the summer because it gets hot here. 100% Satisfied

Room Tip: On a couple of occasions if needed they do have ajoining rooms. The ones I have gotten had a king in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I am glad that your family enjoys their visits to the Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. We currently are still working on some changes in the hotel. Hopefully in the near future you will be able to see all the new rennovations to come. Thank You once again for feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    62
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
44
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is one of the best hotels I've sayed in. A lot of comfort and coziness for the inexpensive rates!

STAFF
First off, the staff. They were completely wonderful and pleasant.
Billy at the front desk was more than helpful. He pointed me in the direction of some beautiful, fun, and exciting places. Without even asking, he printed maps and had had written extra directions and notes for me and surprised me with them almost daily! This guy knows how to go above and beyond and whatever he is making - I assure you, it's not enough!
Even when killing time or hanging out in the lobby before going on an adventure, the staff seemed interested in how your stay is going and what you have to say, even if it's just something as plain as the weather...definitely a pleasant reminder that there are still some good people out in the world.

HOTEL
The overall hotel - clean, clean, clean.
Big and clean bathroom with a curved/bowed out shower rod so you aren't cramped in (also equiped with plenty of towels.
Nice 32 inch flat panel, with great reception and channel selection.
COMFORTABLE BED AND PILLOWS!
Ad-free wi-fi access.
An alarm clock with battery backup and some dresser space in case you are staying for more than a day.
A phone in the room which I believe also has voice-mail.
A good sized mini-fridge (with some freezer space) as well as a microwave.
Nice free breakfast in the mornings with an option of a breakfast bag for the road if you're in a hurry...coffee is always full and ready to pour as well.
Pool looked really nice, though I didn't take advantage of it.
I didn't check out the fitness room, but the fact the the hotel even has one at it's low rates is amazing.
Everything in the place looks new and up-to-date.
They have a nice lobby with a couple of couches to sit on as well as some tables in the breakfast area to sit down and stuff your face.
They also have a "work/business station" that has a computer and printer to use.
They have security that keeps homeless people from pestering the guests.
Also a nice overhang at the front door in case it's raining when you check in.

LOCATION
Plenty of resturaunts and gas stations right across the road and honestly, not far from anything! About a 10 minute drive (including traffic) to stores and other resturaunts.
It's a very quiet hotel for being on such a busy/main street.
Entrance and exiting was very easy and convenient as well and the entrance to the freeway is literally about 1 minute away.

I'm sure there is tons more I'm forgetting to mention, but hey - you have to stop reading this and take your trip at some point.

Honestly, besides being in Cali with the nice weather and no work, I really was sad to check out. The staff are a bunch of friendly and great people that definitely are watching out for you and doing everything they can to make your stay the best possible while also trying to save you some cash!

If you're in Bakersfield, this is definitely the hotel you want to say at!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We value your positive feedback and hope you come vist again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I booked this hotel over others because of the free wifi and breakfast. Room was fine, nothing special but no issues. Wifi worked, and the breakfast was adequate. There's a Circle K convenience store across the street, a Chinese restaurant out front and a few fast food places nearby. Otherwise you'll have to drive to go eat.

Don't know if it's typical for Hampton Inns, but there's not a lot of public space for guests. The breakfast area gets very crowded and can't handle the pre-8 am rush of people, running out of tables. The workout room has just three exercise machines, an elliptical machine, a stair stepper and a stationary bike. Surprisingly, there's no treadmill. The pool is small and faces the parking lot in front of the freeway, not very attractive. Overall, the hotel is fine if you just need a room for a night, but would recommend staying somewhere with more amenities if your traveling for pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
We appreciate your review of our property. We have added many new upgrades and just completed some major renovations. We hope during your next visit to Bakersfield, you would come stay with us and take a look at our "New Look".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I can be short:

It was good!
Clean room
Clean bathroom
Good beds
Convenient in location towards sequoia
Pleasant staff
SUPER breakfast, very complete and included

Would surely stay here again (room with 2 queen beds)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Positives: staff was friendly and helpful, great location if you are on your way through, right next to HWY 99 and easy return to HWY 5 via Hwy 58), clean rooms, decent continental breakfast included.
Negatives: the hallway on the 3rd floor smelled like a smoking floor (it wasn't), the floors are creaky and we could hear the people in the room above us walk around

Room Tip: heard the rooms next to the Hwy are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
We apologize for any inconvience of noise you may have experienced during your stay. We do appreciate your comment, which will help to better take care of you "Our Guests". Very happy to here our staff was great. We would love to have you back next time your in Bakersfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

The room was no frills but clean and good for a short term stay. We had the top floor mid building so we were insulated from any street or freeway noise. Staff were friendly and complimentary breakfast was decent.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I always get top floor away from any streets.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time out for your review on our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Since your last stay we have upgrades on our property inside and out. We do hope to see you here with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

My son was going to Bakersfield on business and had booked his room earlier than I did. When we arrived, our two rooms were right across the hall from each other. The rooms were bright and airy. The breakfast room was well-stocked and welcoming. Since my son had the rental car during the three days we were there, I needed to travel to various sites by bus. The reception staff looked up the bus schedule and map, printed them out and gave them to me. I travelled to the shopping centre one day and enjoyed lunch and shopping there, and got back to the hotel unscathed. I went to the natural history museum downtown the next day and had a great time looking at the history of Bakersfield. The hotel was right near several good restaurants plus a few fast food places and a shopping area.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton100, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review of our Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central. We so appreciate your feedback and most of all appreciate you staying with us. Happy your experience with us was to your satisfaction. We love having you here, and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central

Address: 1017 Oak Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#11 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Bakersfield-Central is conveniently located in central Bakersfield. We are close to many restaurants, Camelot miniature golf park, Robabank Convention Center, Movie theatres, shopping malls, and so much more. Our staff is fast, friendly and efficient, ready to take care of our guests' every need as best as possible. Our rooms are clean, comfortable, and roomy. With complete fresh linens including our comforters washed daily. Complimentary Deluxe breakfast buffet daily and "On the go breakfast bags" available Monday thru Friday. Complimentary High speed wireless internet. "We love having you here". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.