We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was this really a Marriott?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center to your Saves list
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Bakersfield
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Was this really a Marriott?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

There aren't a lot of safe, decent places to stay in Bakersfield; however, this Marriott does not deserve a solid review simply because there are no other acceptable places in the area, as it does not live up to the Marriott reputation.

The entire place seems old and falling apart (much like the rest of Bakersfield). I was expecting at least the Marriott to be better than the surrounding area. The elevators are slow and the buttons don't always light up, so you're not sure if you're even going to the right floor. You have to put your room key into the elevator before hitting the floor, but that didn't always work before the elevator started moving, so you often miss your floor. The walls are paper thin. I should have taken pictures of the carpet in our room, as it had obvious mold stains. The carpet was deteriorating and dark, and was molding in many spots. The bed was a rock and, for someone who rarely complains about the bed (I can pretty much sleep anywhere), I had a terrible time falling asleep here. The internet took forever, and there was no fridge or microwave in the room. When I called the front desk to ask if there was a microwave in the lobby or restaurant area that a guest could use to heat something up, she rudely told me there were no microwaves in the building for guest use. Umm...it's a Marriott and it's 2014. I've stayed at sleazy motels where there is a microwave set up for guest use, if there is not one provided in the hotel room. If there is no microwave at all, at least let me heat it up in the restaurant microwave! So there went my dinner. Later in our stay, the bartender on Sunday night was completely rude and ignored us for 14 minutes before even acknowledging we were seated in front of him. He slowly made his way around the bar, didn't even glance at us as we sat down, and then headed out of the bar to check on customers in the restaurant area. I understand he was probably stressed, but he shouldn't have taken that out on his customers. Everyone at the bar was grumbling. The only laundry facility for a 9-story building was in a room straight from a Law & Order episode, with only two washers. Overall, I expected WAY more from a Marriott.

The only pro would be its location, as it is adjacent to the Convention Center. Stay somewhere outside of Bakersfield and drive to the Convention Center. You're paying for parking at the Center regardless, and you'll have a much better experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    88
    39
    14
    13
See reviews for
35
42
13
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is my second stay at this property in 6 months and this time I was upgraded to a suite. The person who checked me in, Sara, was the only positive experience I had while staying at the property. When I walked into the suite, I felt like I walked back in time. All the furniture, except the TV's, were from the 60's and 70's. No desk for a business traveler, only a round dining room table with 4 chairs. The chairs were definitely dated and very uncomfortable. The finish on the dining room table was peeling, yuck!

As a Platinum Elite member, I has access to the Concierge Lounge. They served Sushi and Fried Won Tons. I cannot comment on the Sushi, since I am allergic to seafood. In regards to the Fried Won Ton, they were cold, hard and tasteless. They had carrots and celery on a separate plate and it looked like they were just thrown onto the plate, no presentation. In my opinion, it looked like the bare minimum was provided in the Lounge.

In addition, I had an issue with one of the TV's in the room. Just before going to bed, I turned on the TV in the bedroom (I had the one in the living room on to watch the Monday night football game on ESPN). The TV in the bedroom was directly behind the TV in the living room, only separated by a wall. The TV in the bedroom didn't get ESPN and the picture quality on other stations was poor. I called around 8:45 PM and requested service. The operator said he would be right up. 30 minutes later, no one had showed up and I called the operator again. Again, she said he would be right up and then I asked if she could check with him. She did and she stated that he was with a guest and would come up after he finished with the guest. I thanked her for checking with him and then told her that if he wasn't at my room by 9:30 PM, not to bother that I would be going to bed because I had an early appointment in the morning.

At 9:30 PM, I put the DO NOT DISTURB sign on my door. At 9:35 PM, there was a knock on my door. I was in bed and did not answer the door. A minute later, again there was a knock on the door. Another minute passed and another knock on the door. I was now very upset that whoever was at my door ignored the DO NOT DISTURB sign. I opened the door and it was the technician. He is holding television repair parts in his hands and I asked him very nicely, "Can you read?" There is a DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door, what does that mean to you? I told him that I was not interested in getting the TV fixed now and closed the door.

This is a really big deal to me because the technician did not respect my request for privacy. Now this could have been handled differently by the technician or by training by the hotel. When the technician arrived at the door and saw the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door, he should have called the operator who dispatched him. The operator would have told him that I specifically asked not to be disturbed after 9:30 or asked if she call my room. The operator could have told me the technician is outside my door and did I still require service? I might have said yes if it was handled that way. Unfortunately, the technician kept knocking at my door until I had to get out of bed and tell him no.

Since I was up, I decided to write a not too nice email to Marriott corporate. They responded with an apology and said a manager would contact me in the morning. In the morning, a front desk clerk called me with an apology, not a manager. That did not go over very well with me. A manager, the General Manager of the property, did contact me via email the following afternoon.

The General Manager did state that they will be going through a renovation next year. If a traveler wants to stay here, you may want to wait until the renovation is complete. This property should retire worn out furniture NOW, instead of waiting until next year.

As you can see, not a very good experience. I will be returning to Bakersfield later this month. I can assure you that I will be staying at a different hotel. Stay tuned for that review.

Room Tip: In my opinion, stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This complex is 9 stories high with a restaurant downstairs. Upon first arrival you entrance is the back door, parking and check-in is located on the other side which is just a couple steps away. Our reservation was screwed up and the front desk girl wasn't able to help us in a rude condensing way. We did have a room for one night as oppose to what our confirmation e-mail says for 2 nights. Hotel rooms were clean, but furniture and bed was hard and uncomfortable to sit or sleep. Bathroom is typical of these hotels, bathtub is if are not careful you can slip in it while taking a shower. Still see grime in the shower which makes me take a hot shower even though it hot outside. Room Service was probably the best thing about this hotel.

Room Tip: No pets allowed. Located next to convention, courthouse, downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel was so convenient to my function next door.
Nice pool, great restaurant, try the pizza...
Would definitely look forward to staying here again next year
There was an issue at hotel, some guest got loud and dumb, and the hotel staff quickly and tactfully removed them from the area...
Overall really nice, hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott_BFL, General Manager at Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and for your wonderful comments. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations so I am happy to learn our mission was accomplished. we strive for our guests to have a comfortable and peaceful nights rest and for this reason we do have a noise policy in place for the hotel. You can rest assured that I will personally follow up with our security team to ensure they are following through with our procedures. I will be sure to share your nice comments with our team. we look forward to your next visit to Bakersfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been staying at this Marriott for years and found the service to be very friendly, the rooms are clean, and the the food is excellent. I love having a quality full service restaurant in the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love this hotel, every time I'm in town I stay here. The rooms are always clean, nice tile in the entry way and nice big flat screen tv, Staff is always polite and professional. Restaurant is good Bar is great and it's not that far from the freeway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Location was very convenient to the downtown area. Not far from shopping and nearby dinning.

Right next to convention center. Ample free parking.

King room fairly good size. Rooms clean, plenty of towels.

Small but nice pool area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 801 Truxtun Ave., Bakersfield, CA 93301
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Bakersfield. Unique amongst hotels in Bakersfield, we are a full-service Bakersfield convention center hotel that is connected to the Rabobank Arena, Theatre & Convention Center complex. Featuring eight meeting rooms and 9,136 sq ft of total meeting space, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is ideal for meetings, training, and conferences. Enjoy our hotel's high-tech guest rooms and suites featuring 32" HD TVs, high-speed wireless internet access, luxurious bedding package and luxurious amenities. Concierge level rooms and suites offer an added level of sophistication unrivaled by other Bakersfield hotels. After work, guests can enjoy the endless options for shopping, dining, or simply enjoy an evening at our hotel's restaurant - The Nines, featuring fresh, American cuisine in a contemporary, upscale setting. Stay in the heart of it all at the luxuriously appointed Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Marriott At The Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Marriott At Hotel
Holiday Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.